Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Judge, Jury, and Executable

by Chadivision - Compo Entry

Your spacecraft's life support system has been irreparably damaged and is now capable of sustaining only one person, not three. The "Unconventional Weapon" is a program on the ship's computer, called "chucky_the_arbiter.exe". Chucky has been tasked with deciding who lives and who dies.

If you're up for some good ol' fashioned dark comedy, this simple game is definitely worth sixty seconds of your time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Humor3.78
#854Mood2.52
#864Fun2.65
#1023Overall2.56
#1059Theme2.35
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:33am

Well you got the humor part down :P
Aside from that, unfortunately it's just a quiz you take. I'd suggest either having a larger pool of random questions for replay value, but really a quiz as a mechanic for a game isn't that exciting. I said 4 stars for mood because the dialogue was well written and the UI/graphics immersed me pretty well.

mcmahoniel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29am

Definitely not a conventional game, but I like the idea.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:30am

that was fun. nice work.

Chadivision says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36am

Thanks. The writing was really the only part I focused on. It's kind of a one trick pony, but hopefully it will get a few laughs.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:51pm

I got some laughs out of it but that's about it. Expand the story and make it into a book :D

calavera says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:29am

Lol! 5 for humor =D

scumbly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:35am

Liked it. Would have been neat if the UI were on a terminal screen -- the star field could be seen through a window in the background maybe? And a little more sense of what the computer "thought" about my answers, maybe a snarky response to some of my specific choices.

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:38am

well...I don't know what to think of this...

jhell says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:12am

Hi, liked it for what it is, gave me some chuckles :). Well executed!

NoxiiStudio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Nice idea, very funny. But... it's missing something else... ANYTHING!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39pm

I dig it! I enjoyed the humor, and I'm a fan of short little experiences like this. The story was original too

Chadivision says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:19pm

@scumbly There actually is some internal logic behind what answers the computer likes and doesn't like, and he has certain biases against certain crew members. Originally there were going to be some mechanics where you can do certain things to get more insight, and use that info to help you choose your answers more carefully.

I ended up being really sick the entire weekend, and this was all I had the energy for. I almost didn't participate at all, but instead I decided to do the smallest project I could think of.

Hopefully I can do something more ambitious for LD 33.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:33am

Funny little game! I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Cnio28O-EgI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]