Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bard!

by StrayByte - Jam Entry

Bard is an unfinished game. I feel like uploading it anyway because it has a basic gameplay and feel about what it should be.

The game revolves around Bard, being the guy with the guitar, that fights the evil awoken musical instruments and radios that threathen the world with noise.

I could not manage to put in audio, most of animations are unpolished. The game feels really wrecked and i'm sorry to deliver such poor quality, even if this is my first Dare and my first ever "completed" game. Not making any other excuses, enjoy the game!

It's been a fun challenge and i grew a lot. I hope to get your reviews to grow more and more.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move

A to charge up the heap
S to shoot
D to jump
F to shield from bolts

Holding A and pressing D jumps higher
Holding A and holding F charges up a burst of awesomeness

Sprites, pixel art and coding by me, @StrayByte
Static Art and Menus by my wife, @WestBrightStar

Cheers

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#452Theme(Jam)3.44
#658Humor(Jam)2.56
#662Graphics(Jam)2.97
#784Innovation(Jam)2.62
#784Overall(Jam)2.89
#802Mood(Jam)2.63
#810Fun(Jam)2.62

Comments

mandolin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:54am

Your parallax-scrolling moves faster than your foreground, completely shattering the illusion of depth that parallaxing is supposed to do.

Also there's no indication that you shouldn't leave the screen to the right to continue the game, but when you do you can't get back on and the game is now broken. A simple solid object should fix that.

You have the start of a game. Develop it further.

Sublustris says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:54am

Nice art!

binarycoder says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Really like the backgrounds, looked like it was shaping up to something interesting!

StrayByte says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:46pm

@binarycoder: We fell short on the programming, came out a bit shoddy :<

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Great job! That's a lot of work you put into this. Cool character design, and I love the guitar solo magic attack! It does feel like a missed opportunity to have a game about fighting with musical notes and not having any sound. Also the parallax is a bit jarring. I would also recommend keeping the dead bodies of enemies around, it gives a sense of progression and "badassery". A couple bugs to note: At one point the enemies stopped showing up, and my character wouldn't stop moving to the left. But like I said, a wonderfully themed game and great visual designs. Keep it up!

careless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Really liked the idea maybe you just needed some more time to polish up the game play.

Loved the idea of a guitar as a weapon and would really like to see you continue this.

I too went too far right and had to restart the game. I had a play for a while and it was fun! Thanks

MonoS says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:09pm

As the others said the parallax is very odd, also the controls are a bit buggy... well maybe all the game is a bit buggy but i had some fun trying to discover all the bug.

Voted 5 for mood because this https://twitter.com/StrayByte/status/590965725998776322
[If a non italian speaker what to know, here a rough translation: It was exiting, i shouted code while my wife shouted illustration. It was pure magic]

Squidtank says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Great work! I like the idea and I thought Bard's animation was pretty cool. I do think audio is a big component to this so I would have liked to see that in the game.

novadream says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Really fun graphics! :D Though would've loved to hear the audio that you were going to use (as it seems to be a music themed game).
Don't worry about running out of time, we uploaded an unfinished game as well. :P

ermrk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Game has nice smooth controls. Background is moving too fast, it is probably most problematic thing on this game. Keep working on it.

StrayByte says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Thanks for all the great feedback! We're working into improving the game as we want to actually make a full fledged, sellable game. Thanks!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Cool idea and really unique art style! Great use of the theme, as well.

It seems like I was taking damage from bullets below me when I was jumping while pressing A, but I didn't investigate it much further, as I was busy shooting up robits!

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Background art was better than the foreground art.... Not bad overall tho PS MAKE A LINUX VERSION!!!

BIZM says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Great idea! Fun art style and good game mechanic! Would love to play this game with some bad ass sounds :D

reiknight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:25pm

I like the art style!! Maybe, the game is too easy, at least at the beginning!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Really nice entry for an "unfinished" one. I like mechanics, it has potential :D

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:59am

For what you have so far, this is pretty darn cool even without the audio. Please keep working on this, its a great idea! Good work!!

Also I do owe you thanks for testing my game before the jam ended, you helped me lots! :D

StrayByte says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Hah You're welcome Robot :p
Thanks for all the feedbacks!

nopogo says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:12am

Dig the stick figure design ^^

NoWandStudios says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Not bad, but it's kinda awkward jump with D when you have Up Arrow Key free.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]