Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Giant Spiky Ball of Death

by RobotHoboDanceParty - Compo Entry

Well, for my first Ludum Dare I had no idea how quickly things can go from fun as hell to stressing as sh*t.

SO what is the most unconventional weapon? Obviously something that can easily kill you as much as it kills the enemies! And that was my initial thought, GIANT SPIKY BALL OF DEATH!

GSBoD is a sorta physics like, top down, wrecking ball simulator. But instead of wreaking buildings, you destroy your enemies! (That just happen to look like boxes...)

The controls are WASD to move and swing your spiky ball around.
(ZQSD and ,AOE should work also for you people with foreign keyboards)


Engine used: Game maker
Graphics made with: Photoshop and Gamemaker
The music made with: Bosca Ceoil
Sound effects made with: BFXR

I would love feedback as this is my first (and only) 'biggish' Ludum Dare project!

My twitter is @AEFXFreedom

You can also add me on steam if you wish, just say your from the Ludum Dare.
Im keen to chat, play games and etc when im not busy.

http://steamcommunity.com/id/notfake/

Thank you all and best of luck to everyone else!

IN THE POST LD VERSION YOU CAN PRESS "M" TO MUTE MUSIC

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#28Fun3.99
#94Overall3.81
#278Theme3.68
#295Innovation3.48
#503Graphics3.13

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:26am

Possibly the most fun game I've playe here so far.

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:27am

This is really really good! Graphics are on point with a consistent style. needs more particles :) ! My First Ludum dare too, I feel ya on the stress front hahaha.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:36am

I'm on mac, so any chance for a web build soon?

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:39am

Sorry, unless someone builds me a mac or web version, I dont have the "extra" additions to Game maker studio. :(

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:52am

Excellent! Very fun and interesting concept. I like the various enemies. The bullets bouncing off the spike ball was neat too.

Only negative is the audio which I muted after a minute.

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:34am

I like the idea, but the weight of the ball makes this thing really hard to control. Realistically it makes sense, but I think it would've been more fun to play if you'd let the player move uninhibited by the weight of the ball.

Otherwise, it's very satisfying to kill stuff with the ball. And then get killed with it yourself.

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:45am

I had a blast playing this game. I loved the simplicity of mechanics as well as the multiple enemy variations. Really fun stuff!

Terrabalt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:21am

Possibly the best game i've played. hard but fun.

Phobos001 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45pm

It was very satisfying to swing the mace around and smash them into enemies ^^ Great job!

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Really fun and a very clever idea. It's very satisfying, particularly with the sound and blood spatters at the start. I like how you introduced the controls and the gameplay at the start. To extend it you could have more of an adventure mode where you have to navigate smaller tunnels etc and press switches with the ball.

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I love the idea of this, reminds me of hammerfight, which was a very fun physics game. I can actually outrun the spike ball's chains, which I find is pretty cool. The gameplay, even though is fun however, is pretty slow, and after about five retries and dying at the fourth wave, I can no longer progress, maybe I am just impatient though.

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:41am

Cool game! High-score of about 30 secs. Cool idea and great graphics! The acceleration feels a bit slow but I enjoyed overall!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:04am

The game is really funny and addictive!!

KeyboardCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:05am

Great idea. Really cool game.

pta2002 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:07am

Definetly the best game I have seen so far. The only problem is that it feels a bit slow.

guoboism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11am

Really fun game! Has a lot of potential!

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:14am

Tough but fun!

bazld says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:41am

Very playable and fun game - great job.

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:41am

A little short but quite entertaining game. Only 3 stars in innovation and theme, because spike balls have already been used in video-games and medieval reality.

Enol says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:51am

Really nice concept ! Fun, Hard and addictive - Well done !

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:38am

Really addictive and satisfying, I liked the game mechanic. played around 10 times. Very well instructed the player with the controls on start screen. Graphics are good in it's simplicity, SPLUT!. Music was oke in beginning but could really use more variation.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:09pm

good solid little game here. Add pad support and you are onto a winner. For a similar idea, check out "Flail Rider" - http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=40591

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:32am

Even though it was simple, it was quite fun. Very well done. :)

Aaranos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:56am

The most fun part of this game is trying to see how fast you can get that thing spinning, and that is extremely fun. Definitely unconventional too with how hard it is to get used to as a weapon and that it can kill you too.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:07am

Good simple fun gameplay. Nicely done.

rgehan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:19am

Quite fun, even if I didn't manage to last more than a minute :p

I really like the blood splatter, they're quite good.

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:53am

Really fun, pretty good music and lovely physics. I especially liked that you can reflect the shots of enemies with the ball. Also, the game was very hard, couldn't get over 50 seconds, haha.

Xaychru says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:57am

Nice game, the player is a bit hard to control though. Congrats on your first LD! :)

RedSorrel says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:17pm

The GSBoD was unwieldy but it was very satisfying when I managed to destroy the enemies. I liked that you introduced new enemy types that made me rethink my attack plan. I loved that we could deflect bullets with the weapon.Cool take on a double-edged weapon!

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Really stressful but very fun game. Nicely done :)

Krunoslav says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Simple dynamics but creative. It could be very addicted. J'ai bien aimé! :)

GengisKhan says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:31pm

I had a difficult time with the ball mechanic, maybe wished for a longer chain, but it might be just me.
Still, I'd say it is a very fun game. Simple and addictive.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Simple hard and fun game! Well done!

