Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Eurovision: world domination through the power of song

by Tijn - Compo Entry

EUROVISION: WORLD DOMINATION THROUGH THE POWER OF SONG

In this game you are the leader of a European country who wants world domination. But such things can't be done alone, so you need friends.

Instead of going through the boring route of diplomacy and politics, you will be using a more UNCONVENTIONAL WEAPON: your voting powers in the Eurovision Song Contest to gain the favour of your fellow European countries (and Australia).

By awarding countries with many points, they will like you for it and return points back the next year. Can you form a big enough power block to win the Eurovision Song Contest? If you can do that, the world belongs to you!

---

HOW TO PLAY:

By giving many points to a country, you will befriend them and they will return the favour in the next year. So by strategically awarding points to the countries you want in your group of friends, you can manipulate the results in the long run and eventually become winner of the Eurovision Song Contest and thus the world.

---

This is my first entry for Ludum Dare. I'm not really a game developer, so I created a website instead. I hope it works, because the code isn't that great. If you're having trouble, maybe trying a different browser might help.

The game depends heavily on music (it's a song contest after all). I've created a lot of songs during this weekend for this game, so please turn up your speakers and enjoy the beautiful Euro sounds.

---

All code, art & music has been made by me during the weekend of LD32.

The sound track is on Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/martijnwf/sets/ld32-eurovision-world

I used http://www.bandnamemaker.com and http://www.songname.net to generate the random band/song names that are shown in the game. I tried my best to remove any profanities from the generated names. If you do come across a name which offends you, I'm sorry about that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio4.64
Coolness89%
#21Humor4.13
#122Innovation3.82
#234Mood3.35
#434Overall3.30
#490Theme3.42
#779Fun2.79
#801Graphics2.63

Comments

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:09pm

You made all these songs in 48 hours? Very impressive! Loved the little animations too!

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:15pm

As a fan of the eurovision song contest this makes me smile. And as a spanish guy, this game is so realistic, i don't win with spain a single time!

Good game to be the first time :)

Muffin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Hahaha these songs are fantastic, nice way to aproach the theme. I never got alot of points though :( Im glad this was quicker than the real eurovision. Full points for audio and humor.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Interesting idea, but the game feel very burocratic - one round takes a very long time.

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:30pm

This is absolutely hilarious game, and if you don't win on audio, I'd be surprised.

The game play was a bit problematic. I played for several years, but didn't really see a huge rise in standings. I'm guessing that if you rate someone higher than they rated you last year they'll trend up, and if you rated lower they'll trend down, but without some statistics up when I got to voting it was very difficult to determine who I should vote high. It was also difficult given that I didn't know who else was competing, so I couldn't think ahead and hold the better points for the right players.

Despite this I did have a lot of fun playing, and laughing at the incredible amount of strange music you put together.

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Hi dalbinblue, you are completely right about how the mechanic works. If you give a country more points, they'll award you more points the coming year.

You can look up the statistics in the screen between the Eurovision contests. If you click on one of the countries in the list on the left, you'll see a graph of how many points you've given them and how many points they've given you in return.

The best strategy is to look for countries that keep re-appearing each contest. If you team up with them and consistently give them a lot of points, you'll be able to win :)

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Big up to this game ! So much better than the real Eurovision !

Nysten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Finland wasn't included! :( Pretty cool game though, those songs are amazing for a compo entry!

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Amazing the songs, and the mood is very well done. Only problem is that after a while it gets a bit repetitive.

Keep up the good work! :D

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Findland *is* included, Nysten!

There are 50 countries in total. Every time the game starts, a set of 25 is randomly chosen. So if your favourite country isn't included, just refresh the game and chances are it will be there :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Really awesome music, 5 star audio for sure! I really didn't understand what I was supposed to do, but I still clicked my way through and listened to all the crazy music. I really hope those sounds find their way into something!

Hectigo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Awesome interpretation of the theme, and great music! It would be better if it was easier to see which countries are more likely to give points to you, like a colored map. Now keeping track of one's strategy feels too much like a chore, as fun as the game is otherwise.

