Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The March of Melons

by BoyWithStick - Jam Entry

(Best Viewed in Windowed Mode at 1280x720)

This is my first full Ludum Dare (I did miniLD #58) and my first attempt at a game with animations that I created myself. I don't have that much experience with animation, though I have been working on developing my own workflow between photoshop, blender and unity. So, I spent the majority of my time in blender and photoshop. I didn't get as far with the game as I wanted. Sad to say, but I ran out of time.

About the game:
The world is being invaded by sentient melons after a catastrophic event involving a large hadron collider tearing a rift into another dimension and Dr. W from The Wright Laboratory has given you the only weaponized melon baller in existence that can pierce the sturdy shell of the sentient melons in order to defeat these otherworldly creatures and save the world from their melon...ness.

How to Play:
Run around using WASD and whack those melons by pressing spacebar or use a controller. I'm not going to judge your not controllering of games. Do melons explode with a weaponized melonballer? Let's find out!

Game, Art, Animations, SFX by Me
Music obtained from: www.nosoapradio.us



FOR ANYONE RATING WITH AN ENTRY:
Please leave me a short comment so I can click on your name to go to your entry. I will make sure I play and rate your game, too! Thanks!
(Maybe there is a way to do this? I don't know. I'm new here!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#389Humor(Jam)3.13
#423Overall(Jam)3.33
#431Graphics(Jam)3.47
#563Theme(Jam)3.29
#751Fun(Jam)2.71
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Save the world from the melons and their melon-ness!

Great effort for your first LD, the story made us chuckle and is quite a good take on the theme :D Noticed a few layering issues but certainly with more time could see this as a solid game :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:52am

Very nice job on your first LD! I hope you come back for another one. You might have run out of time and there's not too much to do in the game, but your time in Blender and Photoshop payed off: The visuals and animations are stellar. They are very smooth. Great job!

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:55am

It's too bad you ran out of time, the art and music are awesome! You should have left the audio rating up - I'd have given it 5 stars there!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:59am

I loved how satisfying it was to smash the melons. Great animation!

BoyWithStick says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:59am

Thanks HotBoxGames & DiegoEscalante for playing!

I had a ton of ideas, but yea...not enough time. Too much time spent on learning animation. I am happy with what I was able to accomplish and definitely happy with what I learned from the experience. The game is part of a larger idea I have involving the character in this game, so I will be taking this game up as a main project right now. It was a great time and can't wait till Ludum Dare #33! Thanks again! :D

BoyWithStick says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:04am

Thanks ProjectX593 & OnlySlightly!

I opted out of the music, because it was from www.nosoapradio.com

It would be awesome to do some music of my own, but electronic music creation is something else I need to learn. I downloaded LMMS, but haven't had the time to get into the program.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:22am

Smooth animations. Congrats on a successful first LD.

BoyWithStick says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:16am

Thanks mike.cullingham for trying out my game!

I had a good time with the animations; wish I would have gotten further with the gameplay, but time was against me. :O

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:57pm

The artwork and music are fantastic. I'd love to see where this could go with more time spent on it. Nice work, keep it up!

BoyWithStick says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:47am

Thanks TheMeorch!

I'll be working on the game more, soon.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Nice animations. For a first game is excellent. Good Job!

reiknight says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Your game is simply a piece of art!!

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:47pm

You did a good job for your first LD, I liked the artwork and animation
check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

lamogui says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:15pm

I like the smooth animation of the character very cool. Unfortunately collisions are missing...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]