Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Greedy Knight

by felipeberquo - Jam Entry

Hi! Welcome to Greedy Knight's entry!

We created a runner, in wich your weapon is a bag of money. The more gold you have, the more damage you deal! Beware with the thieves and don't get killed, because you will lose all your cash!
To make your life easier, you can buy upgrades and items from the shop keeper.
Spend your money well before losing it all!

F - Attack
D - Potion (if you have one)
SPACE - Jump
ESC - Quit

Tips:
- If you have a lot of money you can easily kill the thieves with the bag attack (Z)
- Buy the "Bag of Deflection" item from the shop keeper, it will let you deflect the incoming projectiles as you hit them with an attack.
- Stay alive, stay rich!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LAST BUILD:

Web: http://felipegamedev.com/greedyknight/
Windows: http://tinyurl.com/myu6ay8
OS/X: http://tinyurl.com/m84cmrf

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Team members:

Felipe Ramos - programmer
http://www.felipegamedev.com

Gabriel - 2D artist
www.ghilgert.carbonmade.com

Leith - sound artist
http://www.audioboyproductions.com

Piero - 2D artist
http://pierojurado.com

Vinicius - 2D artist
https://www.behance.net/vinniephael

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Common issues:

- Some people are having some problems running the Windows version. If receive the error "Failed to run mono", it's probably because you don't have the "Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package" installed in your computer. You can download it at https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555 (32-bit) or https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=13523 (64-bit). This should fix the problem.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Updates:

[05-09-2015]
We've a lot of updates! This is the checklist:
- Added 2 new enemies: the thief knight and the spike ball
- Background with parallax
- Clouds
- Game over menu, with a restart game and return to main menu options
- Main menu
- Fixed enemies spawns and AI
- Changed the interval (longer) that the shopkeeper appears
- Changed the UI. Now the player can see how many potions and scrolls he has. Also, he can check which upgrades he already bought
- Hide/show the mouse cursor when needed
- Fixed the upgrade's cost
- Added a countdown before the level starts and after the shopkeeper leaves
- Changed the buttons: F uses the bag attack and D uses the potion

[04-22-2015]
We've some updates and fixes:
- More accurate player's ground checker
- The player's bag attack is working now. Now it hits the enemies and projectiles correctly.
- Added a delay for the enemies start spawning when the level begins.
- Fixed the invincible potion and the return scroll.
- Added some smooth movement to the camera.
- Fixed the bug that caused the background music to stop playing.
- Fixed the most part of animation bugs.
- Now the player can see in the HUD which equipments he owns.
- Changed the price of the itens and upgrades (we're going balance it later too)

Next, we are going to work to add new enemies (we already have the art of them), put a background and foreground to the scene and fix the others itens and upgrades that are not working yet.

[04-21-2015]
We have fixed the "Web" version's link, it should work now. It's a WebGL build that should run on your browser with no issues!
We're also working in some bugs and gameplay fixes, as well as adding more enemies.
Stay tuned! :D

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

LAST BUILD:

Web: http://felipegamedev.com/greedyknight/
Windows: http://tinyurl.com/myu6ay8
OS/X: http://tinyurl.com/m84cmrf

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#139Audio(Jam)3.64
#183Fun(Jam)3.56
#238Graphics(Jam)3.83
#255Overall(Jam)3.54
#288Mood(Jam)3.39
#334Humor(Jam)3.24
#713Innovation(Jam)2.75
#728Theme(Jam)3.05

Comments

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Fun! Web player didn't work for me but OS X version ran fine. Quite a challenge! Fast-paced, I wasn't always sure what killed me, seemed to have trouble hitting enemies with my bag. Sounds are top notch, loved the graphics. Reeeeeally wanted to have a permanent double-jump.

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Thanks for the feedback scumbly! We did notice that the double is a must in this game, so it's gonna be permanent and the boots upgrade should be a triple jump instead of double!

ThirdMoon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:22am

Great Game! Quite hard at the beginning but really funny!
Good player responce, Great design, Absolutly great voices :D!

Firaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:25am

This was pretty fun, and I liked the voices effects Greedy Knight had. I would like to see the stage get increasingly harder as you get further.

I encountered a bug around 600 gold where enemies and projectiles stopped causing damage. I don't know what caused it, but I casually noticed me walking through enemies and projectiles without response. After jumping into a pit, I started taking damage again.

Overall a good entry.

SuperKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:22am

Quite frustrating at the beginning, but becomes fun after a few tries! :D

Gametery says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:25am

Quite difficult and challenging, nice graphics and sound effects! Just a tip on german keyboards "Z" and "Y" places are exactly opposite, so it makes it really difficult to play :)

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:28am

Nice, responsive controls, good take on the runner genre. The enemies explosion was satisfying.

If you planned to expand and make a full game out of it, it could do with some more upgrades or various levels of the upgrades or something so you don't run out of stuff to buy so quickly (or just make some reset with each run)

One bug I noticed: if you sit on the shop screen for too long, the music will stop looping.

SuperKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:44am

Really funny game and nice sounds.
Only a bit dificult at the beginning.
But overall is really good, and love the graphics!

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:06am

That was a fun auto runner game. The upgrades could have cost more money because I was able to buy them all in one go.

natalye says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:56am

This was really fun!
Loved the sound effects ("oww!"), and the art is beautiful too.
It was sometimes hard to jump off the edge of a platform, even if I wasn't really at the edge. Consider allowing jumps in a larger area (see #4 in this great post - http://devmag.org.za/2011/01/18/11-tips-for-making-a-fun-platformer/).
Perhaps add a pause when the game starts so you have a chance to focus on what's happening before the running starts, maybe display 3..2..1.. so the player can brace themselves.
When dying, there is too much of a delay before you restart, better let the player get back into action faster I think.
I didn't feel that the theme (the weapon being money) was very different than just regular weapons.
But overall great fun :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:24am

Really loved the "nooo!" sound effect, which is good because I died a lot. The background music ended after my first death. Not sure if this was intentional or not, but if it was, this approach does make the game's atmosphere feel a bit flat. Otherwise, the game play is solid. Good work!

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:36am

Thanks for the feedback guys! We really appreciate!
We gonna write down all your notes and take them in account, that's for sure!

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:57am

Very, very cool game! A few tweaks and it would be ready for the mobile. Can't say anything bad about it.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:21am

Oh man, I really liked this. Auto-runner games are lots of fun.

Curial says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:24am

Accurate mobile devices design and nice looking GUI. IN PC, btw, the SPACE key is a bit unconfortable to jump next to X and Z. I would prefer C.
Let's have a bit more plays to try more shop items :D

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Curial yeah, we thoght that too and we're going to change them. The "C" key should work much better
Thank you and the other guys for playing the game and giving us some feedback! See ya

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:53pm

wwwwooooohhhooooooooooooo.....

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:38pm

The sound design and graphics are really good, it looks and sounds like a professional piece. The jumping felt a little floaty, and I didn't really feel like I was in danger that often, but it was still fun to play. Is it intentional that your upgrades remain after death? I do like the mechanic of killing all the enemies when the shop appears, but I think it would be beneficial to provide a small amount of time after the player presses the leave shop button for them to get ready to jump. Overall, well done!

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:31pm

DeltaF1: actually it was intentional at the first moment, but we also realize that it would be better if the player looses all the itens and upgrades when he dies. We're going to fix that! Also, we're going to create more enemies (we already have the art for them), some different ones. And yes, this delay after the player leaves the shop is one of the future updates! The amulet behaviour is still missing in the current version too. Thank you very much for playing and for your feedbacks man! We really appreciate that.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Very good game, really funny.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:50pm

It was quite fun, the dificulty curve is a bit intense, the shopkeeper randomly popping up was a little annoying at some parts.

felipeberquo says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Heheh, actually we are going to make the shopkeeper to appear only when the level starts or at some checkpoints.
Thank you for your words dude!

FrederickK says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:33am

This game is so difficult!
That's a burglar with a chest head? That I loved!
Need to be more frenetic, more speed and less difficult. xD'

Jasonsumm says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:34am

Really fun! Look and feel is great :)

tppr2046 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Fun!!

felipeberquo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Yeah FrederickK! Actually, we know that the game lacks of some game design and some balancing... It's really difficult lol
We appreciate your words and we're going to take your considerations! Thanks dude!

AdricZero says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Very nice graphics and audio. Difficult to play for me. It does not seem very unconventional though. Overall very polished game.

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:35am

Nice game, good mechanics, and quite fun (although not really my type of game). Wish the difficulty ramped up a little more slowly, but otherwise good job!

May 11, 2015 @ 11:09pm

I like this game! :-D The simple and fun gameplay is really good for this type of game, and I also liked the art and music (and the funny voices for the SFX!).

Cool upgrade system! That gives a great "meaning" for the items that the player collect, I like when an Infinite Runner has purchasable items that directly affect the gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]