Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ted's Quest

by notrorschach - Compo Entry

Play as a pencil on a quest to find his girlfriend who has been taken by the evil number lord Nein.

Letters are your friends and WEAPONS. Pick them up and throw them at the numbers to kill them. Open the ripped page portal after killing all the numbers and move to the next level.

[Controls]

Movement and Jump: Arrow Keys.
Pick up letter: "Z"
Throw letter: "X"
Return to main menu: "Esc/Escape"

[P.S.]

- Fixed the bug where sometimes Ted won't jump even after pressing "space".
- Fixed the camera movement. A lot of reviewers found it annoying and distracting so I had to :)
- Changed controls because some found them confusing.

There are a total of 5 short levels. 5-12 minutes of gameplay. I hope you guys enjoy it.


Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#400Theme3.52
#513Humor2.77
#537Graphics3.08
#611Overall3.11
#678Mood2.77
#714Innovation2.87
#760Fun2.81

Comments

allanolivei says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:45am

Congratulations for the excellent work. The idea is very interesting.

For improve the gameplay the camera movement could be much smoother, the delay between jumps could be smaller and platforms could collide only on top.

Sorry for the English.

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36am

Man, that thing you're doing with the camera, fix that!

I'm sure you fought with that jumping bug quite a bit, unfortunately, it really did hurt the game :(

This was a really fun idea, I enjoyed the narrative that went along with it, and each level was difficult, but fairly satisfying to beat in the end.

ShIxtan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:42am

I really like the art. I found the controls to be just a little finicky. I love evil number nein :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:47am

Interesting idea, awesome cute little game. I don't get the difference between WASD and the Arrow keys. Both seem to affect the player position, yet WASD is making it move fast.

misterwalter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:52am

This was fun! The controls were a little finicky, but it was generally pretty great! I liked the "setting" a lot.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:57am

As others have mentioned, it's a nice idea, but the jumping bug and the camera make it difficult to play. I do like the setting as a series of lines on paper.

notrorschach says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:27am

I guess I was so used to the playing the game over and over again while checking for bugs that I didn't realise that the players would find the camera movement a bit quick.

I'll work on the jump bug as soon as I get back home. I know it hurts the game.

Thanks for playing and the reviews.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:17am

Liked the concept, though the controls felt a little cramped to me. Using the mouse to interact with objects would probably feel a lot better (for me at least). I also felt like the left/right leaning camera was more harmful than helpful, and seemed a bit disorienting. The basic gameplay was fun and the art had a lot of charm to it. Great work!

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:19am

I would have made the pickup and throw button the same key, I think it would make things feel a little less fiddly. Other than that it was quite nice.

Prashant says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:48am

Although I don't mind the camera flip, the controls sure need improvement. The art is beautiful. Wanted more of the story and art. Great work.

DugelStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:14am

great game

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:32am

Nice game, a really good theme and matching art styles. Sometimes the jump&run part feels a bit unresponsive.

factorial says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:36am

Truly unique setting and unconventional weapons! The camera and controls issues have been mentioned by others already.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:36am

Nice work.
But why separate the take (SHIFT) and throw (X) button ? You should put them in an single button :)

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:36am

Nice idea.
Camera movemen could be worked on and that jump was driving me mad, but overall a nice entry

notrorschach says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41am

@Tipyx I tried keeping "left shift" as the pick up as well as the throw button but it resulted in a number of issues. I didn't have enough time to solve them.

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:53am

I like interpretation of theme

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:15am

Couldn't play it - none of the controls seemed to work :(

notrorschach says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:35am

@ManicMiner the controls are buggy but they work. Maybe there's a problem with the browser you are using.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:45am

Great entry! I loved the story. The mood was set right away. Only complaint is the fruhstration when jump doesn't work.

Leon75 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Finished it, liked it in general. But there are 2 crippling issues.
One is the camera movement,
The other one is the difficulty of use for the shift and X interact keys.

Would have been much simpler if X and Shift were combined into one button.Half the time I tried to pick up a letter, it wouldn't work, so I try X, but that's wrong, so I was fidgeting both buttons all the time.

The game idea was neat, a very intresting concept

Zo0MER says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Controls really hard, and camera behave yourself really badly. But idea is good.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Good idea and fun, but camera movement was confusing and distracting. Otherwise, great game and follows theme well.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Cool game. Some of the buttons don't work when your in full screen however.

notrorschach says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Okay. I've fixed the jump bug and the annoying camera movement! Thanks for playing!

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Fun idea. I played it way too long for such a simple game.
10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:02pm

cute and simple graphics and it works well for this game. cool and unique gameplay.

gruhn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:24pm

These evil number =D... A fun game where simplicity is well implemented. And great visual feedback to the player. Good job!

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Not a bad game. The X key is sometimes unresponsive which makes the game annoying, but other then that, not a bad concept and great job!

fixedgerald says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:18am

Cute idea, confusing controls.

