Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dare To Juice

by Dejvo - Jam Entry

You play as white blood cell saving the world (by that i mean body) with juice!
go and give that virusy jumpy bastard what he deserves.

Made by team of three all within the 72 hours:
Awesome music made by ALEX so go check him out! OR ELSE!!! you will miss his great music.
https://www.youtube.com/user/MusicAlexRichardson
https://soundcloud.com/alex_richardson_music

Less awesome drawings and game programming itself by me, Dejvo
http://gamejolt.com/profile/dejvo/388942/

And finally testing and helper Gobanit
http://gamejolt.com/profile/gobanit/389166/

hope you enjoyed our very short game

check us out on gamejolt http://gamejolt.com/games/adventure/dare-to-juice/62107/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#206Theme(Jam)3.79
#248Audio(Jam)3.34
#285Fun(Jam)3.36
#432Innovation(Jam)3.21
#485Mood(Jam)3.12
#514Overall(Jam)3.22
#620Graphics(Jam)3.08

Comments

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:24am

Short, sweet and all round good fun! Like the music, very relaxing and the idea was novel too :) Great work.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:24am

I like it!

A few spelling corrections: "through" "these" "make sure you" (no comma) "although"

When I was rolling around at the bottom the camera would slightly pan up and down. Was this intentional?

It was a shame there was no end screen.

Crumpet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:43am

Nice work! I'll give you a suggestion of things I would improve in a next version of this game. It may seem negative, but that's because what's good doesn't need improving :P

-The fact the juice fires from slightly in front of you makes it quite difficult to hit blocks beneath you. Since the player is rendered on top of the juice, it doesn't really make much of a visual difference, so you should probably spawn the juice closer to the player.

-The physics could be a bit awkward. The fact you couldn't accelerate while in the air made it very difficult to get out of gaps.

-When the ending screen appears, it should erase the starting screen. Because otherwise idiots like me who never click next on the start screen don't get shown this at the end:
http://i.imgur.com/eEr9HP5.png

-I'm not a fan of the virus health bar turning orange in the empty bits. Make it transparent like the player's?

A solid effort! Well done!

Dejvo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:42pm

@MentalBlockGaming
thanks!
yeah, obviously, english is not language that i was born with so there are a few mistakes, but you'll get the point.

it was panning up and down everywhere on purpose cause i thought, it adds a sort of actiony feel so i locked it on the Juice Carton instead of a player

yeah the UI is shit cause i was just doing it fast at 2 am in the morning just an hour before deadline. but if people would think, that the game is good, i will upgrade it.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Cute game! Was strangely satisfying to dig through the pink stuff. I like the music too. My only complaints were already addressed so I'll just say nice job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Hi, Cool idea behind the game. Health inside the human body. I ran out of enough Orange juice to kill the boss. O no's!. I suggest there could have been some baddies allong the way down.& I agree with the feedback given below. anyhow, nice work

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Sweet game, good sound and mechanics.

I missed restart option, so I could start adain when stuck and don't have a juice.
Also, white blood cell face impression looks kinda evil (=

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Nice little game, and good use of the theme too, but unfortunatelly I always ran out of juice pretty fast :(
Good use of physics too and good use of the theme.

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:54pm

really awesome idea and gameplay :D
good job

ajopart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Short, but totally playable. And fun. Congrats for this first LD !!!

jesterswilde says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Sam, you've got a problem, you need to stop juicing.
But how else can I destroy the Virus!?!
#JuiceLife #Arsmstrong
I did really like mining out my own path, super neat.

leondryaso says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Doesn't work in Chrome 42 (neither in IE) :/
Uncaught RangeError: Invalid typed array length

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:01pm

@leondryaso yeah. Unity and it's webGL is very buggy and it's up to chance when it does work. it worked once but you couldn't move without it being on fullscreen. so just stick to the downloads

monaarc says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I like to kill viruses with orange juice ! I want more

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Cool game and gameplay. Nice job ^^

Luke Nizik says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:36am

I love the idea of healing with juice :) The game is beautiful and works pretty well. Wish u good luck.

louki0101 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Great game, was fun enough that I had to play to the end :)

The movement was a bit ... frustrating? the player seemed a little too bouncy, was difficult to move around in my tunnels.

