Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

PaperBeatsTyranny

by Sébastien Bernery - Compo Entry

In this game, you have to fight against dictatorship by sticking poster on some spot in a city.
Every revolution started with some poster altering people that the government can't be trust ! Or not, but this one will !

There is only 2 level. No time for more.
Controls are classicals : zqsd, wasd or keys. F or SPACE for action and C or G to drop a tool.
If you are lost, use the action with the "!?" cases. It will help.
You'll unlock the Ashament if you have been caught by every single guards.

Press M to mute. Music can be annoying quickly.

Enjoy.

-----
Postcompo FIX : on the last victory screen, text was misplaced (unreadable).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#482Theme3.43
#522Humor2.76
#638Innovation2.97
#701Mood2.74
#721Audio2.28
#929Fun2.53
#958Overall2.67
#1045Graphics2.00

Comments

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:43am

nice concept. a little rought gameplay

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:55am

Overall nice idea.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:56am

Game feels a little awkward, and honestly may have been better without music at all.

trashcan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:19am

My favourite guard is Bill. On a scale from 0 to 20, he is a very good guard.

metalfist213 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:46pm

A little rough gameplay - nice concept though!

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:48pm

nice little game. art is nice, music seems to fit. guards are easy to avoid.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Interesting concept. Crude graphics (the text is sometimes unreadable on the background and when opening it several times it 'sticks'), but at least the controls work pretty well. I did not succeed in using the cape. I thought I could take off, using the road as a runway...

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:57am

The genesis of some good ideas here, with nice little touches (such as the guard names and quotes) but a lot of work could be done on the art to improve the look and feel of the game. Best of luck with your future development!

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:04am

Cool little game. I couldn't really see the sight cone of the guards on a green background. but that actually made it more challenging.

Good work though!

ruerob says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:21am

Nice game. I like it!

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Interesting idea, what was the cape for?

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:51pm

The cape was for reduce the guards reactivity when you walk in their sight (as anyone knowns, it's really hard to see someone wearing a red cape).
Unfortunately, I didn't had time to add game mechanism where the cape is really usefull.

Thanks all of you for your reviews, thanks to you trashcan, I laughed ;-). Ilseroth, I can't agree more, especially on the music, I did it something like one hour before the end with no experience in music (understand, I pressed random notes for half an hour on pixitracker). But I'm really happy just by having produce a music.

Vantaug says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Damn you Irvin!!!
I like that all the guards have a unique name and some detail.

careless says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:14am

I like the idea but am unable to stick a poster? The guard heat is nice as they catch sight of you. The art is a little rough but its a good concept.

Thanks

May 3, 2015 @ 12:51pm

I liked the cone-of-sight thing as well as the one-item-at-a-time principle. The few sounds in the game were quite fitting while the music was less irritating than I expected it from the description ;)

jshaffer94247 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Fun. I actually liked the slower music which reduced anxiety over getting caught. Had some trouble with posters on the 2nd level and have no idea what that red skirts or lampshades are.

francoisvn says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:00am

Interesting idea, but a bit frustrating to have to juggle the glue and posters.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]