Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Propaganda Defence

by scorched - Compo Entry

You're the president of a small country. The citizens are sometimes annoying you with marches near your residence. You must detract their attention by building mind-relaxing services and by using propaganda (unlocked during the game).

Genre is tower defence. Controls are left mouse button for nearly everything (select service at the bottom right corner, then click on the small building of your choice). Sometimes you need right mouse button (where you see green mouse icon). You can also move camera using keyboard arrows.

Built using Unity 3D, GIMP, and "Press Start 2P" font (http://openfontlibrary.org/en/font/press-start-2p).

Update:
- Semi-fixed the pathfinding bug, still occurs sometimes ]:->
- Lowered default resolution for top HUD to fit Ludum Dare webpage

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#615Humor2.61
#862Theme2.91
#1010Innovation2.28
#1012Mood1.97
#1045Graphics2.00
#1070Fun2.13
#1076Overall2.43

Comments

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:19pm

This looks locked behind Google Drive.

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23pm

@TaoPhoenix, thanks, I overlooked it. Seems to be fixed now

haveric says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Seems almost too simplistic. It was pretty easy to alternate items and only rarely switch out one thing for another. The pathfinding seems to bug out a bit on the right top and bottom where a couple guys would get stuck occasionally.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Fun little tower defense game, nice job. There does seem to be a bit of a bug where mobs get stuck behind buildings, so early on one needs to be careful to not end up in a situation with no money and one of these stuck mobs or it's game reset. It's not really an issue later in the game once you have more money.

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Thanks, I consider rebalancing and polishing at some point later. Anyone knows how to fix the pathfinding bug? It seems strange that it gets stuck at static obstacles for they are expected to be taken into account from the beginning

Zeriver says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:02pm

So your weapon is manipulation? Pretty clever.

It's a neat tower defense game, maybe too easy.
Also sometimes citizens get stuck on building.

Arowx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Like the concept, the game was fun but lock up after i played for about 30 seconds not sure why. The little people stopped moving.

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:31pm

@Zeriver, your weapon is *anything* just to keep them away from residence:-D
I originally planed an intro with an adviser saying that you can only use weapons not prohibited by International Conventions, hence unconventional:-)

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36pm

@Arowx, your game looks way more complex than mine. Can you tell where can I read more about strategy game balancing? (for newbie)

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:32pm

fun, but i got stuck with no money (my own fault) and a never ending game (no indicator of my own health or score, no way to restart, no towers in range of the one enemy hitting me.

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:39pm

@EwChap, I see. To be able to view health in embedded mode click "Toggle Fullscreen".

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

sometimes they get stuck, but idea is quite good !

EvilTroopa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Nice idea, respects the theme. I would have liked some sounds and better graphics, but it works :)

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Cute little tower defence - shame about the pathfinding bug, it seems to happen a lot.

Sytech says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Really good take on the theme! Nice graphics. A bit too easy though and the people occasionally got stuck, breaking gameplay in the first wave.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:24am

Very funny game!
And if you'd like it has something to say about dictatorships (of course).

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Clever weapon idea.I really like tower defence games and this is preety innovative :)

ogrepixel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Nice theme idea, the problem is I knew what to do until the 3rd time I played it, It needs more info of how to play. =)

sbarrio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Nice graphics and use of the theme. Awesome entry!

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:43pm

that's a funny idea. well done :)

sydan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:25pm

This is a fun little game! However as some have said it is too easily, sadly this can make it dull quickly, if I had half the amount of money to play with I would have had to really think about my choices, so I sort of played it that way to see what it was like and I really enjoyed it! I like your take on the theme!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:26pm

It would be nice to be able to sell a building, or build over an exisiting one. When a single person who is not affected by the towers arround your base gets there then you have just lost the game. It would also be nice to be able to restart the game when you know there is no winning.

reiknight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Need sounds, the bug of the pathfinding is annoying but, the game is great and curious way of interpret the theme.

scorched says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:37am

@TheScopelessOne, thanks for feedback. You are able to build over an existing tower. Of course, it's available from level 3, when there are 2 tower types for you to choose from. I'll consider selling point though
@reiknight, I plan to add sounds post-compo. My opinion is bfxr sounds do not fit there, so I just went without them this time:-)

edve98 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Very easy- I was only waiting for the wave to pass so I could read what the fuss will be about next time - as citizens were killed almost instantly, and I had tons of cash

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:18am

I didn't want to win 8th wave >.<
Propaganda seemed to not do anything and it was too easy, but still great concept!

scorched says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:43pm

@nihilaleph, why not? :-)
It's activated manually by right-clicking.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]