Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Catch it !

by Adreqi - Jam Entry

Finished right before the deadline, yet that's all I can do. Well at least I did something, which is nice :D (next time i'll try not to procrastinate that much)

You are a random citizen and you found an object that gets back to you when thrown. Quite painful if you don't handle it properly but hey, it's cool :)

Notes :

* double jump :)

* you may find this way too easy. I have to improve my level design skills x)

* web link is just a swf file, you may want to play it in flash player rather than directly in browser, because I don't know how it will behave when resized. embed version is ok I guess.

* Windows link: download, unzip, execute CatchIt.exe. For unknown reasons, the windows build does not play sounds. Better go with flash.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#345Audio(Jam)3.15
#667Humor(Jam)2.55
#677Mood(Jam)2.84
#766Overall(Jam)2.91
#768Fun(Jam)2.68
#771Graphics(Jam)2.74
#825Innovation(Jam)2.50
#856Theme(Jam)2.77
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:06am

Got to the other side of the valley after a few tries. nice music - it has a good beat. took a bit to figure out the double jump. Didn't really like taking damage for landing on a spark even as it died. However, nice little game. I like the color palette.

djfariel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:08am

A lot of potential here. Would like to see a lot more to this. Unique uses for the "boomerang" and maybe it dealing more damage to you if it hits you. It took a bit to find out that I could double jump, though.

Great idea.

Adreqi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:28am

I'm glad you liked it!
On jump-killing sparks : I originally wanted to stay close to the platform canons (double-jump and killing mobs by jumping on them) but it didn't fit well with mobs being electrical entities, hence the hurt. Also, it was more or less designed to make people use their unconventional weapon instead. Maybe it shouldn't be possible to even touch them (jump or not), I don't know :s

On double jump : it came in my mind as obvious, but I'll add it to the description, since maybe it's not ^^

On adding more : I got some kind of scenario in my head (basically based on how to fix that hammer), I don't know if I'll go on with them, but I'd like to try (at least to make some level design experiences)

Thank you for the feedback :)

qapn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:40am

The double jumping was nice when it worked, but sometimes it bugged out and so I died a few times because of that.

The level design was a bit weird because I found it easier to just plough through the level without using my weapon and just avoid all the enemies - it's balanced a bit too generously with ample health.

Otherwise, slick platforming dude. Make some more levels, tweak the mechanics a bit, and put up a post jam version as well!

broknecho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Really great start here. It was nice to see that I was getting better with the controls the more play through's I did. The catching mechanic is a neat idea although need some sort of penalty for just throwing the hammer and then dodging it on it's way back :) Great job!

randoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:41pm

The hammer mechanic is amazing. Good job

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:29am

Decent little platformer, it could use some more content though. I also didn't realize I had a hammer I could through until after I beat it the first time haha.

Good job completing something.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:15am

Aww, I was having fun and then it ended! :) I liked playing with the hammer and setting up for the boomerang back. Fun.

Adreqi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:29am

Thanks for liking, people :)

On double jump: sorry, I couldn't reproduce any bug, I'll keep an eye on that when I'll get back to it :/

On level design: That is, in my opinion, the main thing that I definitely have to improve. Now is just tiles randomly thrown to form something that can be walked/jumped around x)

On catching mechanics : I'll think about a penalty on not catching the hammer, but I don't want it to make the player choose to *not* use it. The game is all about the hammer after all ^^. I'll probably set a short timer or something, don't know yet.

fluidvolt: "Aww, I was having fun and then it ended! :) "
I thought the same about your game :p Glad you liked it.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:04am

This is cool! Love the hammer! Definitely worth working on after the jam

GarethIW says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:00am

I like the weapon idea, and sure it was a little easy once you get the mechanics down but still, good effort!

lody says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:20am

having to jump over the hammer is fun, though i kept pressing the wrong button and getting hit in the face :B i think this is a really cool little platformer! meow :3

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Nice music and nice art, Good job !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]