Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The unconventional weapon trader

by Prowler - Compo Entry

First of all: This is more a toy than a game.

I made it within two hours and I hope it brings a smile upon your face.

The gameplay is easy!
Go to the website and select one of two options.

One option is to generate a special unconventional weapon for a target of your choice. Therefore, you have to provide the targets name (anything you like). In this "mode" the same string will yield the same weapon. Thus, you can reproduce the weapon names to share them with others.

The other mode will generate random weapon names to entertain you.

That's all!

As I've said, it's more a toy than a game.

Enjoy it and share your very own unconventional weapon with me if you like.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#92Humor3.76
#320Theme3.63
#488Fun3.13
#956Overall2.68

Comments

ALLCAPSON says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:52pm

I should have used this to come up with ideas for my game.

Muffin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:14am

Produces some pretty silly things haha. The 3 way approach makes it more effective than most of the "X name generators" out there, but I lost interest after seeing the A-team deconstruct their van for the third time.

Horsed says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:28am

Thermo-nuclear weapon generator from hell. It gives me so many game ideas, that I had to force myself to quit. Pretty funny toy!

entries.

Overall

Horsed says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:32am

Thermo-nuclear weapon generator from hell. It gives me so many game ideas, that I had to force myself to quit. Pretty funny toy!

HeskHwis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:28am

Great toy ! I like how the words add to the others, making a silly thing that's supposed to be a weapon.

dylanigan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:10am

To avoid future conflicts with your mom, use this!
A black market magnetized uranium-bubblegum.

I LOLed.

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:25am

Good for a good laugh! I am not sure how to rate it thought. I know how to tackle that problem. BRING IN: The last microscopic massacre-candybar!!!!!

Prowler says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:37am

In case of rating issues use my default: 5 points for everything :D. Thank you all for the comments. It's so much fun to read them. Please, keep on telling me what my trader has in stock for you!

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:49am

I really enjoyed using a "prototype of the high-speed javelin-videorecorder", thanks :P
Neat toy :)

Yamzho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Not really a game per se, but love it !

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Funny!

Teesquared says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Just what I needed - "A black market fearsome gattling-avocado" Oh I'm sooo hungry now.

benjih says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:04pm

As someone stated, I wished I had used this before I started my game. There's some pretty unconventional weapons out there, apparently.

Ossi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:25pm

I have a new love for these kinds of games, the silliness never ends! Great use of the theme and really funny, I love this! Fantastic!

zakchaos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Neat Random weapon generator!

kivano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Unconventional for sure! :)

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:52am

Awesome! I loled at the first name ahha

panurge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Justin Bieber better watch out for that crocodile...

I has a lot of fun with this. Thanks!

rantt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:12pm

lol, too funny "The worlds first cold-blooded rifle-hotdog". Very entertaining, nicely done.

Prowler says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:27pm

@panurge ?!? I got "The worlds first stainless-steel-bladed artillery-chicken" for our little friend Justin?

thaaks says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Although it's not a game I had some fun generating weapons to kill most of the things I could come up with :-)
Nice name generator and nice idea with the weapon shop on top of it.

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:34pm

To avoid future conflicts with Junber, use this!
The last steam-powered infiltrator-bubblegum
Comes with two packs of medical strips

okay... very nice "game"

daltostronic says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:55am

nice idea :D

Asado says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:38pm

The infamous homing iron-soda can to take a fat kid out... Anyway, I love that not just the weapon is unconventional, but the actual entry. I also think this is the best use of theme for a non-violent game. 11/10 -IGN

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:04pm

I love weird generators like that :D

spin-down says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Had a good laugh with this. With innovations like this you could easily have a long and messy career in weapons development. Nicely done!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Where was this when I was hunting for ideas?

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:59pm

AHAHHAHAHAHAHAHH
I am using a cold-blooded electro-alpaca :P
indeed got a smile toying with your project :D
gratz :D

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:14pm

@everyone Thank you all for your positive comments on my 2-hour-toy. Believe it or not, I really love to hear that you have fun using it since there's no better thing than making someone smile :D.

@badlydrawnrod, @benjih - Sorry ^^ I'll be faster next time. A friend moved into his new house and there were three birthday parties this weekend ;)

@spin-down - Thank you ;) Who knows? Maybe I AM an unconventional weapon designer? Do you think the media would report an incident with the worlds first chineese machinegun-rooster? ...

@WeaselZone - Me too :D

@Asado - Thank you so much :) I'd say, the fat kid will fall down quickly when the homing iron-soda can hits him on the run ;) I love my IGN score !!! :D

@daltostronic - Thanks!

@Junber - Yeah, like I mentioned in the comments it's more a toy than a game. I hope you had fun anyways.

@thaaks - Thank you! I'm pleased to hear that somebody used the weapon trader MULTIPLE times ;)

@rantt, @Teesquared - Thank you and good apetite!

@rodobodolfo - T'was a pleasure! ;)

@kivano, @ker0chan - Oh, did I mention that all of those weapons are corresponding to real weapons developed by the .|.aC#ebXCA.. agency? WTF?!? They found me!

@zakchaos - At your service :) You know that your name as a target yields "The worlds first thermo-nuclear gattling-octopus" right? Lucky guy!

@Ossi - Thank you for the compliment :) However, you do know what your nickname means in germany, right?

@CodeNMore, @Yamzho - THX! I only wished I've had more time to add more sentences.

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:16pm

@rzfmzn - You're welcome. I got a smile, too. Throwing cats at suicide jumpers! ;)

yuigoto says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:58am

"The legendary italian switchblade-cupcake"? "A black market automatic scanner-banana"!? Hahaha...this is so much fun...XD...generating weapons is quite addictive...and this is bad, because I still have work to do! :P

talecrafter says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:03am

Awesome. There's some hot stuff on sale.
Could, of course, be more game, but I like the idea and the weapon it generates.

jordgubben says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:59pm

This game/toy/thing should be the theme of a future JAM. Make a game based on whatever you get when you put your studio name or internet nick as the target (that way you can not re-roll and cheat :D).

In my case that would be "The world-war-2nd semi-automatic thunder-kitten", with is a fascinating idea.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:38pm

It is an interesting idea. And it gave me a few laughs but unforternatly you get bored of it very quickly.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:32am

"more a toy than a game"
Depends on your definition of a "game." ;)
It's fun. I smiled. Do keep in mind, and perhaps this is just the limited timeframe, that a game that is all text should probably not have grammatical errors, etc.

jakub.gemrot says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:50am

More toy than a game, but hilarious! Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]