Brilliantly executed. Loved the juice gun, and the digging.

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Awesome game ! the juice is very satisfying :D

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Very nicely done!

sebasRez says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:24pm

That was pretty intense for a short game, careful with the UI showing up behind the other UI.

DKoding says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:53am

Liked the water effect. Too easy to get stuck if you run out of juice in a deep hole...

goblin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Nice little game, cool music
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Pretty cool. The controls/physics were slightly awkward but apart from that the game was pretty well done.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:55pm

That was certainly an unconventional weapon for a white blood cell! The crunch and plowing through all those things (sorry I don't know what they're called) was very satisfying. And I liked the mechanic of having to preserve the juice through your journey even though it was tempting to just go straight down. Very cohesive and pretty visual style. Great job!

2R says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Simple, but fun. I like it:)

Newt_ says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Nice job! Of course the gameplay could use some finishing, but that will come with just a little bit more work.

nassi says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Short indeed, played trough a few times and on my fastest go I just "drilled" straight down due to conveniently placed oranges. Didn't take many seconds :P. Ran out of juice on one of the tries so a restart button would've been cool. Instead of closing the game when it ends you should've just started it again. Not that many people would've played it again, since the replay value really isn't there.

Moving around was somewhat hard due to the bumby terrain and especially the jump felt a bit awkward as already mentioned by @Crumpet.

Good job on your first LD entry.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:33am

Interesting stuff!

Jwatt says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:33am

This has somewhat satisfying gun physics, which I would figure is kind of the point of the game. Character momentum is too easily stopped by a simple bump in the road, though.

But the game as an experience is just plain lazy for a team with 72 hours. It's like, I'm given this neat gun to use, and then there's really no use for it. You just go down, catch the last few oranges, and win the game.

I mean, you had the structure that the player's travelling to a boss fight. Why not have them actually prepare for the fight with some proper treasure hunting that's essential to winning? Juice just seems like the first of many resources that never got implemented. It's a letdown cause the fundamental "physics gun" idea seems polished enough and would've had a lot of potential.

Dejvo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:29pm

@Jwatt First of all, only i was actually making and coding the game. I had a sound guy who did the sounds (go check him out) and a friend who tested it and helped me with some math and physics problems. but the game itself was just me.
I actually wanted and planned to add orange grenades, better AI, some obstacles and mini-bosses along the way, but i just did not have time for that.I finished it 10 minutes before the end and those 10 minutes were for testing and packaging.
I worked fully for the first two days (with some sleep of course). but on the third day, i got really sick cause i ate something bad and i could not think or write code.
I'm kinda happy that i managed to do it to this stage and people seem to like it a lot.
But yeah, i am going to continue work on that. There will be new mechanics, polished platforming and other things , bunch of new levels and much improved AI and UI.
So, if you liked the idea and see potential and want all that polish, follow the game on gamejolt to get notified of updates http://gamejolt.com/games/adventure/dare-to-juice/62107/
And, thanks for feedback

Jwatt says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Fair enough, thanks for clearing that up. And don't you drop this yet, the improvements you're planning sound legit.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Ha, fun game, nice little mechanic :)

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Really fun game, I enjoyed the music and sound effects too. nicely done :D

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:02am

Interesting little game. It's always fun to kill cells with orange juice. :D I liked it.

Omiya Games says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 12:06am

I was struggling while playing this game. I wasn't sure when the white blood cell jumped, there were any aerial controls. I also didn't like it when I got stuck between two platelets, and couldn't get rid of one of them well.

Still, I think the short length helped it. Kind like the Mr. Driller aspect of the game.

Dejvo says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 6:44am

@omiya games there were a little areal controls just so it's not frustrating to move around but also keeps a closer resemblence to reality. cause in real, you can't move whilst in the air. i might amp the movement a little. well, you always can get rid of them. just spray juice at them ;) i don't know how exactly to fix that...

yeah, the shortness helped it while it's not polished but i'm gonna polish it and makeit into a full proper game :)

May 3, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Very cute little game :) Would love to see this deved further

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Decent little game, nice effort. With some more features in the levels it could be pretty interesting.

