Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Farm Fury

by ironleonem - Jam Entry

Farm Fury is a fun little action game where you grow your ammunition! Make sure to read the instructions! Either kill enemies and take their loot, or ship the crops by firing them at the shipping container!

It's been noted that the game is pretty difficult. In future releases, I'll work on enemy scaling. It's worth hanging on, though! The fruits you unlock as time goes on are pretty fun to use!

Press Q to go through your different fruits you've harvested, and E to change the seeds you plant!

Web Version is now live!!

WASD - movement
Q - Rotate Item Select
E - Rotate Seed Select
Left Click - Fire current fruit
Right Click - Plant Current seed
M - Mute
P - Pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#495Theme(Jam)3.38
#522Fun(Jam)3.05
#524Innovation(Jam)3.08
#624Overall(Jam)3.09
#685Humor(Jam)2.51
#790Mood(Jam)2.66

Comments

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:05am

The music was a little loud

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07am

Thank you for the feedback! It was one of the last things I added, and I didn't playtest it as much as I would have liked.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:12am

I could not Fire a fruit

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30am

JK, did you grow the fruits first?

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:44am

Music a bit loud but amazing game !!! It's was realy fun !

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:50am

Thank you, Lyxilion!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:02am

"I have one heart and no strawberries".. yeah it's that kind of game. Awesome!

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:12am

Bitterdeath, I'm glad you enjoyed it! Did you get a chance to try any of the other crops than strawberries? They unlock over time!

Ildfuglen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:45am

Overall that was pretty fun, but the control scheme was horrible. Great idea, awesome :D

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:23am

Ildfuglen, can you elaborate on what was frustrating about the control scheme? Which part of the game's controls were challenging? I'm sorry if the execution didn't live up to the idea, but thank you for trying it!

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:27am

I enjoyed playing this far more than I would have thought. While simple it is bags of fun.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:37am

MrDave, thank you so much for the comments!

Zo0MER says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:55am

Quiet hard game. I really don't understand what am i doing wrong

Jagang says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Welp, shouldn't have spammed all my ammo into the box right before all the enemies spawn D: nice resource management game. great balance between extra points and ammo :D

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Jagang, you nailed what I wass looking for :) zo0MER, part of that is my fault. After going to my friends for a bit of playtesting, I think I made the enemies a little too strong. The skeleton, for one, moves a little too fast.

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Really enjoyed the game, but the music was a tad loud.

MJaawa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Nice game mechanics, it was really fun to come up with different tactics of which seeds to plant and when to use the ammo to get more stuff from the chest!

strong99 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Funny and addictive game! Well done :)

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:27pm

really fun game.. amazing work

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:43pm

I'm really glad you guys enjoyed! I'm headed to bed for the morning. Thanks for the feedback!

Shivur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45am

A little bit overwhelming at the start to master the different mechanics, but good concept.

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:23am

Pretty nice plant/grow/kill/repeat gameplay cycle... Enemies moved smartly most of the time. Was there a difference between the different fruit? I used carrots twice and didn't notice any difference so I stuck with strawberries afterwards until I died xD

Good luck!

ironleonem says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:46am

Shivur, Thank you for the feedback! @esayitch, It does have different effects for different food. Carrots pierce through enemies, and cherries explode like bombs!

paulfysh says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58am

I liked it, most fun I've had farming.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:30am

Awesome idea, I really enjoyed it. The difficulty ramped up pretty quickly, but it's almost entirely skill based, which makes it fun to learn

Buzzwerd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:18am

This is fun! Music might be a little to loud compared to everything. Could use some in game explanation of the controls. Well done.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19am

Really liked the mechanics of the game...it's fun having to kite enemies around while waiting for plants to grow.

iapc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:04am

Fastpaced, fun little game. Neat!

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:38am

First time i really don't know what to do, but at the end, i spend more than half hour with this game :D Nice one!

joe40001 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:39am

I enjoyed this game a lot. Like a lot of LD games it could use a little polish, but the core game is solid and fun.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Very difficult, would be good to have tutorial levels and increase the difficulty gradually from there. Good job and nice take on the theme!

