Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Allergy Assassin

by Ash K - Jam Entry

NOTE: You WILL need a pen and paper for this! There are multiple possible scenarios.

Dastardly Holdings LLC is one of the biggest criminal organizations in the world. Their criminal dealings reach every corner of the globe.

However, they are far from the only criminal superpower. Recently, a deal between Dastardly Holdings and European Allied went south and the EA reps want blood. Rumor has it that DH will be sending a high-level rep to a dinner gathering with 4 other business superpowers.

You have been hired by European Allied to infiltrate the gathering dressed as a caterer, to discover which of the reps are from Dastardly Holdings, and to eliminate them

You must solve logic puzzles to figure out what sort of trap to set to discreetly eliminate your target, using their allergies against them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#49Theme(Jam)4.13
#213Humor(Jam)3.47
#234Innovation(Jam)3.55
#324Graphics(Jam)3.68
#374Overall(Jam)3.38
#473Fun(Jam)3.13
#520Mood(Jam)3.05
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

ZQMony says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:21am

Very fun and unique game. It's just on the short side.

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:22am

Really great! This is a very original take and one I would never have thought of, it's pulled off in an interesting way too. Really great job! :)

Mony says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:22am

Very short, not a terribly great amount of functionality.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:24am

This game's pretty neat.

I'm not entirely sure there's enough information to figure it all out, but I managed to guess right on the third step. Although now that I look, your third screenshot has the solution in it...

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:25am

Good logic puzzle. Graphics were good. Liked the investigation bit.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:26am

The animation / controls aren't air-tight, but the puzzles are fun. They remind me of Hitman levels!

Tomcat94 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:31am

While it was an interesting concept, I tried to win several times now, even took out a pen and paper and took notes, talked with everyone and checked every coat pocket and piece of paper, but haven't won a single time even when I knew for certain who should have been given the clues. A "This is what you did and who you chose, this is who it was and what you should have done" sort of screen would have helped me see where I failed. The lack of a restart button is annoying, however it's not as annoying as the music.

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:37am

Interesting concept! The music can get a little bit annoying if you can't figure it out for a while.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:43am

I like the game. Just one downside. It's short.

I'll give this quite a fair rating because I enjoyed it.

I'd also appreciate it if you people would just give my entry a go.

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=27330

All nighters were pulled throughout and I'd hate to see it go to waste.

Ash K says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:57am

Glad some people are enjoying it! There are 5 different scenarios here, so if it was too short for you, just play again and you'll likely get a different one. Which one you get is random.

GMerencio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:10am

The character moves far too slowly for an investigation-type game. Interesting concept, though, and a well crafted, albeit simple, logic puzzle.

pkenney says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:17am

Cool idea and nice-looking art. I felt like I was walking around a little too slowly and maybe my memory is just bad but when I had to go back to re-talk to people a few times I found it too time-consuming for my taste, and that prevented me from wanting to reload a bunch of different scenarios.

thejash says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:07am

great concept, wish it was longer. Was a little frustrating trying to figure out what to do but once you get it you just wish it was longer!

retrophantom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:15am

interesting concept

fndy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47am

Very nice, the music is a little annoying

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:54pm

A really great and satisfying puzzle. Really clean and well executed game too. Nice work!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Very intelligent use of the theme.
I'd like to be able to skip the initial text once you fail and restart

aiaf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:49pm

like

samwest says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58pm

omar2

anokta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55pm

hahaha neat idea, great job! :)

Mase says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:46pm

My logic puzzle skills are too atrophied for this game.
I managed to win once using the bomb but sadly I failed to lure anyone into the cat trap. Very amusing scenario.

sputnik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Good theme and graphics!

cdgugler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:02am

Fun and engaging game! I'd play it more if it were expanded.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:29am

Clever use of theme, and nice that random scenarios were included. Might be interesting to add some sort of list to keep track of which ones were solved (or make it level based with different background stories for each case)

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:55pm

i love the animation..

Foxarya says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:42pm

I'm with this guys, it's too short

bonus1up says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:10pm

funny how the story background is sooo similar to our entry! congrats!

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:26pm

The theme interpretation is very original, and I liked the game mechanics as well, but it took me several tries to figure it out. And I'd like a list of organisations invited.

Graphics are good, but Z-ordering is messy sometimes. Al8o, "s" look8 like "8".

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]