Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Eraser

by celisoft - Jam Entry

In this game, the unconventional weapon is an eraser used to help the girl in the sheet of paper. You have 15 seconds to jump into the hole and there is 10 levels available (more will probably be added after the jam).

For technical interested people, the game has been created in C++11 with SDL2.

Hope you will enjoy it ;-)

--[ Post jam information ]--
A web version is now available here: http://celisoft.com/games/eraser/web/

The C++ version will be updated after votes end with :
- A/W/S/D keys to control the hero (arrow keys will not be removed),
- Bugfix on a not correctly closed pointer,
- Erasing algorithm will be improved to avoid lag on some computers,
- An icon will be added for the Mac OS X and Windows version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#296Theme(Jam)3.68
#474Innovation(Jam)3.15
#503Audio(Jam)2.79
#538Mood(Jam)3.03
#629Humor(Jam)2.62
#785Fun(Jam)2.66
#800Graphics(Jam)2.67
#810Overall(Jam)2.86

Comments

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:40pm

the animations wasn't that smooth, but good ideia and musics =)

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Fun game! The choppy animations didn't detract too much from the game play, nice job with the art and level design!

ashtonharding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:12pm

This was interesting. I really liked the ability to erase enemies, and it was pretty fun to fall on enemies and erase them before getting their hitbox.

UKCoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Yeah, also found the animation to be a bit jerky and also the game time ran out before I'd properly figured out what to do.

Very interesting concept though. I think if you developed the game a little further it could turn into something very interesting.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Interesting idea. The mechanics and animation were a little clunky, but good work nonetheless!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:38pm

The tile-based platforming was something I haven't seen before, and it wasn't immediately obvious that you could go directly up through platforms. The mechanic is nice, but doesn't seem to add much to the gameplay.

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:27am

Cool game! Great job teaching the mechanics.

Reccy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:28pm

It's a cool idea, but the jerky movement and animations make it kinda hard to play. Good work though!

Horsed says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Nice idea! I like the meta level, that the pencil brings. There is the character and the guy playing the game. For me as right-hander I would prefer WASD movement.

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:42pm

It's odd having the char move around on fields a plattformer. I like the style of this game, but i would recommend having a more simple eraser (not a sprite of an eraser in a 3D program) to make the art style more consistent.

Paulozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Good idea, but the controls (jumping) is very hard.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:18pm

The jerky platforming was jarring at first, but then I realized it's sort of an evolution of the handheld LCD games from the '80s and early '90s! It would be nice to restart a level when the player dies, instead of having to restart the entire game.

celisoft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Yes @TheMeorch, in fact I'm a big fan of Bubble Bobble and these "jerky" moves are inspired by it.

Thank you all for your comments.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:54am

2 spooky 4 me.

drludos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Interesting entry! I like the "game & watch" art and movement style a lot :)
The core gameplay is interesting, and the levels you designed offer a smoothly increasing difficulty curse. I also like the humor in the game (Splash!)

My only complaint is about the fact that we cannot restart at the last level when we die - It's very hard and frustrating to have to redo all the game from the beginning, especially when we discover a new "enemy" or a difficult level - I hope you'll do a "post-compo" version with unlimited continues, so your game can also be enjoyed by non-hardcore gamers! :)

reiknight says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Wow, the idea is original, and the execution is very good.

Coban31 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Assez original! Les déplacements sont assez déroutant au début mais on se retrouve assez vite a enchaîner les niveaux, même si le pire ennemis reste le temps !!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Interesting idea, but I wish the movement was smoother and there was more to the erasing than just clicking on everything you can see.

Jokerbomb says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:42am

I really liked the art made for the game, with the method of movement, the game definitely invoked thoughts of the Game and Watch games. The controls still made it really rough to play and hard to complete some of the platforming.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:10am

Very cool idea. I had to adjuste to the movement because the character jumps from one position to the next. But after I managed that I had a lot of fun. Would have been greate if you could continue in the level you died and not have to start all over again. Cool entry :)

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:31pm

The idea didn't really work for me, I just didn't like it. And it was dreadful to play all over with any death.

elefantopia says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:40am

Interesting idea. The controls could be smoother. The graphics were simple, but it works. Maybe the game texts could be clearer/cleaner.

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:46am

looks cool, but the controls didn't really work for me on OS X

Reaper says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Great idea for the theme! liked the graphics but the animation could be a lot more smooth

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]