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Meh... Not my cup of tea.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Very fun and addictive game. Played several rounds and planting new ammo and using it is hectic in an entertaining way. Regarding balancing, the strawberries are far too powerful as they grow too fast respectively make enough damage against heavier enemies. Or the higher fruits just grow too long ;D Very good job!

goblin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Quite Hard but great game.
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Dorgam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:39pm

One of the most fun games I played. It has a big replayability value. Keep up the good job!

steboots says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:41am

Oh snap this was fantastic! The controls were hard to figure out at first, but once I did it got real fun, nice mix of action and management game play. Don't know if I've run into that combo before, well done!

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:19am

I was too busy trying to defend myself to really care about what fruit I was planting or what they each did. It was only after I gained immortality some how that I slowed down to look at the game.

Zak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:49pm

Good, but I find the progression a bit slow. Nice job.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:17pm

This game is pretty great.

One thought - when you throw a fruit and you're close enough that it hits instantly, there's no indication that it got thrown at all. Some more feedback there would be nice.

natalye says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:44pm

It was definitely a bit hard, but I did improve from one try to the next. It was fun but could have been more so.

Using both the mouse to plant/attack and WASD to move plus more Q/E to rotate options, felt like a bit too much.
This game would probably be much better with a tutorial, learning the basic planting mechanic first before there's any threat, etc. But I do think you should try some different control schemes and see if another one is easier to use.
For a post-compo version a tutorial would be much better than text instructions. Also, the text was a bit hard to read, due to font/color.
At first it wasn't clear why some crops were marked with an X, I actually thought you were supposed to plant on them because of that.
I couldn't figure out if it was better to attack monsters with my fruit or just throw it at the chest. Both options gave me money (which I don't think there was a way to use - was there?), so really the point in shipping the crops was unclear. I like the idea that crops would have a multiple use, so maybe if monsters didn't drop gold it would help the decision feel more strategic.
Would be nice if there was a way to replenish life (even if it's rare).
Music was nice, the tempo fit the pace of the game, and the art was cute.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:45am

Cool idea growing your ammo!

MartianGames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:07am

I love the combining of genres! ( I always strive to make games that belong in all categories and no categories simultaneously. ;)

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:38am

Great job! This game was a lot of fun. I'd love to see a version of this that is a relaxing game as I really liked the mechanic and wanted to grow more fruit and vegetables!

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Nice game! And the music was ... :D

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:19am

Fruuuuit! Nice idea. I like the intense music.

LeoM says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:53pm

I did a farmer game too, but in mine you have to keep the carrots. ;)

FeniX says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Nice game. I like the idea that you have to grow your ammo.

There is one annoying thing - movement controls. I expect the character to change direction when I press one key while still holding another one. It works when you move left or right and decide to go up or down, but the opposite does not work. And holding left and right or up and down together stops the character - I would love to use this to fast direction change to the direction connected with last pressed key.

Despite that that a good game, well done. :)

GarethIW says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:59pm

From one farm game to another, that was pretty cool!

Coban31 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Here is a nice little game! Good idea to grow plants although I prefer the strawberry. The music is good ! Good job!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:09am

The hitboxes felt a little large so I felt like I was taking damage I shouldn't have and the fruit/seed controls were pretty hard to use mostly due to how hectic it gets later on. It is a fun game though and a bit addictive. I didn't seem to notice much difference in the fruit though, the strawberries grow in large patches and are fast, and carrots shoot through enemies but oranges just seem to be harder hitting, slower growing strawberries. I did unlock the grapes but died before using them, hopefully they were a AoE thing. I'll give this a few plays later to see if I can unlock more fruit.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Very funny and interesting mechanics, great job!

SpeirCeol says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:05am

It confused me at first but i got the hang of it, neat game, works well and i can see this being quite addictive. i only got to unlock Cherrys though

IL_yoshioka says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:11am

Good!Nice Game!:)

May 3, 2015 @ 7:37pm

I love this concept. The controls are very stiff, which is a frustrating source of difficulty. I would love to see this idea developed further and polished.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]