Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Not Nice Knight

by chromebookbob - Compo Entry

This is a text adventure with some animated characters.
You are a knight, you are in a dungeon without anything but a book containing biographies of all the monsters you will meet before you leave. Use your wit, and nastiness to make each one cry and you may see the light of day again.

I encountered a few challenges along the way, the first was that I missed about 8 hours of the jam because of school. I had to work with twine 2.0, which I have done before, but it is a fairly new piece of software so it isn’t amazingly documented. I would have liked to be able to change the background colour towards the end of the game but limitations in CSS meant I couldn’t. I also had some trouble animating my monsters in photoshop as I was live streaming and using a pen tablet which was rather taxing on my laptop. I also had some trouble with embedding the game (I lost formatting and fonts) so it's download only at the moment.

For the best experience, play the windows version, although running the html is fine too (and cross-platform).

The download links lead to itch.io, click download now at the bottom and then "take me to the downloads".

The Unconventional Weapon is that you have to be mean!

For those who are looking for an *easy* way to restart, if you are in a browser (not in the windows version) you can simply refresh the page to restart.

My first Ludum Dare ever!

Made with Twine 2.0

Thanks for playing.

Postmortem: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/20/not-nice-knight-postmortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#95Mood3.67
#98Humor3.75
#111Theme3.96
#281Overall3.47
#295Innovation3.48
#392Fun3.25
#452Audio2.88
#558Graphics3.04

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:28am

Graphics are real good.
And I like when people design their twines.
Good story.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Wow, I have to say that given the simplicity of gameplay, it looks nice. Gameplay is fun but maybe a little too simple? Still, I had fun so that's was it matters, I guess :)

Also I really like the overall mood of the game.

My only complaint is that it is a little predictable so it is quite easy.

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52pm

I love this!

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:00pm

One of the better uses of theme I've seen. Really liked the writing - great entry!

snesgaard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Well, I feel kinda bad now...

Loved the writing, but would be nice if one wrong answer didn't result in an instant game over.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Graphics fit in really well with the music and the gameplay is suprisingly fun

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Interesting take on the theme, and interesting choice of genre. The first thing I realized was that a 40 megs download is pretty steep for a flipping text adventure, so i guess it has to do with the standalone runtime cramming ALL THE LIBRARIES into itself. But i digress.
The game was a fun one and has an interesting morale. In fact, you as a player become the real monster and even redeem yourself, how nice! The graphics and music both fit the theme very much and I really enjoyed playing the game. And tears as currency/weapon? Loved it! Looking forward to the sequel :)

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:17pm

a very funny game. Simple graphs but still lovely. Gameplay is ok also. Congrats

Paulozz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:33pm

I love to be mean! This is very good.
Got some issue with the win version (no sound and missing graphics), but the html one works perfectly fine.

Headmade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Haha so you made an insult simulator? Mee too :D
Your writing is alot better though, so good job.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Pretty good twine project and fits the theme's challenge.

nightlord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19pm

played until the prom queen with the twigs. here's what i liked:
- the music helped the mood
- the graphics are weird but they work
- the dialogue is funny
how this game could be even better imho:
- more still images less animation. the graphics are so abstract anyway i don't think animation helps here
- more roadblocks that don't kill you. so you could go from room to room for a few rooms and engage multiple monsters without necessarily getting eaten or getting past.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19pm

A bit simple but kind of funny.

Druid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:04am

Graphics are indeed interesting, but what i like most was story. I don't know why. I just like when someboty turns from bad to good :D

MFEP says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:46am

+ fun concept
+ well designed monster characters
- not really challenging
- no restart option in the end

nassi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:58pm

I think being a Quite Nice Knight fit me a lot better after all :). This ascends from a text adventure right into visual novel territory.

Of course the setting could've been deeper and the story more elaborate, but it was quite nice even as is.

muromets says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Had a lot of fun with this game, not that making people sad is fun... but u get what i mean :D

May 3, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Great! Would be nice if you could see what you're actually going to say rather than just categories.

KaiseanGames says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Nice one :) I hoped for multiple endings, but it's ok this way too :)

Tom Rijnbeek says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Fairly simple but cool game. The only thing I missed was an easy way to restart the game.

May 6, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Great stuff! Your postmortem link isn't working. I think you want http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/20/not-nice-knight-postmortem/.

panurge says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:15pm

That knight is so mean! Except at the end when he wasn't. I enjoyed this a lot - lovely visuals and audio and some very funny writing. Great work!

Dejvo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:20pm

nice game. I am dislexic, so it was a bit hard to read for me maybe add a voice aswell next time. but i liked the idea :)

spin-down says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:32pm

I enjoyed the writing in this game, it was very well done. The artwork and the kooky imaginings for the monsters was also brilliant.

goerp says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Haha, this was GREAT!
Short and not to hard, which is good on a last evening of Ludum Dare, the graphics I wasn't so sure about when I same them little, but I like them.
Funny, nice story and most original I've seen.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]