May 4, 2015 @ 7:02am

short, but has an interesting mechanic.

May 7, 2015 @ 4:44pm

"This game is not biologically accurate." What? Which bit?

Hehe, good job, though. Short but funny. Any reason you removed humour from the categories? :)

I thought I'd respond to your comment on my game, here, too, seeing as chances are you wouldn't see it if I did so, there. There is no need to catch bullets by clicking on them, which could make things seem far harder than they are if that's what you were trying. You can slow time by clicking and holding, the--still holding the button down--drag the cursor over bullets to grab them. If you didn't realise this before, it should make it much easier to play, allowing you to get through to some of the more interesting parts of the map. :)

May 7, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Thanks! :D

There is a different way around. No need to struggle on the ridiculous shielded turret. One the other route you will find this (spoiler): https://twitter.com/JoeCreates/status/592796418894655490

May 7, 2015 @ 7:49pm

I think a reply is in the works for the new site. :)

The guy in the video only did that on his second run. You do not need to do that, in fact I intended players not to. He just wanted to show off, I think. ;)

You do not need to go past that turret. Try to find the other route around (go back down, then up and right), and you'll eventually find the upgrade to be able to kill shielded turrets. :)

Druid says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Wow, most relaxing game here! This one is not too original, but gameplay is awesome and chilling!

Zeriver says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Solid game with nice mechanics. Shame it's so short but still entertaining experience.

Gunzil says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:25am

I was unable to kill the guy at the bottom. We both ran out of health and nothing happened. Uncertain if intentional.

I enjoyed breaking blocks away with the juice, though it could have used some more depth.

The character handles fairly well, I enjoy how they rotate in the direction that they are moving. I managed to get a lot of jumps sometimes if I rapidly mashed the jump button, most notably during the fight if I kept colliding with the enemy projectiles.

Dejvo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:56am

@Druid Thanks! I did not expect anything to be the most of from this game. But why do you think it's not original? I've literary came up with this trough the combination of the first thing i saw at my desk in the morning (Orange Juice) and my love for biology. I personally haven't seen simmilar game.

Dejvo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:58am

@Zeriver Thanks! I am working on much expansion right now even though I probably won't be in the first 100 games. You can follow the game on Gamejolt to see updates ;) http://gamejolt.com/games/adventure/dare-to-juice/62107/

Dejvo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:06pm

@Gunzil Yeah that bug happens in like 1/50 games and I have no idea why. Try restarting it but you've pretty much seen the whole game except end screen :D

Yes there are few bugs like that. You can even fully fly when you hold the juice up and spray it really slowly so it touches you at all times and mush 'w' :D I am working on fixing it right now and adding A LOT more to it. So, if you liked it, you can follow it on Gamejolt to get updates http://gamejolt.com/games/adventure/dare-to-juice/62107/

But yeah, Thanks for the feedback :)

kunzbe says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 1:08pm

I really like the digging mechanism, so fun to dig tunnels like this!

tummyache says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Music and sound were pretty good, the visuals hurt my eyes a little bit. Overall it was fun though. I think if you get to the end without enough juice to kill the virus it just ends in a stalemate, which is kind of a bummer. I beat him though.

MrShoestore says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:08am

simple, but kind of fun. it felt good to play control wise.

Marek Lisý says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Nice fun engine, pity it's too short, but who cares anyway. Nice particles and fun behaviour of the placelets. The virus was way too easy to beat :)

Hej bratia! Díky za pozitivní ohodnocení mojí hry :) Měli jsme přímo v Praze event u nás na škole (MFF UK), bylo nás cca 10. Tady je ohlédnutí: https://gamedev.cuni.cz/ohlednuti-za-ludum-dare/ (na mou hru zapomněli :'-( ). Příště můžeš přijet a makat s námi :)

Forlorn79 says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 1:03am

Just add more to this game and I'll play forever!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]