Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Don't steal my toaster!

by MrDave - Compo Entry

Don’t let the robot arachnids steal any of your electrical appliances! Use your water pistol to kill them off.

Run around the house building barricades and upgrading your water pistol. Most importantly remember don’t let the robots steal your toaster.

Controls:
W,A,S,D - Move around
Click or Space or Arrow keys - Fire your water pistol
E - Build barricades

You can stand on the wrenches and press E to build barricades that keep the robots out for longer.

Stand near the taps to get a temporary upgrade that halfs your reload time and doubles the amount of water you spray!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#242Fun3.46
#327Overall3.42
#382Theme3.54
#431Humor2.94
#553Innovation3.11
#579Mood2.90
#623Audio2.53
#684Graphics2.84

Comments

Cherrymochi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:25am

Nice job!

Muffin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:03am

Pretty cool! started to get hard, fast. Managed to get 300 in a couple of runs. They really like my lawnmower :( Original concept, and the water spraying feels really good!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:09am

Cool game idea and execution of it. It seems a bit overly tricky to lay down barricades.

Jack31081988 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:12am

I love this kind of games!!

Skywilly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:23am

A cool little game ;)

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:25am

Nice game! Got no complaints at all :)

snarf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:26am

Cool game overall. Doorways are sometimes difficult to pass.

holgk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:49am

Well done!

notrorschach says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:52am

Fun game. Loved the audio. Strangely addictive.

KloudRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:54am

It would be nice if you could build different defenses based on collected robot parts.

Iak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Not too worried about my electrical appliances being stolen... they are all soaked in water and thus broken!

frnknstn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Not bad, I like the visual aesthetic.

polegar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Really fun to play :)

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Pretty good game, and great idea.

decodersmith says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Wow, I really liked it more than I expected. I thought I was smart bringing the fight to them and going out of the house, but I soon learned the error of my ways.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:25pm

that was entertaining, and scaled up nicely. i should have built more barricades sooner. nice work!

vortex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Really nice game, but I didn't really find a use for the barricades.

frondeus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Nice game!

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Nice game but are they robots or arachnids? Good concept - I'd like to see this styled around zombies or vampires or something like that.

ehtd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:02am

Damn robots stealing my trousers hahaha fun game

jhell says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:06am

Really cool concept, on-theme, nice execution, simple to learn but many strategies possible... congratulations!

The only thing is that is was super hard to play for me due to being WASD only (I have an Azerty keyboard). Too bad you used the arrows for shooting also :(

MrDave says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:15pm

@jhell Next time I will make sure I cater for people on azerty keyboards, I didn’t know they were so popular. I just need to trigger the W code on Z and the A code on Q. Thanks for the feedback.

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:35am

after all that work, we have a soaked house XD. love the idea

kristof says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Cool game. The movement and the shooting feel very precise. I also like the graphics a lot. Simple, but consistent.
The barricades didn't seem to work for me. I couldn't find a way to rotate them and robots kept getting through.
Very solid entry!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Cool, the gun felt good, I like it.

gamecodez says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:47pm

the GMZ file link is broken.. could you please recheck it? Loved the idea and would like to see the execution behind the game....

MrDave says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:27pm

@gamecodez - The link works for me on all my browsers.

gruhn says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:36pm

A fun game. I liked the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]