Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bird Quest

by Mantlair - Compo Entry

Generally you are controlling a girl who owns a well trained bird. You will use the bird as a weapon in order to make bird reach to the cage. To kill an enemy simply send the bird towards it. Bird will keep pecking enemy till it dies. Then call the bird so you can kill other enemies. You can collect some gold on the way. There is 2 different maps for playing.

IMPORTANT: Set quality to fantastic for non glitched graphics. And play it in 1024x768 so menus dont look weird.

NOTES ABOUT POST COMPO BUILDS: There is not a big difference. You can just play the post compo and rate. Just assume that there was no tutorial. And there was no Map4 and Map5. I did some minor changes on sprites but my entry is not open for voting about Graphics anyway.

(There is a problem with WebGL compiling on my pc. If you can build my source for me please leave a comment)

(Linux and Mac builds are untested i just clicked build on my pc. So just tell if they are working or not)


Controls:
WASD to walk.
Mouse for aiming.
Left Click Send/Call bird.

Notes about mechanics:
If bird hits an enemy it will start pecking(switching through some shitty sprites) and damaging enemy.
You can't call the bird back if bird cant see you. (a.k.a. Raycast hits something which is not you).
If you call bird back before she kills an enemy that enemy will be stunned for a short time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#433Theme3.48
#486Innovation3.19
#658Overall3.06
#702Fun2.88
#740Humor2.37
#896Mood2.45

Comments

Joris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:39am

Some parts of the game are really good. The bird works perfectly and is well animated. The standard Unity background, ugly walls and lack of music are some things that could be improved.

Rahazan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:40am

Nice take on the theme! The bird animations are great, the map itself could use some work on the graphics side (perhaps a green floor would have been nicer?).

After multiple attempts at either level I was unable to finish the game and get a score :/, it could really use some checkpoints or shorter levels.

It was frustrating to die very far into the level by a green bullet (which are hard to see with the blue background).

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:56am

Quite hard to understand how to play. I thought the idea of a bird was different, though I think it should be more information earlier of how to use it for damaging enemies. Nice use of multiple types of enemies! Good luck!

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:03am

Contrary to what the screenshots suggested, the game proved to be charming and enjoyable. The bird struggles a bit with narrow corridors, but it was overall a solid fun experience.

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:49am

Good game. If I and bird does not stuck in walls it will be more fun.

Mantlair says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54am

Yeah actually map sizes are big. I wasnt planning seperate maps at start so first one was meant to be the entire game. I should probably split that one into 2 seperate parts. And for controlls it would be awesome if you guys try to write a how to play thing. i could add a part. I cant empathize with a person playing it for like first time so probably the game is too hard ( Sorry B( ).

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Love the unique weapon. The game started out slow, but got more interesting as encounters got more complicated. It almost became a puzzle game really. Btw, you mentioned that you were getting an error when you tried to launch my game. That bug should be fixed now.

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Cool little game!

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Neat idea; with there was some audio feedback (and maybe a gold counter). Good job overall!

Bardikus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Pluses:
-fun and challenging gameplay
-cool pixel art

Minuses:
-lack of audio
-pretty hardcore, as you die instantly when an enemy touches you.

Zcience says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:00pm

I love the bird as a retrievable Gameplay element. Really good idea!
Checkpoints would have been nice, or a life system (like three lifes and you can retrieve some, if you lost a life)

Tanser says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Interesting :) I like it :)

maunovaha says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:11pm

hehe. I like the simplicity of this game, thought graphics could be a little more detailed (in the future?) ;) it was fun to play regardless :)

kunzbe says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Similar concept as in my game. I really liked the look of the pixel parrot but missed some tunes

bace1000 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Music would have really helped this game, and so would a couple more enemies. Good work for the 48 hours though!

tughan says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 3:27pm

The idea is cool. Nice gameplay. I like harder games so I had no problem with the one hit k.o. character, but it does cause problem when you don't try that hard. I'd suggest a health system, it would cause more "action packed" gameplay eventually. Which I like, dunno about the others though :)

Anyway, good job!

renatopp says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Cool idea, congratulations on your first LD. I think people gave you some good tips for the next games, so good job again.

TeamFlare says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:52am

Congrats on your first ld, rock on :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]