Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hive Mind

by knarf2011 - Jam Entry

In this 2D platformer, you don't run very fast, nor does your character have any fighting ability. However, you do have one thing on your side - a swarm of nanobots. Moving your character with WASD and the bots with the arrow keys, use the swarm to defend yourself and create platforms where there are gaps you can't jump.

Created by Frank Duggan, Noah Plotkin, and Dan Howard; this was the first Ludum Dare for all of us

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#144Innovation(Jam)3.71
#170Theme(Jam)3.83
#725Graphics(Jam)2.86
#727Overall(Jam)2.97
#845Fun(Jam)2.57

Comments

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Fell through the floor trying to read the instructions :p 1,2,3 keys don't seem to work

UKCoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Very interesting game. I loved the concept and how it's balanced so that the further away the swarm moves, the less coherent it's movement becomes making it harder to damage enemies from a distance. Very clever.

Only thing I would have done different is perhaps an optional control scheme. Using 1/2/3 to activate the abilities felt a bit awkward, as I couldn't change what the swarm was doing quickly. Think it'd be nice to play with ASDW for movement and mouse for controlling the swarm, with left click to form a block, mouse movement always controlling the swarm and you could then even have right mouse button for another ability.

MrSchlag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Nanobots are super cool but i'm stuck at leve2...

shrapx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:27pm

I like the concept, and the hive movement, and the scripted introduction. On The 2nd level I cant see the hive on top of the dark background tile, and the hive does hardly any damage to the bats. I cant get any further :(

knarf2011 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Thanks for all of your comments. We've split Level 2 into two levels and made the background brighter so you can see the swarm.

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:32am

Really like the idea behind this one, the swarm doesn't seem to do what i tell it to sometimes, but a pretty solid game overall :)

Teesquared says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:47am

I like the nanobots idea. Good take on the theme. I felt the game was a bit too frustrating for me but I kept at it. Finally got the bots to work and it was cool. The white instructions on the blue background are difficult to read.

phi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:12am

Awesome concept! The controls are almost unbearably inconvenient. It would have been much nicer to use the mouse, as UKCoder pointed out. I just can't coordinate my fingers over 11 keys at the same time... Cool visuals though!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:13am

Using the swarm to create a movable block is clever. Allowing a little more time on the block would be nice. I was thrown off by the intro but once I understood the swarm, I really enjoyed the mechanic.

morazor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:13am

I like the idea, it's really original and interesting!
I found controls a bit odd anyway... if you intend to target it to PC players, it may be nice to use the mouse to control the nanobots swarm.
Good job anyway!

Ryusui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Cool premise but needs some tweaks to the controls.

Bishkip says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:26am

Pretty cool idea, love to see more abilities

xbcw says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48am

The nano-bot swarm is a fun mechanic.

Dynad says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Very interesting mechanics, using the swarm as a cube aint so easy to get somewhere.... sometimes the modes don't switch all the time when I press them.. with the dark background palette is was pretty hard to notice enemies.. overall.. good work!

GameQuester says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Nice idea for the theme. Controls could need some adjustments. Well done.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Very fun and interesting mechanic. It's a great idea.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:44am

great swarm!!! lol..
but so hard to synchronize the player and swarm... i wanna fly away with the swarm...

jmborden says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Keys don't seem to work.

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Great idea with the nanobots but was confused about when a mode was actually active as the 'bots didn't seem to react at first. Took a while to figure out solid mode (actually thought it clever and frustrating at same time that you could fall through the solid mass)... a subtle change in 'bot color might help with showing player the mode they're in. nice graphics.

kunzbe says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Really cool idea with these nanobots. I think this has potential.
But the controls were a bit off and stiff. for example it was a bit frusting that the solid block of nanobots only kept like half a second when jumped on...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]