Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Word Warriors

by UKCoder - Compo Entry

Word Warriors pits you in a battle of wits against the evil Mordrax using the unconventional weapon of words.

Find words on the grid horizontally, vertically or diagonally and type the word in. The longer the word, the more damage you do to Mordrak.

Press return to submit your word.

Keep an eye out for the special fireball tiles which do additional damage.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#314Audio3.14
#583Overall3.14
#592Innovation3.05
#664Mood2.79
#719Fun2.86
#728Theme3.14
#1667Coolness40%

Comments

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:12am

Hallo!

This is a compo entry, so where did the graphics for the avatars come from? Do you have a character designer software program?

The art is really good all around. The concept looks nice, different from "mash the keys to type words as fast as you can". This one is more of a word search.

However, I think it's some combination of too hard and Mordrax is borderline cheating, because here is a sample of "words" he was picking:

Skrik
Cly
Deva
Skol
Rill

Are the letters chosen at random? It seems to have a lot of odd mixtures that make it really tough to get "regular words".

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

This one is just missing the cut! I'd like to see a Post-Compo version!

--TaoPhoenix

UKCoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:42am

Thanks for the detailed feedback. Much appreciated. I'll take a look at the site :)

The character avatars are modified photos, hopefully just about qualifying as derivative work (though I admit, not very good). I had hoped to replace them before the compo ended, but as I didn't quite have enough time, I opted out of graphics judging.

The AI player is using a freely available set of dictionary files, which is why he sometimes chooses seemingly unfair words. I'll see if I can locate a better quality dictionary to replace it with at some point.

Also yes, the letters are entirely random. Didn't quite get time to implement a more intelligent scheme for letter choice.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Cannot download without a dropbox account.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Fantastic implementation of a word search game - I was pretty exhausted after going one round against the evil Mordrak!

liniix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:27pm

I actually had a surprising amount of fun with this one. I usually don't play word games like this so I didn't have much experience but it was a lot of fun. I do feel like the computer was a little to good and after trying and losing around four times I gave up.

One other thing is that i would not have realized how long I spent playing if the audio looped a little better.
ie at the end of the background track it "jumps" back to the beginning. if that loop would have been a little smoother I might have sat playing for hours.

OH one other thing! overall I really like the controls and the way it all worked, but there were a few times where i would try to type a word which appeared twice on the board, and it would only highlight one, usually the one without the fireball that i was going for :(. I dont know if I was doing something wrong, but this was just something I noticed.

nassi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Minor bug: Mordrax (or is it Mordrak, the description seems to disagree about that :P) was unable to come up with a word a few times and each time it displayed the word "CLEM" after his turn. Might've been the last word he played?

Reminded me somewhat of Puzzle Quest and I actually found it really amusing to play. I would've liked it if the words were selected by choosing the letters with a mouse though, because the automatic matching sometimes chose normal characters when special characters were available for the word.

Won with my second try using the word "OX", sadly I didn't spot a more insulting word for ending it :(.

Also it seems that your game has become self aware: http://i.imgur.com/KPn5bLE.jpg

UKCoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Haha, that's brilliant. I did have it swear at me once too!

Agh, good spot on the typo!

Yeah, that's a slight bug I never quite got around to fixing when the AI player doesn't play a word. Relatively simple fix, but I was right down to the last minute working on it.

Also yes, the automatic word highlighting I guess is a bug in a sense. I was kind of aiming towards using that to increase difficulty, so you had to try alternatives if the auto find got the wrong one, as I actually found the game too easy most of the time (guess that happens when you play the game a lot as a developer!). Perhaps I'll implement tab to swap between possible chains. Or mouse, as you say!

Glad you guys have had fun with it :)

furriKira says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:28pm

I'm honestly with the others but...
Imagine if this was multiplayer though....

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:47pm

This is pretty difficult. I only won because for about eight turns in a row the wizard didn't make any actions. The main reason this is hard is because I'm not used to identifying words in this way, since the board can be navigated non-linearly.

UKCoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Yeah, the AI I implemented has difficulty finding 5 letter words or higher within the time limit, but was even more difficult if he consistently found 4 letter words. Need to fix that up for sure.

I may try and put in an alternate easier mode where you only search horizontally and vertically and save this mode for the hardcore. Or perhaps a mode with no turn time countdown.

Would love to do multiplayer with this at some point :)

Conk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:18am

I eventually bested Mordrax with many 3 letter fire words! A good twist on the typical word search, I liked it :D Music got annoying after a bit, but it was a nice piece, fitted very well.

shrapx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

damn that mordrax and his crazy words, he bested me! good work UKCoder.

Bishkip says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:57am

My words just aren't strong enough. But I unleashed some pretty good "sentences" I guess. :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Neat idea! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/esXlcAnzqGA

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Love this entry, spent a while playing this. Love the music and the interface. The mechanics are pretty simple to pick up and can see this being a fun app I'd like to play on my phone. Awesome entry!

-Neith

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:32pm

I like the idea! Wish it gave more visual feedback when a word doesn't match though...

Tselmek says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Nice game, the music and art are good. The game would need more feedbacks so that it feels more satisfying to throw 8 damages at Mordrak than 3 damages, this also applies when we lose or win. Also, I don't know if it is because of the resolution i choose, but the left and right were cropped and thus I couldn't see the damages I was taking or the life I had left. Good job nonetheless!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]