Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Inkpen and greens

by petitpois - Compo Entry

Inkpen and Greens
Inkpen has a pet pieve for spelling mistakes. Get through the level by correcting or ticking the words you see within the time limit.

Rules
If you think that the word is spelt correctly throw a tick at it, if not throw an ink splodge. If you get it right all is good if not they turn nasty and throw question marks at you which decreases your ink catridges.

Controls
Move - LEFT,RIGHT ARROWS
To tick - LEFT ALT
To correct - LEFT CTRL
Jump - SPACE


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#322Innovation3.44
#372Theme3.56
#625Graphics2.94
#929Fun2.53
#950Overall2.69
#2008Coolness30%

Comments

Sverik says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Looks interesting, but for some reason I do not see anything in the white banners that the question marks are holding. Perhaps it's because I'm running it with Wine in Linux.

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Interesting setup (the pen is just as mighty as the sword!) but for me the Right Ctrl key did not register, hence I sucked at the game ;) Still, the need to do both platforming and spell-checking at the same time is somewhat challenging, albeit the platforming could benefit from not being as zoomed it. Nice game!

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Very nice idea, and nice look to it! I wish it was a bit longer.. Would have preferred to play it a little bit more zoomed out, with some more overview. But nice job :)

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:51am

I liked the idea and art style.
The control could have been tightened up, the jump was frustrating. Couldn't really see much as the viewing field was too small.
But nice use of the theme.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:12am

For some reason RIGHT CTRL didnt work for me, but I think it was mapped into left ALT. Anyways I've enjoyed the game.Good Job!

petitpois says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:39am

thank you for the feedback - especially regarding the user interface. :d

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:01pm

I like the concept, but had trouble knowing what to do at times.

petitpois says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:30am

Real sorry there is a typo instead of right CTRL it is Left Alt

L0N3 W0LF says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Interesting concept and art, great work :D (i need to know more English words tho xD)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]