Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SHEEP MANIA

by SadSmile - Compo Entry

Hey Guys,
My name is Kevin Brand, aka SadSmile, and this is my 2nd Ludum Dare.
At my first Ludum Dare (LD30) i participated as "Zer0", but i forgot my E-Mail password and the password of my Ludum Dare Account (i would forget my own head if it wasnt fixed on my body -.-).

So well here is my Game: "SHEEP MANIA". Its a top-down "shooter" and you have to protect your Meal (Sheeps) from hungry wolves. But how do you defend something from waves of hungry wolves? Right, with exploding sheep!

Controlls: WSAD / Arrow Keys - Walk around
Mouse - Use to rotate the player
Left Click - Shoot a sheep.

Tools Used: Unity 5 (Engine), Blender (3D Models), GIMP (Textures), Audacity (SoundFX), BoscaCeoil (Music).

I hope you enjoy my game :D

PS: I would love it, if you guys take the time and write a comment, so that i know what i can improve for the next time (otherwise i will end up like EA: Doing the same mistakes over and over again without improving D: )

Change Log:
-Added a "casual version" with zoomed out camera and increased movement speed ;) IMPORTANT: This version was added AFTER the Compo dead line. Pls judge the original version, but feel free to play this new version if you like the game :D (How to change the original version to this version: Change the walk speed in the player controller script (inside the inspector!) to 15 and set the cameras Y pos. to 25).
- changed name: "casual version" -> "Improved Version"




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#241Graphics3.63
#243Humor3.33
#459Mood3.04
#474Audio2.84
#552Theme3.33
#608Fun2.98
#763Overall2.94
#917Innovation2.54

Comments

Mimus says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Good game, shame it is so difficult from the beginning ...
(Translate by: google)

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Nice slow motion explosions :D

strong99 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Cool game! Funny that by protecting your sheeps you must shoot sheeps away, haha. I found it hard to keep the wolfs away by running around the fence; the wolfs were way faster than me. But still good game!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Great game, but quite difficult - I'm sure that it would be easier if I could see where the wolves were coming.

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:09pm

I enjoyed the challenge, those wolves were hard to catch! :) Cool modeling style!

anokta says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:15pm

awesome models, very fluffy! :) it's a bit bizarre to shoot sheep to protect the sheep though. haha

dvdking says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:31pm

Hero moves way too slow! It is impossible to get all the wolfes in time, just because the hero is so lazy...

Graphics and sounds are nice though.

holgk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Good game. Hard to play the difficulty level is to high at the begining.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Fun game. The narrow view field makes it quite challenging, but overall it seemed well put together. Well done!

nicklink483 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29pm

I love the choices on 3D models, and the particles when the wolves explode. I'd love to be able to move around a little more quickly and maybe zoom out so I can see wolves coming on the other side.

All in all, awesome! I had fun!

Kinzata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Love the models! I knows it's been said but I'll jump on the comment train, it's a bit too difficult. Either zoom out the camera to allow the player to see the wolves coming, or allow the player to move a bit faster.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:12pm

Tricky!

SadSmile says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Is it still allowed to change the movement speed? Would be a thing of 5 min and i realy have to change only one variable but im not sure if this is allowed :D
BTW: Thx to everyone who played my game <3

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:13pm

The game looks great, nice models, but the gameplay was a little flat. Nice entry though!

freeholdgames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Overall a fun little game. The main drawbacks:

1. There was no way to strategize your location. The wolves seemed random, so if you were on the wrong side of the pen you simply couldn't. defend. If there was an indication of where the wolves would come from, you could eliminate that unfair randomness.

2. There's no reason not to spam your sheep, so to try to mitigate randomness you can fire sheep off towards where the wolves come from. I'd rather strategize than spam!

Smokeylope says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Graphics are great but the gameplay is a bit too heavy on luck.

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:22am

Good game. With some interesting visual feedback. Congratulations.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:25am

How the fudge do people manage to these cool things?!

dvdking says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:32am

I replayed it with your fixes. And it is now a very playable game! Shame it wasn't like that in the beginning.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Love the art! I've always wanted to get into 3D modelling. Simple, clean, and funny; great stuff!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Very fun indeed! I liked the concept because it's silly but still makes slight sense. looked good too but it is very difficult

Praron says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Infinity exploding sheeps looks a little mad, that's fun c:
But player are so slow and sometimes you just can't reach a place to beat a wolves.

Wevel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Nice idea, although a bit repetitive.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Nice artwork, though the game kicks my butt in about 15 seconds.

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Nice game! I like the graphics very much. But it definitely needs some balancing.

And I don't think the farmer knows how to protect his sheeps correctly:D

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Fun! A bit tricky, but I like it. Pretty graphics!

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Nice little game. The webGL version was stuttering a little, but that might just have been because of webGL.

goadrich says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Your sheep look awesome! The game felt too difficult to me, I could not move around enough to kill all the wolves in time, only got to wave 2. Should the sheep in the pen disappear when the wolves attack them? Not sure exactly why I lose, it is because too many wolves at the sheep?

SadSmile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:48pm

@goadrich Perhaps try my "casual"-version (i should chage the name, shoudnt i) I increased Movement speed and zoomed the cam out.
Also, if i had the time left, the sheep in the pen should disappear when thw wolves attack them, but i didnt have the time to make that happen.
Also you are dying because the sheep get attacked by the wolf, in the top right hand corner you can see a sheep symbol, which shows you how many sheep are left, but you can also die if the wolves attack you (the healthbar is hidden, so that the focus of the player is on protecting the sheep) I hope i could help :)

daredevildave says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Looks nice. Really hard :-( Not sure if I could ever get past Wave 2

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:32am

Very nice games, the controls sucked a bit (when going left, I was going somewhat left and bit downy), and also the wolves are extremely fast, it's impossible to cover it from all sides this quick. I would be much better to zoom out a bit and make the wolves slower. Anyways, brilliant idea and lovely! graphics.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:29am

I died very quickly, was fun for a quick play, nice idea for a weapon but I couldn't think of any real strategy for its use. Would like cuter sheep.

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Being from Wales and obviously having a love for Sheep I took much pleasure out of saving them!

Really loved the top down 3D, its made me actually want to make a 3D game myself. The trees, sheep and all other models looks fab, nice audio to go with it also.

I think Worms did a Sheep bomb?

Anyways great little game lots of stars from me

kristof says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Simple, but still nice game. The movement of the player is way to slow compared to the speed of the wolfs, but you seem to have fixed that already. Besides that, I like the graphics. Some more sounds would be cool.
Nice work.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:37am

Nice game. Love the graphics!

I didnt like the fact that the player moves slower than the wolves. A lot of time is just wasted in travelling around the fence and then you loose :(

OadT says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Cool style, but the game is a bit too tough! Here is a game with a similar idea, maybe its interesting for you :) http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=34792

yuigoto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Nice idea and execution! The graphics are simple, but they convey the message quite well, and are cute! The style reminded me of a show I used to watch when I was a child (don't remember the name) that had 3d animals rendered in a pretty simple way. :3

The audio is nice too, it's fine already as it is, but if you had more time I wanted to see what you could have done with music. ;)

The main character feels a little bit slow (or the wolves are too fast) so I think, maybe, putting the camera a bit more further away from the playfield (so we can see where the wolves come from) or progressively making'em faster (or, maybe, starting with wolf cubs, then bigger wolves?) could balance difficulty more, dunno.

We can think of lots of things to put in any game and it will never end! :P

But, nice work with the compo, really! Enjoyed your game pretty much! :3

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]