Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Reap What You Sow

by FireCamp - Compo Entry

RWYS is a tiny arena game with one level.


@FIRECAMP_GAMES
TWITCH.tv/NEOZOOM


Player will find out what the title means !
Hope you'll like it. It's very short btw..
didn't have time to develop more stages / gameplay.

have fun ! =)


FULLY SUPPORT GAMEPAD ! (xbox one at least)

Select or "F" to toggle fullscreen.

CONTROLS :

GAMEPAD :
button A to jump.
button X to run (pressed).
button B to shoot.
you can use analog stick to move (not in menus)
or Dpad.

KEYBOARD : (yes sorry no wasd keys, i like azerty people.)
ARROWS to move.
numpad 2 to jump.
numpad 1 to run.
numpad 5 to shoot.

Start & select is "M" or "enter" or "escape".

Here you go.
And no its not a virus if your "antivirus software" says so...
It's just an exe file.
If you antivirus or chrome or whatever says something.
Just force copy the game on DESKTOP and run it from there.
Should work all the time !



Have fun and Enjoy !


.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#254Graphics3.61
#308Audio3.16
#336Humor3.14
#339Fun3.32
#363Theme3.57
#405Innovation3.32
#442Mood3.06
#477Overall3.25

Comments

NeoRoshi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:35am

I was the best slime gunner NA, and then it all went wrong.

vini60 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:22am

The arena atmosphere, real good. The battles are fun and the gameplay is really solid.

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:46am

That was great! Loved the twist, was genuinely alarming when everything went horribly, horribly wrong.

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49am

I feel like some sort of in-game tutorial would help a ton. It took a bit for me to figure out what was going on. That, and the default controls are very awkward. It would be nice to be able to remap them.

The idea is really neat though.

FireCamp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:51am

Hay Pachow, thanks for your comment.
Default control should be fine i think, you can use a gamepad, or keyboard if you prefer.
I wish i had the time to add more ways to "inform" the player about what's going on, but i quite like the idea of leting them figure out. Title should tell you a lot .

Kyozumo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28am

The idea is great, with a nice twiat to it.

You'll have to play it atleast two times to get it right. Could use more stages. Even if it was more of the same.

And the controls are weird. The game would benefit of a wasd spacebar default control scheme.

Even if a game is short, in LD what matters is how it was implemented. In that case, this game provides you with a neat unexpected weapon along with some cartoony graphics that set the aesthetic of the game.

It was short, yes. Was it fun and original? Absolutely.

Gr8 game 8/8 would gameover again

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:06am

@NeoRoshi's comment is so funny but also so true :P Nice twist, I had a great laugh when it happened. Great idea, the red slimes are hard to beat though, I feel like they are impossible to dodge because they are so fast.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:48am

Okay, here's a bit of a controversial post. At least part of my audience is the game reviewers.

This is also, the Age of Information. That also includes game spoilers!

Arrow keys move, and the 5 key spits out a green blob to help you fight the existing red blobs. But if you bomb the screen, then you find they all flip and turn into angry red enemies and you die!

Instead, only split out about 2-3 green ones. Then when a couple of them left turn red, the same 5 key shoots stars to kill them.

You should be able to win in about 30 seconds.

I think LD games should angle a bit past a "1 time joke", and more towards a repeatable game in itself. A game that is easy to beat is fine - just don't make it so the entire gameplay relies on first-play ignorance!

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

--TaoPhoenix

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

You can still move your cursor with the controls window up, there's no way to shoot, and the start button on the game over screen doesn't work. Meh.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Game was blocked by Chrome because it was harmful!?!

Suese says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:48pm

My virus checker didn't like this file. It didn't tell me what virus was detected, only that it is 'malicious'.

FireCamp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:53pm

No there no problem with this file , no virus.
And no problem with controls either.

simple , you use gamepad (xbox) or keyboard.
with keyboard its on the right , arrows and :
numpad 1 to run. numpad 2 to jump. numpad 5 to shoot.

easy ha ? on top of that, its better than WASD keys that doesn't take in account the fact many people can have an azerty keyboard.

have fun.

KBF123 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Fum game.

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Short and to the point!

All we need now are a bunch more levels... maybe some other colours of slimes that interact in a rock-paper-scissors kind of system?

zwartraider says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Solid mechanics, I got startled when my blobs turned on me! When playing with a keyboard I couldn't figure out what the start button was to restart the game after dying :S

FireCamp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:23pm

This is a great idea PTSnoop ! Thanks for your feedback.
Yep the game actually is more of a gimmick, a 48h concept on the theme.

scorder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:29pm

It's fun!
I had to play until I won, so it's a successful game.
The gameplay is good and the end keeps you on your toes.

Good job!

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:28pm

I agree with the other posters about the controls. It seems like you tried to remap the gamepad controls to the keyboard and it is just a little awkward. A WASD control scheme might work better.

I liked the twist and the gameplay.

murilo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:40pm

ok that was fun! I didn't expect that to happen! Good game, man!

Gametery says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:20am

It was pretty good! Nicely Done .

ajopart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:19am

My heart stopped for a microsecond. I should take this less seriously. Great twist anyway. On the keyboard, what is the start button ? I have figured how to retry without restarting the program completely.

FireCamp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:26pm

it should be "enter" or "M" key.

plams says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Fun short game! I made it through, but I'm not sure why my gun starts shooting stars when my slimies turn against me.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:30pm

good concept.. lol

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]