Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Buffer Overbash

by sbot1101 - Compo Entry

Buffer Over~B:\\$H!@#$@#^DFG$%#*

Two computers.
Hit the other one with your keyboard until it explodes.
Charge up your buffer power to be able to shoot out keys and heal yourself by freeing up memory.

Currently only 2 player - no AI.
Press 'Y' to rematch on death. (or 'N' to return to menu)

Tools Used:
- Haxeflixel, Sublime & Cmder
- Aseprite
- Ogmo
- Sfxr
- Generated track from abundant-music.com
- GXSCC
- Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#134Fun3.68
#219Overall3.56
#228Audio3.29
#274Humor3.27
#291Graphics3.52
#314Mood3.22
#433Theme3.48
#643Innovation2.96

Comments

nightlord says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:07am

interesting idea, although i must admit i didn't quite get the buffer fill attack. i really liked the two computer sprites the most. congrats on finishing it

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:08am

Stellar game. I got to play around with the mechanics a bit, but I didn't have someone to play against, sadly. Still, a great effort. Thank you for sharing!

minnouu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:09am

Unfortunately I don't have a second person to play it with right now, but the controls are really smooth, and hitting the opponent feels great. Excellent game

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:09am

Nice game :) Only one very minor complaint: The rematch text is not really visible after a match because of the buffer overflow

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:09am

Fun game. I liked how the charging worked. Just the controls were a bit strange (just stange not really bad)

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:22am

fun game~! apparently it starts to lag when the screen is full of words..

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Yeah, multiplayer! It's pretty dynamic and fun to play, even if the charge/shoot was too impractical to use.
Too bad there isn't a way to quickly restart the game. Also it got laggy after a while.
Good job overall, nice merge of variousflixel showcases

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Good idea, I had to play alone but I think that it's very funy with someone.

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Great game. Has a really nice 'feel' to it. Good job!

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Pretty good 1v1 platformer fighter. I'll have to try playing it with a friend sometime in the future. It looks like a ton of fun and I love the idea of bashing keyboards over little dudes.

oranebeast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:32am

Clever idea and nice sprites. Music was also good.

sbot1101 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Thanks to everyone for playing and for your feedback! I would have loved to have spent more time refining the gameplay mechanics, but you do what you can in 48 hours :)

nopogo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Cool idea. really loved the fact it recorded every keystroke. missed a play again button though

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:46am

Very fun game, thanks for sharing!
Great work!

grifdail says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:52am

I think the players have probably too much health

Jokerbomb says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:04am

Really neat game and I like how you used the theme a lot. I really liked the keystrokes filling in the background. The eventual lag was my only real complaint.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:10am

Sweet little game - would've been cool if there was some more effects to just mashing the keyboard wildly

Nkoo says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Awesome! Had some real fun playing it, the super mashing loading seemed at first really dull, but when in the game flow , adds a lot of tension and speed to the game, love it !

ajopart says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:53am

Nice job !

yuigoto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:56am

Pretty interesting and nice! Loved how every keystroke gets printed on screen behind the stage! :3

Gameplay feels pretty solid, the graphics are really nice and audio/ost is just lovely!

Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]