Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost Captor Sakura

by Dixbit - Jam Entry

EDIT 26/04/2015: Ghost Captor Sakura has been updated! Featuring better graphics, new ghost girls, sounds , a proper game over screen and a new gameplay rule: now you start with a 10s countdown, and each ghost captured give you an extra second. But clicking on an empty spot remove 2s, so click wisely :)
Also please note that the web link below now points to the updated version. You can get the original one by downloading the standalone zip (unzip it and open index.html in your browser).

Your obsession is to take pictures of cute girls with your phone. But wait, not any kind of girls: GHOST ones! To practice this (questionable) hobby you found the perfect spot: an old and abandoned shrine outside of the city. As these cuties only appear at night, and are only visible through a camera, you have to be fast to capture them all, or they will possess you!

How to play: spot the ghosts with your phone and click when you see one to capture it. You have 30s to take as many pics as you can :)
(To go past the shameful ESRB rating screen parody, just click or press any key)

Postmortem:
Unfortunately I hadn't as much time available as I expected to create this thing, but hopefully it is playable. For the game engine I used GDevelop for the first time. I discovered it only a few days before the Jam but when I see Sol_HSA's suggestion to "try something new" I go with it :)

This is also my first Ludum Dare, and my second ever game jam if you consider past month's Mini LD :)

As you will see this game lacks almost of everything, starting from sound and music ^^
But I enjoyed creating it, and maybe I will improve it later (different ghosts sprites with animations, decent background instead of this cotton candy shit, score display when you finish, etc...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#646Humor(Jam)2.59
#654Innovation(Jam)2.87
#774Fun(Jam)2.67
#781Graphics(Jam)2.72
#797Mood(Jam)2.64
#850Overall(Jam)2.80
#878Theme(Jam)2.71
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:07am

Clicked for the title, chuckled at the "Warning" screen. Game could have used some more feedback such as a timer. I was a bit confused why I was being possessed. Perhaps adding time for each picture captured could give you a more interesting goal?

murilo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Interesting! It was nice how you could actually try to see where the ghost when next. One unfair problem i found was that sometimes the ghost would stand almost off screen making it very difficult to frame it. Good job, man!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Good use of the theme, and very interesting concept. It would have been cool to see the pictures that I took through the game.

ALobker says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:25pm

I basically just clicked everywhere in the screen and got a score of 25.

raisedmedia says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:35pm

It's fun. I wish I could see the photos I took in the end.

OadT says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Funny idea (also funny intro screen :D) It took me a minute to understand how to see the girls

Tanser says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Haha, the intro screen was just amazing.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:58pm

too hard.. but nice..

geekdrums says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:14am

It good at simple:) I played many time. Nice game.

Ogniok says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:39am

The idea is pretty nice and those ghost have funny faces. Nice joke with ESRB :D

May 5, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Liked it, a bit hard though. I'd like to get more time each time I catch a ghost, to be able to get more lengthy games.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]