Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hug Cult

by EwChap - Compo Entry

Hug Cult is a Love n Hug Shooter. The unconventional weapon here is love and hugs. Send love at enemies to turn them into friends. Once you have friends they will happily fling themselves at your enemies to hug them at your command. Gather enough friends and move on!

Can you Defeat both bosses?


WASD/Arrows to move
Mouse to Aim
Left Mouse = Love
Right Mouse = Hug

Hug only works when you have follower friends. Once you do, they fire from their position towards the mouse position.

Collect enough friends to exit the level.

Tools:
-Unity
-Paint.net
-My Voice + Windows Sound Recorder

Twitter: @EvanChapman3

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#137Humor3.64
#147Theme3.89
#251Fun3.44
#321Audio3.13
#368Overall3.37
#428Innovation3.28
#459Mood3.04
#857Graphics2.52

Comments

gamedevBear says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:42am

The sound effects are <3

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:43am

The sound is HILARIOUS and truly unconventional. There's so much hugging and loving going on! The controls are simple and effective and the level design works. Fun little concept, I hope you keep working on it!

Modoc73 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:46am

I liked concept of your unconventional weapon, after the boss it felt like it needed more different content.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:10am

rofl, made me laugh. sound effects were great too. nice work.

Cryotube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:11am

Really love the sound bytes, really makes this game unique. interesting hug mechanic but could use a bit more explaining.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36am

Nice wee game! As with the other comments I'm loving the sound effects!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:39am

HUGS!

Jaloko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34am

Cool game, sound effects are great. Also nice theme integration.

resty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:27am

lovely idea, just collected everyone before leaving!

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:49pm

fun top down shooter but with hugs and love.

CogComp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:50pm

HUGS! So simple but still so much fun!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Could have been some music and more sounds, and maybe another font for the GUI, but overall good. Good job!

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Looks like "teeth collector" game)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:58pm

I really like your take on the theme, and thought that overall your game was really sweet! The console threw up a few errors about a missing prefab in the second boss battle, though... Also, it took me quite a while to work out how hugs worked. Still, very enjoyable. :)

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Fun and simple game. Kinda easy when you can just click and fire as many times as you want.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:34am

Hilarious audio and smart concept

Kihira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:38am

Fun little game. The sound effects made me giggle.

xWarZonex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:26am

I liked the game, solid and enjoyable. But I would have given a max to how many hearts you could shoot, cuz all I had to do was spam.

anokta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:26am

hahaha this is 'lovely'!! and kudos for the sound effects as everyone already mentioned. :)

EwChap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:55am

Thanks for the feedback everyone. Fanttum/xWarZonex, I agree. I wanted to actually cap the distance of the hearts range to make it more difficult and force you to use the friend hugs shot more. ran out of time as I am sure you all understand.

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:20am

Hugs! Hugs! Thanks! Hehe, I'll remember those words all day, they keep sounding in my head! The sound effects work really tightly with the concept, and will make your game hard to forget. You can make the levels more detailed graphically so it looks even more appealing.

Like many others, you used the "throw people" concept, but doing it with love and hugs is what makes it pretty original.

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Great idea and application of the theme.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:43pm

What I like about this game is that it has a really SOLID feel - a lot of LD games are a bit wobbly on their feet, but this one just feels well made. Nice job.

Sound effects were adorable and very funny

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Sound effects were funny, the boss fights were pretty fun and mixed things up a bit

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:32pm

"Hug requires friends" D:

I like it, the sprites, as simple as they are, are adorable. How they rotate to look at you is adorable :D

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:24am

Sound effect is so humorous :)
The concept is great!

Firaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:41am

This was pretty amusing. It's pretty easy with unlimited range love waves, but as far as love 'em ups go, this is pretty good.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:54am

HUGS!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:56am

The gameplay was simple, but those sounds put me in such a happy mood. Nice job!

Tortoise says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Good use of theme. I liked the amount of levels and how you had to defeat the bosses, my only complaint is the variety in the levels was low, liked the sounds and overall gameplay.

Kitsubi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:06am

I really liked the use of the converted enemies as projectiles (hugs) to convert more enemies. Truly interesting.

srakowski says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:02am

Love the sound effect, and game play was really challenging and fun. Well done!

aeveis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:37am

liked sending out friends for hugs. Sometimes the hugs didn't work though. The bosses were interesting. It looked like friends got stuck inside or something and they also double when hitting a red part? very strange, but eventually the whole thing would turn. Maybe a love bar (hp bar)? nice job!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Ha, funny sounds :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]