Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Economic Hitman

by sentendo - Jam Entry

You are a Corporate and your goal is to buy small companies to destroy them after you complete their purchase in order to get more market share (Growth factor). Also, they will try to buy your people but you can click on their money to stop them and add more cash to your budget. If they hit you, they will lower your growth factor.

The highest budget will be shown at the end, you will also level up and improve your building.

Credits:
Sentendo Team | http://www.sentendo.co
Kostantinos Karachalios - game design and programming
Paolo Gambardella - game design and assets hunter

Assets used to make this happen:
sprite of the worker - Skylar1446 http://opengameart.org/users/skylar1146
money sprites - photoshopwizard http://opengameart.org/users/photoshopwizard
UI stuff - Kenney http://opengameart.org/users/kenney
Buildings - Midi http://opengameart.org/users/midi

Font - "8-bit operat" by Grandoplex Productions http://www.1001freefonts.com/designer-grandoplex-productions-fontlisting.php

Sounds:
player hit - https://www.freesound.org/people/forrisday/sounds/214509/
competitor hit - https://www.freesound.org/people/kalisemorrison/sounds/202531/
competitor destroyed - https://www.freesound.org/people/timgormly/sounds/170144/
level up - https://www.freesound.org/people/Kastenfrosch/sounds/162476/
coin collection - https://www.freesound.org/people/LittleRobotSoundFactory/sounds/270304/
game over - https://www.freesound.org/people/Kastenfrosch/sounds/162462/
play again - https://www.freesound.org/people/11linda/sounds/168689/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#272Theme(Jam)3.70
#329Innovation(Jam)3.37
#613Humor(Jam)2.65
#694Overall(Jam)3.02
#743Fun(Jam)2.72
#811Mood(Jam)2.62

Comments

timmik94 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Don't work. I press play button and nothing hapends.

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:43pm

I like the idea of this game - it is a bit tough to click on the small coins, and I like how you "destroy" the enemies/competitors.

sentendo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:51pm

strange that don't work for you, timmik94. what is your browser and os?

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Cool take on the theme, I was hoping to see some ideas revolving around economic agents' tactics as a weapon. I felt for the tiny little guys after I took down their companies :S

The coins could use some scaling, though. They're a bit tiny to click on.

Good work! :D

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:51am

Simple, but effective! Cool idea!

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:00am

Funny and fun! Wish the coins were easier to click on.

Almost says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03am

My hand hurts from all of the clicking.

If the spinning coins just required me to mouse over them instead of clicking exactly on them, it would be a lot easier for me. I don't quite understand if the coins thrown at me were decreasing my growth rate or directly damaging my current valuation.

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:07am

Almost, yes, they decrease your growth! :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:12am

It's really hard to defend your economy. The hitboxes seem to be really small. Maybe you need to make it more difficult the longer you get.

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:20am

Kawaii Game Studios: yes it is! Like in real life, isn't it? :D

jayson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03am

very interesting concept! Nicely done!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:08am

Best take on Theme I saw till now. Realy couldn't stop till I reached high enough Value :D

concalf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:08am

The hitbox of the coins could be a bit bigger and it gets quite spammy - but nice idea and fun to play

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:15am

The game is quite stressful (and coin clicking is hard to get right)!
I liked the message and the game feels very polished.

grifdail says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:19am

Great idea.
It's really hard as the coin are way to small. It make the game almost impossible. But I think it could be great.

Dejvo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:57am

it fealt a bit too much like cookie clicker but the idea is good and the execution too. it just lacks substance i think

urkel76 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:14am

Nice one!! It's refreshing to see games that make criticism of the bad things of society. Congratulations!!!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:09am

Clicky cliclax ! Nice graphics !
It was a little bit difficult to click on the coins. But nice work anyways !

camlang says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Asnhave been said before it's difficult sometimes to hit silver coins. It would have been also fun to build something to block small coin somewhat like in cookie clicker. Nice sound picks and overall graphics.

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:24pm

thank you all for the fantastic feedback, really useful! :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Good job!

AsixJin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Pretty fun game. My only complaint is that the coins were a little hard to click on (unless that was intended cause I was sure I was clicking the hell out of some of the coins)

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Great clicking game!! Very enjoyable and addictive. My highest budget was 3 billion :) Nice take on the theme. Good work!

Paulozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Crazing clicking game, love it! (my hand hurts)

Sunsheen says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Clicking those tiny, spinning, moving coins was tough work! Cool concept and interesting spin on the theme, but the game play boiled down to frantic clicking which isn't too much fun.

dos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:19am

Neat idea!

NFPJay says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Nice game, but tons of clicking and at some point the coins are hitting you faster than your growth counter can keep up with, so you're only losing 1% for every 2-4 coins that hit you.

My high score so far is nearly 500,000,000,000,000

sentendo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:05am

wow!!! O_O

jhell says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:39am

Interesting, but too simple imo. I would have loved to be able to unlock some skills, or build new stuff, or have to make any choice really :)

The polish is good though, and the animations were smooth.

sentendo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:57am

thank you! We also believe the same of you, the time was few. If we decide to continue this, we will surely follow your advice!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Got tired of clicking after a while. Neat concept!

May 1, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Simple design done well. Liked the little touches you gave it with the movement of the buildings and the way the money was thrown. My highest score was 13.539.047.187.

Zeriver says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 11:54am

Pretty fun game, simplistic but enjoyable, sooner or later you are doomed to lose but until that point it will be a wild ride :)
Neat idea and execution.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]