Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Super Space Toaster

by Alpenter - Jam Entry

In the year 30xx, the evil space fleet of Kitchen Utensils and Jam (KUJ) is really determined to murder you to death until you die. Good thing you (The Toaster) are heavily equipped with toast bullets! PACKED full of intense action and a thrilling and touching love story.

Alright, look. This is just a game about a space toaster shooting kitchen utensils and jam with toast. There is no love story. I'm sorry I lied to you.

Anyway, can you beat the evil jam boss?
...I can.

P.S. Did I mention this was my first entry and "complete" game. Any feedback would be very welcome!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Music Credits! (Because I can't make tasty jams for a game jam game!)

-Game Music: http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/486502
-Boss Music: https://soundcloud.com/8bitchiptunes2/goto80-minipitt-atari-st-edit
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
*UPDATE*
Yes, an invincibility period would be nice but, it was something my baby game developing skills could not figure out!

A post-jam version with a lot more stuff and fixes is definitely planned! (For IOS maybe?)

??? - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Cm7tv5cM8g

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#253Fun(Jam)3.41
#296Humor(Jam)3.31
#409Theme(Jam)3.50
#414Mood(Jam)3.21
#482Graphics(Jam)3.36
#514Overall(Jam)3.22
#935Innovation(Jam)2.26

Comments

mojoman3 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:15am

this game is so good my pussy is moist and all i can think of is putting toast in there to satisfy the urge...

jovoc says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:26pm

The os/x download only contains a windows exe, couldn't run it, sorry..

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Really cool aesthetic. I like the attention to detail like the smoke trails from the toast and the particle effects. It really added to the game feel.

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:41pm

I liked the music, it was pretty standard in terms of a top scrolling shooter but it was fun!

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:43pm

This game has some great graphics and the music suits the game perfectly. My only complaint would be that it gets hard rather quickly, and when you spawn you can die almost instantly, perhaps if when the player spawns back in, you gain invulnerability for 3 or so seconds.

-Neith

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Very nice use of the theme.

Jajo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:49pm

I really did enjoy this game. I found that if I hid in the bottom right corner, I could survive a while, maybe put more enemies there? Great game.

Alpenter says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Well, Javo, you must of got lucky! The enemies are random as to where they spawn and as to what they are! I'm glad
you and all the others are enjoying my nonsense! :D

Alpenter says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:17pm

@Jajo Oh God.... I misspelled your name, so much for attention to detail. :\

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Fun game and it feels nice and complete! I didn't make it to the boss, I hope it involved Jam.

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Fantastic game! Graphics and sound were great, theme was hilarious, all good. The boss was annoying, though. I spent the whole level on the right-hand edge, since it seemed to be safest. But then there was a huge wheel of jam in the middle of the screen, and the boss stayed in one place, so I couldn't hit him. Eventually I snuck into the circle, but when I died, I ended up back on the right edge and kept getting hit too fast to react.

So I guess I'd recommend some mercy invincibility, and maybe some more action on the boss? It didn't seem to do much, and I'd rather fight the boss directly than die to the same enemy spam that the whole level had.

Those are minor nitpicks, though. Great game.

mockthebear says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:53pm

some times i cant hit the objects that are too near of x=0

Alpenter says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:26pm

@mockthebear I'm not sure what you mean... Could you explain in a little more detail? That would help!

jcsirron says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:15pm

This is a cute little space shooter. I like how you shoot toast. The music was a bit much at times, though.

jplur says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:03am

This confirms my suspicions about spoons :)

Null DIES says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:40pm

This game has some potential, and it's very good for a first entry and first complete game! (our game was also the first LD entry and first complete game :D)

I found a small bug though, I pressed Alt+Enter which made the game full screen so it was wider than what you designed, this made me go outside he play area and avoid all enemies, it seems that you limit the motion with the screen bounds and not the bounds you designed for, I had to go to the registry and remove the player prefs to get it back to how it's supposed to be :D

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:01pm

A callback to Flying Toasters? Well done. :)

Qui says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Fun little game

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Super toaster makes me super hungry. Going for some toast now. Thanks for this fun contribution :)

slowfrog says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Nice shooter. The unconventionality of the weapons is more in the visuals than in the principles (shooting is still shooting).

Catwheel says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:25am

a lot of nice polish went into this :3

MonoS says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:57pm

The game become very caothic near the boss due to the lack of upgrades and vertical movement.

The graphic it's pretty good and good use of the theme.

My greeting for your first game.

Skiddings says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Needs a highscore system! But it's fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]