Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Diȼe

by Tselmek - Jam Entry

Diȼe is my first ever Ludum Dare entry. If you're still wondering about my "weapon of choice" for the game and the title is not suggestive enough, you're going to fight with dice.

I chose a NES style, mostly to hide the lack of graphics as I'm not an art guy and no sound or music is included, as I'm not a sound guy either. Press Space to play and that's about it. Click on the colored dice falling from the sky to get some bonuses.

I'm all ears to questions, comments, bugs reports and harsh critiques.

This being said, enjoy!

ps. The screenshots are messed up because of their size, sorry for that.

== Changelog v1.1 (27/04/2015) ==
- You can collect medals everytime you defeat a monster
- You can press Space/Enter/Down to speed up the credits roll
- Some sounds were added
- The colored falling dice can not fall outside the screen anymore
- Colored dice fall from the sky a tad bit more often
I plan on adding a lot more to this but as the code is really messy I'm thinking of restarting it from scratch to better implement the new updates.

Softwares used:
GameMaker: Studio
PyxelEdit
paint.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#695Theme(Jam)3.11
#735Innovation(Jam)2.71
#762Humor(Jam)2.36
#808Graphics(Jam)2.63
#942Mood(Jam)2.28
#968Overall(Jam)2.61
#984Fun(Jam)2.27

Comments

XeroCake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Cool game! The idea to use dice as a weapon is a good idea. There were some issues with the resolution, but that could be caused by my high DPI display.

Neonian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Very nice animations!

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Great visuals and an interesting concept, though apart from pressing space for the dice results there's not too much for the player to do. Some music would have been nice as well, BUT - this is a great first entry, well done! :)

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Is it just pure luck or am I missing something?

MrSchlag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Okay ! Great animations ! thanks

jcmoyer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:01pm

I like the animations, but there's not much to do. Some more interactivity would help; right now the game just plays itself. Sound would really help make the game feel better as well.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:31pm

@AlexDJones and @jcmoyer Trust me, I wish I had sounds and music for this game. I'll do my best to either get in touch with a sound guy or learn sound design for the next time.

@Jadernak It is pure luck.

@all Thanks for the feedbacks!

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:35am

Awesome!

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Great art and awesome animation! Quite funny too; They're actually battling with dice :D

Some notes though: Does the time or duration of me pressing the space bar change the output. Because it seems I have no control over the outcome. Also, It's not obvious to me how the stats and the colored dice work.

This definitely has potential!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:25am

Nice graphics!

Andrea says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Great idea and fun gameplay! Graphics are sweet too!
I managed to beat a score of 13k by just waiting for dices to fall between rounds, so you should add a cooldown to make sure we don't actually do that.
Great job though!

Psyho says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Nice intro screen. I find it quite funny, that your theme weapon is dice, and the game is pure luck :) Still, it might be interesting to actually add different types of dices and have a regular "FF-style" combat.

taviandir says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Great game for a first entry! Far better than mine lemme tell ya xD
As someone else said, some more interactivity would've been fun!

goblin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:10pm

Nice game, great animations. Good job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:14pm

I liked the art style however it seemed to be lacking much actual gameplay.

Tanser says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:21pm

The unconventional weapon idea is quite nice.

BIZM says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:34pm

This game caused me to die repeatedly.
...
Get it? die? :O
Seriously though, nicely done! :D It was quite satisfying to watch things happen. Wish there was more involved than luck though!

Shivur says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Good basic idea, but this is almost completely random so there's no skill or strategy required to make it more engaging.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:58pm

@MGhareeb32 There's no way to change the output, it is all random. As for the bonuses of the colored dice, you either gain Atk, Def, Exp, Life or Score.
@Andrea Some kind of timer is planned to be added yet I'm thinking of a good way to implement it.
@Psyho I was thinking of letting the player choose the kind of attack they want to perform, but I'm scared it will slow the pace of the game even if it adds more interactivity. Have any suggestion?
@BIZM I was surprised that noone has made that pun till now xD
@all Thanks for all the feedbacks, interactivity is what seems to be lacking the most so stay tuned for the upcoming updates!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:04pm

This was really fun, especially for a game that only involved the click of one button. Thought the design was well executed and the layouts worked. Just wish there was some way you could have an impact on the numbers being rolled somehow. For a first Ludum Dare and not being an art guy you've done extremely well. The landscape compliments the gameplay with the battle scene and dice.
You can also expect your other thing later :)

Catwheel says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:12pm

very hard. Not sure how to survive more than one enemy. cool graphics. Could use a spot of music (but you addressed that). nice idea. good first submission!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:56pm

A solid effort on your first game. I would appreciate more player-agency on the outcome of the attacks. Still, very impressed with what you have here.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Need music there, to have a better feedback when you throw a critical dice !
Good work through.

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:28pm

Not quite sure if there was anything else to the game besides hitting space. Could use some more explanation/mechanics. A good effort nevertheless!

spin-down says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I'm not a fan of pure luck games but the bonus coloured die falling from the sky added at least something to it. The different types of attack were a nice touch as well.

Sharky says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Great first attempt! FAR better than my 1st attempt. I loved it, just wish there was more, Like maybe a save game where you can keep your levels and make it farther into the game and healing dice, and more enemies and such. I think it diff needs a post LD version

cavedens says ...
May 20, 2015 @ 7:41am

Awesome job man. I was really impressed with what you did. As long as I've known you I didnt know you did game dev :D keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]