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:11pm

I did want to do something with the map, Hectigo, but I ran out of time :(

You can track the voting history of each country in the screen between the Eurovisions though, by click on a country from the list on the left and looking at the graphs.

Xgor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:00pm

As eurovision is a big gulity plesure for me I just love the idea to make it into a game.
Very frustrating to try to win as it's very stacked against you.

I noticed a bug when austria appeared twice so they got voted on twice so it would be good to fix that.

(Also if you really wanna go all out with the eurovision theme you should have included bloc voting ;P )

Conk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Brilliant! I finished with 877 points and it took me 8 years, very cool mechanic I've not seen before, audio was also fantastic!

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Wow Conk, amazing! I can't believe someone actually took the time to finish the game. That makes me so happy :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:04pm

You made an impressive amount of music and, if you look at my nickname, you'll find that I'm a rectangular person myself, so this game made me feel right at home.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Wow, that's a lot of impressive audio there. Great job!

benjih says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Absolutely love this. Amazing game! I don't understand the mechanics at all but I still had a blast playing this. Even had a few guys around the office checking out what was going on.

The efforts you made with the music was great. I actually found myself turning the music up so that everyone could here it.

gaarlicbread says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:36pm

I had a lot of fun listening to all the songs. Great job writing those! The polka one made me laugh out loud :)

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Came dead last as United Kingdom with barely any points. 100% accurate simulation :p

jlauper says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:40pm

The music is amazing

Joris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:42pm

An eastern european country (Hungary) won and I came dead last as The Netherlands. Very accurate 10/10. The idea for the game is amazing and very well executed. Not really sure why I lost but I had a lot of fun.

MegaPonies says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:47pm

That was really interesting :o!
Just wish Portugal was on the list

Rulrite says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Such a fantastic idea. I love the tongue-in-cheek humour, and the music is awesome - you really did a great job!

jmf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Great music! Well done for getting that all done in 48 hours.

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Thanks for all the compliments, people! I had tons of fun working on this and it's great to see people are enjoying the results of my efforts.

@Joris: well, you always end up in last place at the first contest. The idea is to build diplomatic relations with other countries by giving them many points. They will reward you the next year by giving you more points in return. If you can build a big enough block of befriended countries, you are able to win the Eurovision Song Contest.

@MegaPonies: Portugal is included! All 50 participants are in the game, but only 25 are chosen at random at the start of each game. So if your favourite country isn't in there, just hit refresh and chances are it will be included :)

drludos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Outstanding idea, and great work on the audio - some of these songs are actually cool - when are you going to release an OST for your game? :)

Regarding the game itself, it's a bit hard to understand the logic behind votes and it's a bit too long as the years go by (maybe doing a "mini-eurovision with less countries each would make the game faster to play), and, as many others, I ended up losing several contest in a row (4 years) with my country (France) - 100% realistic ;).

You should expand the game (refine UI) in a post-compo version, because your concept very neat!

zillix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:16am

oh man, this is amazing. awesome music!

Portals says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:03am

Real nice and complex game! Good job on all music!

qapn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:21am

A unique entry! The best I could do was around the middle of the pack, probably because I'm a poor strategist. Music was excellent.

ninjascript says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Singing those songs must have been a blast. That was hilarious!

zakchaos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Well Done, what a herculean effort of music creation, do you plan on releasing the music for use for games?

Tijn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:57pm

The music is on Soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/martijnwf/sets/ld32-eurovision-world

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Came in last haha. Had a lot of fun listening to all the songs :)

vogon101 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:27pm

LOVE IT!!!!!

micahcowan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Pretty awesome, love the crazy little songs. Obviously since the game's really more about the votes than the actual songs, you could've omitted them if you had to, but I'm glad you spent the time making them, adds a lot to the experience. :)

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:02pm

Lots of music but doesn't really feel like a game and no weapons. Great amount of content for just a weekend, though!

Tijn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:23pm

The power of voting is your weapon, Simian!

rnlf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Finally had time to play it some more, this evening. As I mentioned earlier, the music is just amazing. Knowing how much work that must have been makes it even better.