Druid says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:42pm

Cool idea and really funny entry. But little slow. I think you can raise room_speed to 60 for much better gameplay :)

oparisy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:08am

A very good compo entry! Simple graphic design, but some nice touches (the background with instructions I like, its texture gives some sense of solidity), sound is present but not disturbing, the physics is fun, and there are multiple kinds of enemies. What's not to like?

resty says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:56am

Nice game. Fun to play. Controls feels good.
The graphics is simple and looks so nice.
Good job, keep on~

Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:39am

I really liked the feeling of weight of the spiky ball. It was a really fun and unique mechanic, but I would have preferred if the scoring was based on enemies killed over time survived (turtling isn't as fun as smashing enemies).

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:30am

Did you see Flail Rider (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=40591)? It's a little like a 3D isometric version of this with a car.

It was pretty weird using my left hand for controls. Arrow keys are pretty standard, no? Three key layouts and no arrows. =P

Hard game. I kept running into everything. At least the AI isn't smart enough to avoid the ball on its way to get me, so I could sometimes let them come to me. I like how the ball reflected laser shots from the pink boxes. Adding the big dumb box that takes a couple of hits to kill was nice, too.

The instructions written on the center of the arena were a nice touch.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Looking at the gameplay GIF again, the splat animations are really slick. I don't think you notice how good they look when you're in-game.

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:38am

Awesome game! Heaps of fun :D

lion123 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:29am

I think the amount of seconds survived is not the best score, but overall it's a solid game with awesome mechanics. Great job!

k1p1 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:13am

Simple design (in a good way). Pretty fun to play.

dylanigan says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:43am

Nice game. Next time replace your dropbox url's 'www' with 'dl', then it will download automatically. For example: https://dl.dropbox.com/s/8ulnora2sf4d7cp/Giant%20Spiky%20Ball%20of%20Death.zip?dl=0, instead of https://www.dropbox.com/s/8ulnora2sf4d7cp/Giant%20Spiky%20Ball%20of%20Death.zip?dl=0. Fun game, good job!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Really solid entry. Cool idea, easy to understand controls, and a good pacing. Only criticism I have is that I wanted more!

crockid5 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Controls felt unintuitive and boring

Dudeguy says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:48pm

The red ones were cheap, Really cheap, the main thing on my mind when playing cheap, but that made me love landing a succesful reflect and killing them

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:26am

this was really well done - loved the progression with the enemies and the mechanics were solid and unique - great job!

Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:41am

Very nice job on your first ludum dare. Not a lot of variation, but it's well executed _and_ a fun little game nevertheless. Definitely gets the theme.

hexdie says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:28am

Great game! Awesome take on the theme and fun to play. The controls take a bit getting used to but once you do, it's very enjoyable. The one thing I wish was that the number of people you killed counted towards your score in some way, because it's much harder to stay alive while killing people than just trying to survive. Maybe time + kills = your score? I don't know, just a thought. Good job!

AsixJin says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:40pm

I'd like it if you could control the ball with the mouse or the arrow kids. The ball and chain was definitely unconventional

goerp says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:51pm

I love this one! It's REALLY addictive, although I find it hard, I always want to do one more try.
The graphics are so effective, including all the 'swapped mosquito'stains!
And surprisingly, the music doesn't get annoying after playing for quite a while (I would have given sound a good vote, you know?).

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:29am

Wooah! Great Idea!!! :D

May 6, 2015 @ 9:47am

Great entry all round, if a little simplistic. I like how you added more enemy types as well, good job.

siryakko says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:38am

Fun and addictive

tmpxyz says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:51am

very fun!

cmayhem says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:16am

Good, polished feeling, well done!

OadT says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:22pm

You get the controls very well! The graphics you did so far looks also very nice

HolyBlackCat says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Easy, but very fun game!

eddynardo says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Funny little game.Very good physics

Leandrus says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:59am

Good game. 1:12 was my top time :/
Thanks for sharing

pstudio says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:37pm

This is so close to just being stupid fun. However the control just feels a bit 'slippery'. It might be more 'physical' correct, but the game would imo have been more fun with full control over the player.

NaKolenke says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:45pm

With mouse controls it'll be cooler.
Reminds me of Hammerfight.

rojo says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:47pm

I don't know if controlling a conventional weapon unconventionally makes it an unconventional weapon, but I can say with certainty that the game was pretty fun! The aesthetics of the game were pretty good, but it would have been nice to see something more interesting than rectangles. Still, good job!

May 11, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Really fun entry! It was a bit hard at first, but once I got the hang of it, it was awesome. I like the music and the graphics, too.

P.S. This seems eerily similar to another entry: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=25578

Plustech says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Gameplay straight forward, I dont see too much innovation but man, this is fun.
Kudos on the compo entry. Great visual feedback overall. Nice exp.

May 11, 2015 @ 8:59pm

I think the controls are a little floaty, it would have been good if you could turn quicker and more accuracy in your movement. That would have made the early game easy but fun, then you could have ramped up the number of enemies. I did really like it and played for quite a while, deflecting bullets was especially fun

TeamQuadratic says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Cool mechanic and fun game! You should definitely keep working on this!

yuigoto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Nice entry! It's fun and has got the right amount of challenge! Though I felt that the player moves a bit slowly! :P

Music is nice and fits perfectly, but it starts to get repetitive after a few minutes (my entry also feels that way :P).

It was my first LD too, so I felt the pressure (even though I went for the jam)! :)

RyanNielson says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Great game, nice and simple but does everything well. I really like how the controls are simple to pick up, but quite hard to master. Nice work!

Pixel Heart says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Really funny game! Good job! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]