Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Magical Piano Flute

by lanza - Compo Entry

In this game you play as Michael, a man who receives a magical flute that summons falling pianos to fight the shadows.

Edit 20/4/15: Small bug fix: background images weren't displaying correctly on older versions of chrome. Now they still aren't, but they're a little better.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#14Humor4.17
#23Theme4.30
#51Fun3.89
#60Overall3.91
#101Mood3.65
#116Audio3.60
#165Innovation3.72
#294Graphics3.50

Comments

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:17am

I simply LOVED it !!! So funny! Nice graphics and awesome ideia!

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:33pm

piano killer ! awesome !

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Well-made, neat graphics, cool audio, strange idea x)

ccglp says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41pm

I loved this. The main character was in many comics, killing people (joking)

A game where you kill with a Piano is huge.

Yvanor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Good game ! ^^ Dynamic and funny, well done ! :)

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:36pm

A lot of fun here, nice music and graphics!

fserb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:37pm

so much fun :)

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Excellent. Writing, humor, tone, gameplay. Love it. Great work

TheMessiah says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Wish I could kill the people who didn't believe me :( Other than that, good game, really liked the music.

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:57pm

It was too hard, couldn't get past the third level, but HILARIOUS!!

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:27pm

What I like about this is how smoothly everything responds. I love the feeling of dropping six, seven pianos all at once. When fighting with shadows I feel just the right amount of chaos and control. The game has great atmosphere and is a joy to play.

Some thoughts:
I'm not entirely on board with the pianos spawning with your momentum. The first time that happened, and really every subsequent time as well, it didn't feel like that was what -should- have happened. Like, when I summon a piano, I expect it to drop straight down, you know?

I also felt like the platforming was just a little slippery. With all the small platforms I need to land on, I found myself missing or slipping off more than I think I deserved.

Anyway, great game!

khahem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Very original idea, fun to play, the pianos with momentum are surprising but an interesting mechanic to play with. Good job !

cgriff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Brilliant - you can't beat the very first time you use the flute, whilst stood perfectly still. The sound effect nails it!

Nilq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:03pm

This game is so perfect! I love it!

atrodo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Loved this! It was wonderful. A little difficult because the pianos appeared to inherit my velocity, but I had a lot of fun playing it.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Awesome game! Very polished, lots of solid gameplay, and it definitely fit the theme. Great job!

hellforge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:44am

Best idea ever! We really love the idea to crush everything with a freaking piano! Even our selfs. But hey thats life ;) Very cool game!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Good graphics, nice audio. Loved the idea, UNEXPECTED PIANO. LoL.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Woaaah! This idea is great! Well done!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Really nice idea. Loved the piano mechanic even though it was pretty damn hard at first. I got stuck around level 3 because I couldn't get pianos through the hole because one was stuck there.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Awesome game! Very funny. :)

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:34pm

I LOVE THAT GAME! :D Awesome idea :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Other DiningPhilosopher here, the game crashed on me during the (final?) boss when they pushed me out on the right side :'( Otherwise extremely nice (and hard!). I couldn't stop laughing about the piano summoning. I half-expected the game to end on the first screen, that would have been even funnier :P

Shugor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54pm

This was probably one of the best interpretations or the theme I've seen so far. It's amazing how many different things you can do with falling pianos, and the levels take advantage of that very well. Something I noticed is that if you run off of a platform (or piano) without jumping, you keep the ability to jump once in midair. This is probably a bug, but it makes for some really cool alternative ways to complete levels (like the one right after the city). The only real complaint I can think of is that as someone else mentioned, the pianos being created with your momentum feels a little strange. Excellent job overall~

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:44pm

I literally laughed out loud the first time a piano came out of the sky and crushed me. I honestly don't know what I was expecting.

Mouch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:53pm

I LOVE the idea of crushing people with pianos. Nice graphics and hard to play(positive :D).

reiknight says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:00pm

I was destroyed by a piano falling from the sky ... 5/5

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Really well done, and a surprisingly long game!

dos says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Fun! Gets really tough at the city. Great unconventional weapon :)

jwin says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Loved it! Smashing yourself with a piano right at the beginning is both hilarious and a great way to explain the mechanics of the game.

Miziziziz says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Great Entry!
good use of the theme and great music.
I had some bugs with respawn in the first level, but after that it was fine.
Also, I found it extremely annoying how the piano would 'follow' you when you drop it

May 9, 2015 @ 2:27am

Ha ha awesome! You were able to do quite a lot more than I was able to. Pianos are much more useful than I could imagine ;)

MonoS says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:38pm

I loled pretty hard playing this game.

Really polished game, probably i'll rethink how the pianos fall from the sky because giving them some momentum gave me some problem in some puzzle.

Nice music and sfx.

Got stuck in the second level of the city so i didn't finished the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]