Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Star seal

by Zo0MER - Compo Entry

You as space seal save the galaxy from attack of illuminati.
Puke rainbow and dash towards enemies to destroy them.

Destroy all big illuminati ships to win

To win destroy big illuminati ships.
Control:
space / x - rainbow jet (push).
shift /Right bumper - charge to dash
a /left stick - turn left
d /left stick - turn right

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#481Humor2.81
#603Graphics2.97
#618Innovation3.00
#634Theme3.24
#739Audio2.23
#889Mood2.46
#976Fun2.42
#979Overall2.64

Comments

Malsanity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:15am

That constant "beep" is driving me mad. Controls are reversed. Unclear gameplay :(

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:17am

It's crazy awesome! I love you man!!!
best ld32 work I saw until now.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:17am

Well, I felt really lost in that game. Controls are messy, sounds are grating, goal is unclear. However, that's really unconventional and respects the theme to me.

Nothing is really bad, just lacks a bit of tweaking and tutorial, or something like that I guess. Good efforts on graphics. :)

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:18am

Sorry, I've got a few problems running the game. With the windows DL, it gets to the main screen and stops. In the WEBGL player, as soon as I press the x button on my gamepad, the screen turns blue.

nihilocrat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:28pm

I like the charge-up attack and how dramatic it is. The camerawork could be a bit better, tweening instead of just jumping around, but it's a neat idea.

frokes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Eh..wut??? A bit confusing but it's a nice idea.
It has potential.

XeroCake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:09pm

The sound was a little annoying, but I did like the seal model. The controls did not function too well though.

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:19pm

I'm sorry, the screenshots are looking very promissing, but I couldn't run the game correctly. In the web when I press start, it closes up the camera to the pig (or whatever it is) and I cannot do anything. When I press controls, the screen turns blue. I tried to download the Windows version, which starts okay, but I cannot control anything (not even click start).

ThommazK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:22pm

I felt really lost in this game, but i liked the graphics!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:34am

Nice game, controls have some problems, but good entry.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:19am

I love the style of your game. Had some problems to figure out how to kill enemies and when they do kill me. Even if the controls are a bit wired they actual add a special kind of feeling to the game and support the hilerious topic. With some more work on the controls and feedback this can get a real fun game. Good job :)

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 4:43pm

This is exactly why I participate in Ludum Dare! Hahaha space seals vomiting rainbows trying to defeat Illuminati. That's fantastic. I figured it out and got what you were trying to do, the controls are ok but I think most people aren't willing to put much time into learning controls or gameplay so maybe next time make it more clear what's happening and how to play? If I got it right, "Wop wop" is Pacman for gameover, and the giant rainbow blaster effect thing that hangs around for some reason means you hit an enemy. Also, the camera could use some work, maybe instead of jumping around, just have it lerp towards a "CamTarget" gameobject and move that around. But for all of its bugs, this is one of my favorite entries. Great graphics, great fun, great job tickling my funny bone, great work!!

Pixel Heart says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Ahaha! Yes! You made me laugh! Big "YAY! for your game!

MrShoestore says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:40pm

I have no idea what is going on in this game. i was making rainbows and jumping around in space. controls need some work, and more audio could be added too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]