Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Candy Defense: Legoes

by Flygamer101 - Compo Entry

*****UPDATE*****
The download is now a .zip

In the Magical world of Ludum Dare, Adults are always out for their child's candy. When sweet talking and throwing a tantrum didn't stop them, the only way was retaliation. But hitting your parents was a big no no. So what else could you do?

Then you remembered that one time, your parents stepped on your legoes. They said it hurt bad, and so you had found your weapon!

Controls:
WASD + Mouse - Move
F1 - Start
Left Click - Place Block
Mouse Scroll - Scroll through blocks

Directions:
Get ready first by placing down you bricks in strategic locations. Resupply be touching the pile of legoes in your room. In Casuals, you only get 5 respplies.
Then press F1 to fight!

OR

Just build things(not yet made complete) with your legoes

Happy Playing!
Flygamer101

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#33Theme4.23
#92Humor3.76
#165Innovation3.72
#362Mood3.16
#443Fun3.17
#463Audio2.86
#501Overall3.23
#579Graphics3.00

Comments

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43am

aaargh rar! I will download 7zip and check this out tomorrow

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:26am

The menu is kind of weird, but the game itself is fun as hell! :)

Joris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:26am

I went back to the main menu because I wanted to reset, and then the UI broke. Overall I think the idea is really fun and fairly well executed. Everything works smoothly!

binarycoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:26am

Hah, like the concept!

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:29am

I like the idea, although it doesn't feel like the player is adequately equipped to deal with the adults. Having them come through a single choke point also made the game extremely simple, and it feels like the adults take candy so fast that death is nearly instantaneous when they hit it.

I did appreciate the voices though.

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:30am

Great idea!! I had a good time!

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:31am

Oh man, lego land mines. This was clever and made me chuckle. Excellent use of theme.

Pawige says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:35am

Funny! Took me a little bit to realize that I can restock my Lego supply as the adults are invading. Couldn't get very far either way. :P

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:37am

Very fun to play. Great concept. From a defence games point of view however, the map is not layed out as well as it should be. Large download size might put some People off playing it. But its really worth downloading :)

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:50am

Interesting idea! I like the free-form style of being able to place blocks wherever. That being said, I wasn't really clear on what I was supposed to be defending at first, and then by the time I was able to get there I had pretty much lost. But nice work otherwise! Cool to see something done in Blender!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:54am

Looks like a really cool idea. Any chance for a mac or web player port soon? I wanna play this.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:54am

The game's pretty basic and straight forward from what I've experienced so far, but the usage of the theme is hilarious and I'm hoping there's a few more games like this from this LD. The game is a bit unclear at the start but it's fun for the time it lasts. Good usage of the theme!

breadstix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:02am

Controls lagged a bit for me but other than that this game was perfect in every way.

manabreak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:28am

A hilarious interpretation!

helekopeter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:37pm

zip > rar

handkor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:55pm

You're a monster, that is the cruelest weapon. Nice idea, good job.

snade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:40pm

the idea is good, but I am not sure if I understand it. It could use a tutorial or something.

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41pm

what an idea !!

QuexD says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41pm

THIS GAME IS UNREALISTIC THEY CAN SURVIVE STEPPING ON LEGOS!?!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:22pm

The hitbox on the menu was kind of wierd othervise it was a good game.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:26pm

I LOL'ed. Controls were a little funky and took some time getting used to. 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Well that was an usual experience. As a dad, I know the horrors of Legos left out so... legit.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:52am

This is a funny and clever concept! The game would randomly lock up every few seconds to the point where it was basically unplayable. Which is unfortunately because what I could play seemed pretty fun! The music was nice and the voiceovers were really entertaining as well. Great work!

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Menu is weird, a few bugs but to be expected. I really liked the concept and thought it was a lot of fun. I expected my candy to be my room and is where I initially defended against. Also the adults always went down the same path in the center of the hall so it kind of made a lot of my brick placement pointless. A little laggy when there was a lot of bricks (one time I could only refill twice, the other playthrough six times).

Would love to see more of this!

LukeZaz says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:57am

Gameplay was a bit lacking after I started a wave, and since I never got refills on my legoes it was inevitable that I'd lose within 150 seconds, but good overall.

Besides that, it was very hard to understand the voice clips and 'boss' voice clips would play when there was no boss in play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]