Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Floats

by Horsed - Compo Entry

Drag your artefact to the next platform. Avoid the platform's edges and holes in the ground. Fight enemies and use the slow-mo-plane to slow them down.

CONTROLS: Only use your mouse. Arrow keys are broken.

----

Floats borrows its visual style from the famous rymdkapsel by Martin Jonasson. It works like what I thought rymdkapsel would be, when I first saw it.

----

POST-COMPO EDIT: I fixed the broken camera movement and adjusted the lighting. I also removed the link to the original compo version, as people didn't use the workaround to fix the camera. Please consider that while rating the game. Thanks!


----

I hope you like floats.

Made by Martin Knopf (@mknpf)

----

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#148Mood3.55
#206Graphics3.70
#295Audio3.18
#322Overall3.43
#418Fun3.20
#440Innovation3.26
#795Humor2.25
#955Theme2.68

Comments

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:23am

Camera movement is very strange. Otherwise a fun game.

Prowler says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:33am

L.O.L! The most gamy part of this game is the camera movement!

5 points for mood since I was shouting at my monitor and bashed my keyboard on the table because of this camera :D :D. That was so emotional... it actually was fun ^^. 5 points fun as well for this and because of the gameplay itself. I failed so often because I simply forgot to move my square or I pushed it over the edge.

The "Perma-death" approach is a huge win for the mood and the fun since it tackles my ego ;)

The simplicity of the graphic fits as well as the sounds.

Good job! Keep it up!

Pat

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Nice! I like your take on it and LOVE the hardmode no save.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:56pm

The camera makes playing this frustrating and awkward. Having your movement tied to the mouse which is forcefully moved with the camera is just simply a bad idea.

PeerPlay says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Apart from the fact that the camera movement is a complete mindfuck, as the keys are all wrong, I really like these kinda games!! very nice! and yes...make savegame...haha :o

Tipyx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:59pm

"Floats borrows its visual style from the famous rymdkapsel by Martin Jonasson" Ah, that's what I'm said to myself
However, very pleasant and good job :).
But the fact of restart from the beginning when you failed is a little hardcore :p, just a little :p

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:01pm

I like the visual style! But checkpoints would be nice.

Also, you should say in the description that people should run the game in the fullscreen mode, because only then camera works as expected.

leafo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:59am

Nice job. Checkpoints would be good. Also windowed mode was almost impossible to control the camera with.

Reccy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:33pm

I love the art style, and the game is really fun too, it's really polished! I wish there was a checkpoint system though.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:36pm

It's a great game, packed with style but I'm afraid my stamina to complete the game ran out when I realized there's no checkpoints. I would've loved to play it more though.

Oh, and one neat little detail I really liked about the game is the typography. :)

Andrew Adams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Fun game. Very Rymdkapsel stylized. That camera tho... wow.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56pm

The game certainly is visually pleasing. I don't like how the fighting amounts to button mashing. I made it to the tenth level on my first try, but just couldn't click fast enough to beat that enemy, so I got sent back to the very beginning of the game. Very anger inducing, indeed.

celisoft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Very nice game (I have played with the post-compo Linux version). My friend played the compo version on its iMac and the camera didn't work at all. For the moment, it's one of the best game I played for my LD32 tests.

Horsed says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:16pm

@celisoft Thank you :-) Yeah, the camera was totally messed up. I don't know why I forgot about that.

kaa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Nice style, good mood. Also liked sound. Couldn't solve camera issues...

CowShark says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:49am

Played the post-compo Windows version. Really, really dig this game. I didn't get all the way to level 10 thanks to being generally clumsy with my mouse, but I had fun anyway!

Honestly, the right-click-drag camera controls didn't bother me at all and felt rather natural, but that may be because I am accustomed to working in 3D modeling/animation software, where middle-mouse or right-mouse buttons are typical for camera movement. Ah well!

The visuals, sound design and gameplay work very well off each other. The game really feels like a cohesive unit! Well done!

marccspro says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:19am

The camera control's where pretty difficult but it was fun ! The game it self is awesome so good job ;)

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:29am

Clean visuals.
Nice concept, quite fun to play.

Simon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:45am

This is really cool, it plays well and the mood is perfect. I like the strangeness of the creatures :)

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:37am

Like the game, could not get far due to the camera control issues.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:42am

Very nice concept yet 2 big issues with the game: first, the very uneasy and clunky camera movement between the different levels, second, getting back at the first level after a death (often because of the camera) is a bit frustrating.

Other than that, the minimalistic art style and sounds are very nice and it plays a lot on the atmosphere. Maybe a room-by-room system of levels would have worked greatly. Hope to see more of it!

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:53am

@raisedmedia, @Tselmek Thanks you! Maybe you want to give the post-compo version a try, as I fixed the camera.

rgehan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Really nice. I love your minimalistic design. The perspective is great, especially the text on the sides of the levels.

I made it to the last level, and it was quite enjoyable.

There's just a thing: What is happening with the camera ? :p I've been dezooming and moving with weird keys on the keyboard to make it work.