I couldn't really figure out how to vote to win, because I could not remember what I had voted and what results that created though. I am bad at memorizing stuff :-(

I think the art style is just right for this kind of game, does not distract from the music and is still nice to look at.

Very good first entry, way better than my first entry and it even feels more coherent and thought out than what I make today!

Keep it up!

gnx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:21pm

This was so much fun :D Also very realistic since the great nation of Finland netted something like 12 points all put together!

plams says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Amazing job with all this music!

rxi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Easily one of my favourite Eurovision-Song-Contest-simulator games.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Great audio. Very impressed that you made those in just 48 hours.

nonetheless says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Great job on the audio :)

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:17am

Lots of fun! Took me 6 years to take the top!

I was confused for a short while on what to do (I have a bad habit of jumping in and trying to play before I read any instructions), but I eventually read your instructions. ;)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Absolutely amazing. The music is spot on :)

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Loved the songs. Wish the map would highlight which country I selected. Also was wanting to click on the map rather than use the list. I found myself laughing a lot. Good job.

Smiley says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:51pm

good evening, this is Stockholm Sweden calling. Thanks for a wonderful show.. and here are the votes from the Swedish jury..

Audio and Humor 12 points!!!

Dreauw says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:22am

Ahahah ! This is the best/funniest take on the theme I've seen so far :D
It took me 7years to make my country win, but I'm not that optimistic in real life :p

The work on the audio is just huge. You've managed to put so much diversity.
With the animations, it makes every song pleasant to watch/listen to.

Nice job !

madflame991 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:39am

This was better than the actual contest!

frogcheese says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Okay, this is just simply amazing. The songs were all awesome, the graphics were clean, and as an inhabitant as someone who has read one or two newspapers trying to rationalize why Sweden and our neighboring countries always give each other good scores in Eurovision I found this to be absolutely hilarious.

The only downside was that I didn't get to play as Sweden and receive all those delicious 12-pointers from the rest of Scandinavia because of our "similar taste in music." So this time I picked Switzerland. That's the country we always get confused with anyway. :P

ChronoDK says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:04pm

This is easily the best entry of the 100 I have tried so far! Very original and amazing audio work.

It's amazing how you implemented the strategic / neighbor voting system - just as in the real Eurovision :D

Goutye says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Impressive song work! It is really well made! Huge work, and it is really funny!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:42am

Your game has been rated by our team member Antonin Charvat (music composer). Here is his comment: Since I have never seen any Eurovision contest, I didn't know how to approach to awarding points, but the important thing is, I did have great time playing this game! Every single song is uniqe and original piece, I love all of them so much! It's unbelievable funny!

alyphen says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 4:13pm

You got a lot done for 48 hours - nicely done. It's a little repetitive but the scoring system is neat and the music is decent (some of them I liked better than others, but that's an accurate representation of Eurovision)

goerp says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:08pm

The idea, originality, music all top marks. I also like the very simple graphics.
It's all very impressive.
But to be fair, I didn't have the patience to go beyond two rounds. So maybe gameplay could be imporved a bit, but other than that: very impressive!

matt beckett says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:13am

Incredible! 5/5 across the board.

Sytech says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:28pm

I love this game! Very original idea, really fun and great music (how did you come up with all these songs in just two days!?).
Great job!

Tijn says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:44pm

I first made 12 backing tracks in different styles, which took me a few hours. Then I quickly sang 5 different vocal parts for every one, largely improvising and only doing a retake if I really messed up. So that got me 60 different songs in not too much time.

Then I pitched them all up & down, resulting in 180 different song files for the game :)

NeiloGD says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 6:29am

Nice work :) I didn't find it much fun, but I really appreciate the game. Excellent work on doing all the songs in the period, and great work on the clean style of graphics.

iapc says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Hilarious. Bad, but definately hilarious.

dos says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:04am

wow!

The take on Eurovision is so realistic, from the mechanic to the music itself, it's just briliant. Instalike on Soundcloud. Tenouttaten, GOTY!

Tijn says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 8:01am

Thank you all so much for the great ratings. I can't believe this game actually ended up #2 in audio. Amazing :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]