Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Good Grandpa Simulator

by eddynardo - Jam Entry

Help Grandpa lower his blood pressure and avoid stroke.

Aware Childrens!!!Grandpa is alergic to them!!


Music,sfx,textures,3d models and code created from scratch by 2 people

Controlls: "Arow keys" to move and jump, "Q" to attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#101Humor(Jam)3.75
#339Innovation(Jam)3.35
#382Theme(Jam)3.54
#385Fun(Jam)3.23
#386Overall(Jam)3.37
#480Audio(Jam)2.85
#490Mood(Jam)3.11
#541Graphics(Jam)3.24

Comments

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:18pm

I guess the name doesn't mean that the grandpa is good but that the simulator is good :P. That was one mean grandpa after all. The levels were pretty straightforward and quick so I think at least a few more complex levels involving the candy and flying would've been nice. Good job for a jam game though.

ntragas says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Really liked the idea.Loved how grandpa helped the kid after all.The last level was amazing.Good graphics for a jam.I agree that more complex levels would 've been nice!

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:20pm

One of the better I've encountered, really great design, and the theme taken in an other way really great game :)

ss64games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Dang, this one made me laugh harder than any other so far. The third and fourth levels especially were amazing twists on the beginning. I feel that the heart rate mechanic could be improved if when you stop it would recover exponentially faster instead of linearly (maybe use a Lerp?). That way the player doesn't have to spend their time standing around and can get back to playing more quickly; it's enough for them to recognize they need to pause what they are doing.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:53pm

I'm kinda torn on this one since I usually appreciate quick and precise character controls on sidescrollers but having those would hardly fit the idea of this game, so I'll cut you some slack there :)

Other than that, it's a very funny game with pretty decent graphics and sound. Good job!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Fun Game, nice unconventional Weapon, cool music.

Dege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Great Job! The heart thing is really nice!

scorched says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Funny and odd

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:09pm

The heart rate monitor is awesome. First i thought i am losing health, but i was just calming down. Great idea!

strong99 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:02am

Worst grandpa ever! How's he able to jump like that with his heart! :o Too funny, enjoyed the easy gameplay

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:37pm

I liked the progression and how you introduced new actions each level. The kid sound was silly. Maybe you don't have to restart the song every time the level starts, that got a bit annoying. Clever use of the theme and good work on all the models and texturing. Also...jetpack grandpa was AWESOME

Hambone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:39pm

This was awesome! Very funny!!

hrd_games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:49pm

I loved the idea of this game. The kid pushing, the jetpack zimmer frame, the candy throwing, the heart rate monitor. Great. If the heart could just chill out a little faster...

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:49pm

NOOOOO!! GRANDPAA!!!! crazy and funny idea

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Enjoyed the game, liked the humour. The heart rate mechanic was quite clever.

music got a bit repetitive but aside from that I could easily have played more of this.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:15pm

It's not bad. The graphics could be better though and the music is so compressed and repetitive that it's annoying.
the controls could be better, but they kinda work

nov1kk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:53pm

The original idea is great, and the blood pressure thing is cool, but i found the game a little frustrating. The music just pierces my head, and the controls result a little frustrating. I didn't enjoy it, but I'm sure that with more time you'd do a very fun game!

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:49pm

The game is not bad, the idea is good but I can only hit a child and ends? Visit my game, please.
pasate my game and vote. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Zeriver says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Creative idea and decent execution.

Mantlair says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Nice music! Nice models! Nice Grandpa! Concept is good but really it needs some levels. Beside that really nice entry.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:03am

I thought the platforming was a bit overly finicky. Otherwise the concept and execution are amusing.

Enneract says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Nice work! Maybe there was and I missed it, but it would be nice to be able to restart the level with a key-press. It was annoying have to switch to my mouse to restart the level after dying. Only a minor issue though. Overall cool game :)

PlasmaErnst says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:50pm

I like that you have to watch your blood pressure. Odd game, ha!

chromebookbob says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Great concept, the music is hella annoying

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]