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:11pm

@rgehan Thank you, glad you enjoyed it :-) Yeah, the camera is totally messed up. I fixed it in the post-compo version so you can drag the camera using the RMB.

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:25pm

interesting and fun.

kristof says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Very lovely art style! And the gameplay is very innovative. Good idea! Having to start from the beginning when failing a level was a bit hard though. I didn't make it through :(
But with some minor improvements, this could be a really fun game!

GagaPete says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Good looking game. The camera movement still feels strange for a desktop game, it is more what I would expect of a mobile game.
For a compo entry it is really impressive.

UannaFF says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:29am

Camera was strange for me too :/ but i liked the simple and clean graphics, and I had fun fighting the camera

ianburnette says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:59am

holy heck that gets hard. I actually liked it a bit more than rymdkapsel.

Demy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:58am

The style is awesome and levels are interesting. Great game.

Tuism says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:14am

Erm...

Nowhere in the game does it say anything about how to use the camera. It could and should have been automated. Right clicking is not something people usually use for camera movement in a "puzzle" game.

It's pretty. That's definitely a plus.

The gameplay is really quite lacking, though. "Operation" style drag and avoid isn't interesting, maybe with touch, but not with a mouse. Click on enemies to do damage? The mechanics are very desperate and doesn't make sense together. The way you call things doesn't make sense either. "artefacts" and "sockets"... none of them look like that and doesn't need to be called weird names to make it even more difficult to understand.

Is it a puzzle game? Action game? Avoid-em-up? I don't know, I can't tell.

Damdoshi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:28am

I found this great. It is really a nice concept and pretty enjoyable.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Lack of save points was a bit annoying but other than that, I really liked the concept plus I think it would definitely work as a mobile game. Also I don't know if it's me but on both web and desktop builds, I couldn't see my key and artefact properly i.e. it didn't look like how it was in the screenshots (it could be a graphics card problem since I was playing this on my Surface Pro but I'll try and run this on my regular desktop and let you know if it occurs on there as well).

Xanjos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Ok I've tried it on my desktop and it worked perfectly fine so it's definitely a problem with machines running Intel HD Graphics

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:58pm

I had some issues moving the camera too, but the game is fun. On my Mac is was a little slow, but on my windows machine it runs well!

Anikki says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:48pm

In most games I just give up annoyed. This however made me curse loudly and try again. It seems so simple, yet takes a a lot of discipline to play well, which in turn made me try again. So in my book that makes it a great game.

Horsed says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:32pm

@Tuism: Thanks for you feedback! I have to admit, I didn't expect this hole camera thing to be a problem for a lot of the nice people testing floats. I thought moving the camera using the mouse would be sort of natural for any mouse user. You either move the curser towards the edges of the screen or you drag the map around using the middle mouse button or the RMB, like in a RTS. I decided for to implement the latter. The feedback so far proved me wrong about this assumption :-) I will have to try something different here. About the gameplay: For me it's all about the drag'n'drop. I wanted to make a game where you'd have to drag things, maybe combine and order stuff. When I saw this game in my mind, I also wanted it to have some kind of action elemts. So I thought I'd put in some drag'n'drop puzzles and maybe mix those with "action" elements, like fighting enemies. Whether the game offers a good mix of puzzles and action is up to the player. Personally though, I think that both can be improved a lot.

@Xanjos: Thank you for testing a second time! I really appreciate your help. I guess I will have to take a look at my code's performance.

@all other testers until now: Thank you for playing floats and giving me feedback :-)

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Looks very nice and plays pretty smooth. Could use a checkpoint after each room, very frustrating not to beat the first big enemy and then having to start all over. That's why I quit in this level. But I made the same mistake (to few checkpoints) so who am I to complain :-)

Besides that it's a great game!

Chris M says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:04am

Love the concept of making a game from what you thought of a screenshots of another game- this would be a fun basis for a jam.

Wish there could have been a smart camera system here, as often I found the camera controls cumbersome and got in the way of my next daring manoeuvre. The design works well with the graphical style though, and the way you've integrated the tutorial and links is a wonderful touch.

Zeriver says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Nice gameplay i although it would be better to move "cubes" with keyboard instead of dragging them with mouse. I enjoyed the mood (because of minimalistic, pretty graphics and fitting audio). Really solid game in overall.

About the camera, it might be not intuitive for all people to use right click to move camera, some instructions would be nice.

Novodantis says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:05am

Really nice concept; pretty inventive style of play and well polished. Didn't have any issue with the camera control. The complete restart was harsh, but then... um, I'm guilty of that one too.

Btw, I uploaded a webplayer version of Sling, you may have more luck with it than the download? (its a longshot, but I'm not sure what the problem was caused by)

surpent says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:15am

Good dungeon.
Nice art, I feel the potential.

smokecastles says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:22pm

I love the visuals, very stylish! I also like that it looks like a relaxing game at first and then once faces the increasing difficulty + no check points! +1 for this too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]