Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Powerman

by Bandersnatch - Compo Entry

As Powerman, the city's defender, you're tasked with defeating Dr. Useless and his goons, the Evil Five the only way you know how, stealing their powers!


The main idea of this game was a game where gaining abilities made the gameplay itself harder. Not sure it completely captured that idea, but the end at least fits with the theme.

The game was built with Unity 5 and the graphics were all made within Hexel. There's no sounds effects because the world conspired against me and I ended up uploading this just in time, in a neighbors house, with 1% battery life left.


I'm releasing the source (including all the art if you want it) with the CC BY license (https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/). In English, you can do just about anything with it as long as you give me credit. And if you for some reason have an issues with being able to give me credit, just ask and I'll probably waive that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#175Humor3.50
#428Innovation3.28
#692Graphics2.83
#702Theme3.17
#704Overall3.00
#745Fun2.83
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Well, stealing powers as a weapon is unconventional I guess. The game itself, esp. Jump Guy, was tedious because of the jumping always being waaay over the top and no control once you bounce off the ground again. I also don't understand the use of the laser-vision? The comic appeal of the speech bubbles was nice, but the dev-console popping up with error messages was a little distracting…

Bandersnatch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37am

Thanks Phil! The main idea behind the game was to make the game harder as you gain powers, hence the magnet and jump powers. The other ones didn't really end up fulfilling this, as the original idea was to make it a full on platformer that I was going to enter in the jam. The Laser was going to burn bridges and supports making things harder to traverse, the speed was going to make it harder to get to the right spot to jump, and the ice was going to make objects slide everywhere. However, I lost my artist on the second day, and had to spend most of the day making the art completely, from scratch, since I couldn't replicate their style. So I had to cut the platforming.

The Laser-vision burns objects, most of them take a bit of time though, and because of the games final form, it's in no way applicable to the game. If a burnable objects in the laser, you'll see it slowly get darker, then turn reddish, before disappearing.

Lastly, how are you getting error messages? I didn't even know you could get them in non-debug compiled versions from Unity without setting an output folder, and it certainly shouldn't pop up a dev console. So unless you're running it in the Unity Editor itself (in which case, I'd recommend using a build to play), I'd like to know which build/OS you're using, and what the error message was. (It's probably the one I left in the game because it's harmless, and a pain to remove completely and I was running out of time).

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53am

I felt very super :) Loved the pixel aesthetic and the parallax effects in the background

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:55am

I think the idea of the game becoming harder the more powers you get was an interesting one. I felt it could of been done a little better but with the time it's understandable. I really like the graphics though and the humor was great! Sadly no sound effects but reading your reasoning why I'm glad we got the game instead! :)

dydx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:01am

I laughed pretty hard after the final boss battle with Dr. Useless. Great humor in this game.

Pro tip for everyone: defeat Speedy Person first!

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:07am

Ah okay! So that the game got harder the longer you play it completely got past me, I just thought I really suck at it.

About the error message: It popped up in the Unity Web Player on Firefox, screenshot here: http://postimg.org/image/sukaavdm7/

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:01am

I hit a bug where I couldn't continue after beating enemies in 1, 2, 3, 5 order. The screen kept scrolling but didn't switch to the second city section like it had before.

Interesting idea with stealing powers but I agree with Phil that the jumping was a bit much. I really enjoyed the comic style though!

Bandersnatch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Thanks for the feedback and kind words everyone! I think I'm going to make a non-compo compliant version with SFX and a few bug fixed soon.

Phil, that is so weird.... So Unity has a feature called Development build where you can export a build which will show you the logs as you play. The weird thing is that I know it's not exported like that.... On top of that, I just tested it with firefox on the web version and it's not in dev mode for me, so I have no idea what's causing it for you

Bandersnatch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:48pm

(Apparently the comment system cut off my half page of text -_-. Long story short, I also said I couldn't repro your problem Matt, I agreed with everyone that the jump power's a bit overbearing, and said I'd probably tone it down in the non-compo compliant version, along with the bounciness, which seems to be where most of the complaints are. As for what you said dydx, Shhhh ^_^. In all seriousness though, I had initially planned for it to double the speed, but right now it only increases it by 20% because anything else was really, ridiculously strong.)

anokta says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:57pm

hahaha the very first time i experienced a damping super hero! enjoyed the dialogues. wish there were some cheesy sound fx to fill up. still, thumbs up for this entry! :)

Lynx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:32am

I loved the pow! effect would love to see some variation of it with full screen POW! BANG! BIFF! Overall really good, some bugs, but nothing you can't work through! Great job.

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:32am

The idea for this game is pretty great, but most of the time in the game, it's just frustrating. I still had fun with this one and I enjoyed a lot of the dialog. Good work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 4:54am

graphics were fabulous - great idea - and the story was aweseom - great job

Bandersnatch says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Thanks for the kind words and feedback from everyone. I'm pretty happy with how it turned out for my first LD, and with everything out of my control that went wrong during it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]