Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

I don't feel like shooting right now!

by fragileannihilator - Compo Entry

Sorry, this game is unfinished. There is no audio and a LOT of features are not implemented, the balance is broken etc.

In browser, press F11 to enter fullscreen mode

Mechanics explanation:

An enemy is approaching and you have a cannon to destroy it. However, the cannon is not a conventional one: it has emotions. So you have to put the cannon in the right mood to make it shoot.


There are 4 characteristics:

- Probability of success. Indicates whether the cannon is likely to shoot at all.

- Accuracy. Indicates the probability of hitting the enemy. So, even if the cannon agrees to shot, it can still miss.

- Power. Indicates the amount of damage the enemy will take if hitted. Concentration also affects power. "100 +/- 20" means that the final number will be between 80 and 120.

- Concentration. Affects power.


There are 8 emotions ordered into 4 scales. Some emotions also form pairs and set a certain mood, For example: Trust + Fear = Sumbission, Joy + Trust = Love etc. There are 8 types of mood, each one has some bonuses. At the moment it is hard for players to determine how each mood affects the characteristics. I will work on it and release a post-compo version later.

Engine: Construct 2
Art: Paint, Paint.net, COnstruct 2 built-in editor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#99Innovation3.88
#111Theme3.96
#168Humor3.52
#416Mood3.09
#704Overall3.00
#852Graphics2.53
#906Fun2.58

Comments

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:00pm

Promising prototype ! Feels like The Sims for inanimate objects. With a bit more levers to pull and a clearer link between actions and emotions, it could make a nice little game.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Very neat idea! Surprising depth of emotion. I felt genuinely bad for bertha after making it sad or angry. Great job!

dray says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Really like the idea, take some time to put the cannon in the right mood and telling this is already the sign of a good game :) maybe you should push it a bit more?

Detocroix says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:05pm

This is definitely one of the most unconventional weapons I've ever seen! :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Interesting concept, maybe you should try and do a post compo version

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:05pm

I love the idea, nice work!

Kyatric says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:26pm

It's a pretty good idea in itself.
The game as it is is not really making sense and "responsive".
I don't know if you actually can get Berta to shoot, but the idea that a defense cannon must be in the correct mood to shoot is one of the best take on the theme I've seen so far.

The GUI is a bit confusing as well, some labels indicates +X, +Y when it is actually -Y which makes gameplay sense.

There is something to work further on here.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:28pm

2ConflictiveLabs
Sure, I will definitely continue the work

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:36pm

2Kyatic,
Thank you, I totally agree that the game lack some feedback and it is very hard for players to find out the connections between their actions and consequences. Probably I should add some hints. And yes, the balance is completely broken, It is the main issue here.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:49am

Yep, idea is good, but the balance was not done. At least, I can recommend greatly increase "time remaining" or simply remove this option. Time pressing rarely can make game better.

Take a look on Gods Will Be Watching game. This game also was done on LD and after that released in Steam. It has similiar management mechanics, when you need balance pluses with minuses. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=11045

Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:58am

Yaroslav, thanks for advice. Actually, mechanics wise Gods Will be Watching was one of the inspiration sources.

"Time remainings" refers to the amount of actions a player can perform, not the actual time in seconds. So, removing this will result in removing challenge.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:35am

Great idea you had here! Having to talk a gun into firing would be a very interesting and amusing challenge! It's just a shame you didn't have enough time to add more possible conversation options. As a thought for your post compo version, perhaps the cannon's mood could influence what effects each choice gives you, like having a negative option give it an anger boost if it's already fired up!

resty says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Nice idea. I think it will be interesting if you have more time to make some improvements. Need some feedback for player to know whether doing right or wrong.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Woah! the idea behind this game is really nice! You interpreted very well the them! I also like the graphic style! Well done!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Awesome concept, but the gameplay seems like its trial and error. Please work on this more though because this could definitely be a really fun game!

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Really enjoyed the concept. was fun trying to get everything just right to fire

lizard455 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:29am

Ah hah! I finally got it! Interesting game idea :D

rburema says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:19pm

thoughts:
- Paging Dr. Susan Calvin, Dr. Calvin, please come in.
- Apearantly you can hit and do '0 damage'? No wonder she doesn't feel like shooting... I'd get stage fright as well ;-)

gruhn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Good concept and mechanics. And I liked the intro.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Interesting concept! I was not sure at first if I was supposed to force it to shoot or to try to prevent it from shooting, and then I read in the description that I should fire, I did not know which emotions would help it to do so...

Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Dining Philosopher,
it is assumed that the player will find out how emotions affect characteristics by trial and error. Nevertheless, I understand that mechanics is not enough clear to understand and I'm going to improve it in post-compo version.

TheWzzard says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Needs music

Dege says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Great idea! I really like this game... its a bit hard to understand what does what but its part of the fun ^^

Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Dege, thanks! I will try to improve that aspect in the post0compo version!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:15pm

What a very interisting idea!. Waiting the post-compo version :D

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:52am

The concept is so cool. It attracts me at the first moment!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Nice idea and personality.
The buttons could have some sound feedback when pressed.

Spit Tex says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Pretty fun, but at times can be a bit arbitrary, I wish the whole game was based on the talking to the cannon with more dialogue options.

Nate says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 10:30pm

I like the concept. Berta is kind of a b*tch.

psychonull says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Nice idea. It was a little hard to put Berta in the right mood :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]