Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Myland

by Kardamom - Jam Entry

Myland decided to save the citizens of Otherland from the perils of their government and annexes it. However, some other countries do not like it and may impose sanctions. Use propaganda to tip the public opinion in majority of countries in favor of Myland so that sanctions will not be enacted.

Unconventional weapon: media and propaganda.

Should work, although the balance is not great. Not tested in IE. Needs a large screen... sorry, no responsive layout.

Post-LD update: Fixed a bug in game restart (as noticed by uvwar)

Hints:
* Your propaganda income increases over time.
* Web is the only media that affects young more than the old.
* Opinions on Myland spread across borders.
* Larger countries have larger influence on their neighbours.
* You can shutdown any medium to save money.
* Colour of countries reflect their attitude to Myland.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#84Theme(Jam)4.00
#155Overall(Jam)3.68
#191Mood(Jam)3.53
#250Innovation(Jam)3.50
#305Fun(Jam)3.33
#407Graphics(Jam)3.52

Comments

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:41am

Simple but very effective game. Only too gripes I could come up with: no sound (little music and some button click noises would have done the job) and maybe some subtle animation.
Other than those minor things, a very enjoyable game, well done.

Kihira says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:52am

Interesting concept, but extremely unintuitive and difficult.

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:59am

When I plotted to influence just enough to maintain majority in a majority of countries, I felt clever! When I started and while the summit was approaching, I felt unclear about exactly what the victory condition was.

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:59am

Nice light strategy game. Audio would have been great, but it was still really enjoyable. Solid strategy

uvwar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20am

Awesome game. I think I noticed a bug or something where if you 'reset' in-game the game add a ton of variables or something to each country and make the game unwinnable, but if you physically reset the page or were in your first game it behaved 'correctly'.

Split82 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Very very cool. Quite steep learning curve, but super fun later.

rjhelms says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:20am

I always like seeing proper strategy games in Ludum Dare. Good take on the theme.

jakub.gemrot says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:04am

Reminds of the game "Dictator" back in 8-bit era. Some background music would be great to foster the theme.

Tommyno222 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:06pm

I really like interpretation of the theme, I was looking for something like this :) It takes some time to get into it but GUI is very nice. Also I liked news at the bottom of the screen. It would be great if they were presented in newspaper at the end of each month, like the news at the beginning, but anyway well done!

jhell says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:19am

Managed to get 5/9. Pfew!

Very nice game idea, I find the limit a bit short, I would have loved to bring everyone under my point of view that the annexation was a good thing ^^.

Nice graphical polish, liked the style.

Chaoseed says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:51am

It's a very clever idea. The problem is that I'm not sure what the best option is, why I would choose one form of media over another, when I should shut things down...What I think this needs is a bunch of different levels that slowly introduce different options. This one seems like it should be the final level of an entire campaign, once the player has learned the ins and outs of the game.

The fact that you made a game that is playable and basically fun, though, is awesome. ;)

reheated says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:04pm

I really enjoyed this game. It was fun to figure out how my actions affected my popularity. I like the way neighbouring countries affect each other - makes the game into a kind of puzzle where you have to figure out which countries to focus on to have the biggest effect. Took me a few goes so in my opinion the difficulty is just right.

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Very nice strategy game! Using propaganda as a weapon is an interesting gameplay idea. The menus could need some polishing but overall a good game!

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Nice game, spent more time playing it than planned !
It just lacks some sound

sesteves86 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:21pm

I always like strategy games and this was no exception.
Had some difficulty to see how much each media affects the population.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:28pm

An interesting, well put together abstract propaganda simulation.

A few pointers on the interface:
- The automatic news feed adds to the atmosphere, but isn't extremely useful. Clicking on it should bring up a page with all the news visible.
- The start of the turn statistics popups disappear automatically after a second or two. It would be more helpful if I could study them for as long as I want and dismiss them with a button press.
- The population approval symbols seem to be the wrong way around. The progress bar goes from left to right, 100% meaning total approval, but the happy face is on the left at 0% and angry one is on the right at 100%.
- The pros and cons of each media type should be explained. TV, for instance, is the most costly so why should I invest in it? Does it spread propaganda to other nations the fastest?

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:25am

I love to see another strategy game! Your game is like mine but much better executed, well done! I love the graphics and not hiding information from the player (except the effect of each of the media). I feel like the game is a bit short which makes it more intense but a bit less enjoyable and it is actually really hard. Maybe a difficulty option?

Timm638 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:29pm

I liked it.

jhell says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Quick reply to your question on MagDef: the low contrast on red asteroids was not intentional, I guess it looked good enough on my monitor at submission time but my colors may be off x).

Snicklodocus says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:30am

Good strategy game! Simple but effective. It seemed pretty well balanced as well, and was not extremely difficult to get into. Good job!

runvs says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Nice game. Some sound effects and maybe simple music would have added some more atmosphere though. :)

Marek Lisý says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:59pm

I liked it a lot, I just hated the default alerts, they make me sick :D

Anyways, I enjoyed the game and tried to beat it couple of times, but didn't make it :( I just wonder, isn't this Myland country a bit similar to some real country? :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]