Tomcat94 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:53am

This game isn't very lore-friendly. How can 7 work for Nein if 7 8 9?
Jokes aside, I liked the idea and the graphics were nice. The controls were questionable though, as I was initially using WASD but then switched to the arrow keys when I saw how wonky the controls were. The leap of faith was a very bad decision, only because my first instinct was to jump as far as I could, which made me miss the platform almost right below me and outside of view, and I had to do the entire level over again.
When I got to the last level and I was being chased by Nein, I didn't jump at the end because I thought I was close enough to it. Instead I fell into the void and wouldn't restart. It was kind of funny though falling into the void then seeing 9 fall after me.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:05am

Hahaha, well done, works quite well and the pick up system works better thenn expected. :)

EwChap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:16am

Like the overall feel and of the paper, pencils lines etc. the poked hole exits are a nice touch.

Tortoise says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19am

Cool idea, I like how the background matches the webplayer. The control layout could be better (maybe z instead of left shift) and the letters easily falling off got a bit annoying.

terryg says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:15am

I like the concept and the art is very nice for a 48 hour challenge. I found the key controls to be somewhat awkward. I think I would like WASD so that W was jump, S was pick up letter and then space was shoot. I kept having to move my hand. Still I like the 7 ate 9 reference, and having the numbers be bad and the letters your friend. Very creative. Good job.

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49am

I wish the controls were a little simpler. A = left, D = right, W = jump, S = pick up / throw would work great. Good idea for the theme!

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:00am

Nice take regarding the theme. very clever and creative. love it :>

sreejit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:29am

(y)

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25pm

The story behind the game is great, the gameplay a bit boring sometimes but in general a good entry to the compo

Fitscat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Niffy concept (pencil fighting numbers with letters), fun little platformed. Movement was a bit off but I'm sure it's something you could fix up with a few tweaks. Nice game :)

TwiiK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Cool graphics. A bit of an odd choice for the controls. Why didn't you have pick up and throw on the same key for instance?

notrorschach says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:03pm

@Twiik. I tried keeping the same key for "pick up" and "throw" but it had issues and sometimes it would pick up the letter and throw at the same time. I was running out of time so I went for different keys.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Pretty cool visual style and a unique idea. Having to start over if you drop a character is a bit harsh though.

tigerbyte says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:32am

Platforming was a little awkward, but it is an interesting concept. Might just be me, but I also felt like it was difficult to get used to "shift" picks up and "x" throws. Maybe another key combination would feel more natural to me.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:29am

Narrative!
In a gameplay driven experience!
THANK YOU!
Loved it.

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:42am

An enjoyable game. Ended up playing it for a while.
It would've been awesome if there was a bottom of the page where the letters would get if you missed the numbers.
At the moment, if you miss, the letter can fall and be lost forever, therefore you have to restart the level.

Good job! :)

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:46am

<3 the ingame storyline & graphics, controls worked fine, more varied levels would be nice.

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:23pm

I never thought I'd ever be hoping for a pencil to rescue their significant other, or that I'd be fighting a 9.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:13pm

This is excelent. Only need sound and more challenge.

spin-down says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:15pm

I had alot of fun playing this. It was well made and I loved the narrative that followed the player, as well as the cute intro/ending. Good work!

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Pretty cool and funny entry... I felt the theme was not used very well, but other than that it was pretty good. Graphics are nice, and the story is pretty funny. Damn German speaking guys and the girls who love them ;)

Small suggestion, make both pickign up and throwing letters with Z OR X. There is no reason to have different keys for it.

Good luck!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:04am

Really cool graphics and a neat platformer. Pretty fun just throwing those letters!

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Very interesting use of theme! I mean it's like "words are weapon", but letter by letter hehe
Pretty good job!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Nice! The art was very nice and I liked playing as a pencil. Some music would help and maybe Ted could use some items to vary gameplay, but I liked it quite a bit overall.

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:13am

Bad control, but aside from that the game is nice.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Pretty good game, though really lacks sound/music and the control are a little weird. Otherwise, pretty neat idea! Good rating overall :)

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Great art style and nice gameplay idea!

grillaface says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:31pm

I like the story being told in the background but it is a little difficult to follow while platforming. Good job though!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:27am

Interesting premise, 'Words are weapons' right? Was like playing as donkey kong with letters haha.

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:54pm

The concept is brilliant! i love the hilarious ending to the story too.

coderitual says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Nice gameplay and theme.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Really cool game, controls were a little finicky but overall nice entry!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:28am

Nice game, I like the concept and the art style and story added a lot. Great work!

jk5000 says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Simple and fun game.

steboots says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:15am

Cute game, found I could jump/stab numbers to death, was happy.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:32am

Yours was ridiculously cute! I loved the hand made style and paper textures. I really liked how you told the story in the environment rather than interrupting the play. And it finally occurred to me why 9 would be able to speak German :)

lochmann-apps says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Nice one! But bls change from z to another letter for the german users ;)

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Wow this game is great! I really like the interpretation you made of the theme! Also I like the graphic style.
Few problems with the commands combination.. I find it a little odd :P
BTW great job!

23 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Clever use of theme, but maybe it needs some more work? All the letter being the same seems kind of odd and unsatisfying - since you've got Unity maybe you could give them physical properties based on their shape (I or L works differently from O, that rolls etc.).

ThirdMoon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 11:53pm

I like it! really funny! Wonderful mood! =)

pstudio says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Fun little platformer. Love the ending :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]