Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SPELUNK!

by gil_villarreal - Jam Entry

SPELUNK!

A futuristic adventuress/spelunker sets out with her faithful companion 'Spelo-Bot', and her trusty plasma cutter (an unconventional weapon indeed!) to dig deeper and deeper into the earth in search of gems and other artifacts! See how deep you can go but be careful, who knows what waits for you deep underground!


CONTROLS

Arrow Keys - move the heroine
1 - deploy plasma cutter
Ctrl - charge and use your plasma cutter
Q - Quit


PLAYING

Use your plasma cutter to begin digging into the map. Look for crystals to increase your score and feed SpeloBot. Watch your HUD for feedback on your plasma cutter fuel cell levels, if it runs out your stuck! Pickup the Fuel Cells (grey box with purple energy accent) to replenish you cutter.

You will get hungry as the game progresses and as shown by your Food meter. Find a deluxe chicken meal to replenish your strength.

How deep can you get? The Depth gauge is scaled to the height of the player (6ft), so a mile down is relative to her size (1 mile = 5280ft).


KNOWN ISSUES

The jumping is a bit touchy and stunted. We wanted her to be able to jump further and in a nice arc, but that was not tuned in time for release. The grappling/cable gun that was planned and is available in the inventory, was never implemented. This would have allowed the heroine the ability to backtrack and climb upwards to visit areas that she passed going down.


CREDITS

Gil Villarreal - Engine / Game Programming / Game Design
ShroomArts - Pixel Art / Animation / Game Design / Splash Screen
W. Gregory Turner - Music
Nicholas Villarreal - Game Design / Mac conversion


POST-MORTEM

Check out our post-mortem at the link below.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#286Graphics(Jam)3.75
#627Mood(Jam)2.91
#843Humor(Jam)2.13
#882Theme(Jam)2.70
#919Overall(Jam)2.70
#971Innovation(Jam)2.14
#984Fun(Jam)2.27
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Cool game! Nice presentation, I'm particularly liking the pixel art graphics and the ambient music. Found the jumping control to be a bit fiddly. Good stuff overall though.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Thanks Arcturus! Appreciate your comment. Yes, the jump is definitely fiddly and was high on my tuning list on the last day...and of course I never got to it! Thanks for your positive feedback on the other aspects. Cheers.

molecats says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:08pm

<3 for female protagonist!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:06am

Thanks molecats! We like our heroine too!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:29pm

It's clear you really overreached with this one, which is a shame, since what you do have is pretty neat. The sprite work is top-notch, and the music is pretty atmospheric too. Procedurally generating a map like that takes a lot of work, and it looks like you used your own engine for it too!

You had a lot of good stuff going here, it's just a shame so little of it got finished. Good luck in your future jams though, I'm sure you learnt a lot from this!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Thanks RockHopper! Really appreciate the feedback. Everything you said is true. We have learned a lot from our 1st LD and we look forward to the next one. Cheers!

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:02pm

You guys did quite an amazing job for a first Jam, I really like the female protagonist, the sprite art is indeed top knotch, and the mechanics really suggest this game is a good candidate for a post jam work to turn it into a commercial title!

DKoding says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Tried to hit one but hit q several times and quit the game instead. What was the point? I could drill down and down but nothing really happened. Should have removed the grappling hook if it could not be used. Unable to pick up anything. Unable to jump, what is the jump button? Looked good though and I liked the infinite cave.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Great visuals. The music lends a nice mood. If only the game were playable. This was definitely an ambitious attempt, and kudos for the cavern generation. I hope you all get something more playable next time! See ya then!

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:13pm

The game has a lot of potential, but it's a bit too buggy for now :P The music is awesome though !

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:22pm

I hope you'll develope this further! The concept, graphics and sound are just great and the gameplay is addictive. Please finish this and send me a message :D

NoWandStudios says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:45pm

I liked the idea but the actual gameplay is quite boring for me. On the other hand, the graphics are so cool!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:35am

graphics and music were great - controls need work

01101101 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Cool art and mood, but gameplay is a bit poor, and as mentioned above, jumping is not really an option ^^
I only tried the jam version, might try the indiecade one later, as this has potential.

May 11, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Thanks to all of you that played and critiqued our game. We received a lot of good feedback and I think the bottom line was the hero controls were the stumbling block while the visuals and audio were appreciated all around. We will learn from this first attempt and our next LD offering will certainly reflect our commitment to developing fun, intuitive, and aesthetically appealing entertainment software. Cheers!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]