Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Right Tool For The Job

by 2Bit - Jam Entry

The Right Tool For The Job is a puzzle game that asks players to complete every-day tasks with conventional weapons, in very unconventional ways.

Controls:
- Left click to use weapon
- Right click or Spacebar to select weapon
- WASD to move

Use the weapons provided to get through the mundane tasks present to you. Get inventive to progress but be warned; using the wrong weapon for the task will result in a failure for the scenario.

Instructions:
Room one: Put out the candle
Room two: Dispose of the dog poop
Room three: Change and feed the baby

It is recommended that this game is played in fullscreen.

A cheatsheet for each scenario can be found in the links section down below, you dirty cheaters.

Update:
The Right Tool For The Job has been updated to fix some bugs and small usability problems. The changelog is as followers:
- Locked the mouse to the game
- Fixed a missing audio file that should have played when starting the game
- Put a note showing the objective of each scenario
- Fixed the FileNotFound error (maybe, let us know if its still happening)

You can download the original version here: http://2bitstudios.com.au/TheRightToolForTheJob.7z
or play the web version here: http://2bitstudios.com.au/TheRightToolForTheJob.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#267Theme(Jam)3.71
#339Innovation(Jam)3.35
#443Humor(Jam)3.03
#489Audio(Jam)2.82
#662Graphics(Jam)2.97
#802Mood(Jam)2.63
#850Overall(Jam)2.80
#911Fun(Jam)2.44

Comments

McFish says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:05pm

The concept was interesting, but to keeps users interest in trying things, the game needs more interactive environment.

ps: It's really hard to play on windowed mode, when mouse cursor is all over the place.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37am

Fun little game.

flukeshot says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53am

Now this is something I can get into

Wayward says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:49am

Nice puzzles! But sometimes failure conditions are confusing and Camera controll is bit sluggy

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:16pm

Mouse controls especially in windowed mode was horrible otherwise great job :)

ruthiepee says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:20pm

LOL, the snarky announcer is so well played. OK, so the objectives were not obvious to me so I'm glad you included them in the instructions. I really like the subtle shader you have on the environment. I figured out the first puzzle but none beyond that so I'm glad you included the answers too, haha. Also, the game works much better in fullscreen, otherwise the mouselook is hard to manipulate.

Luke Nizik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Iteresting apporach :) Cursor isn't locked so it quite unintuitive.

Iak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:49am

Great voice acting there. The controls are a bit of a pain when you have two screens though - my mouse keeps going on the other screen. Cool idea with the unconventional use of conventional weapons!

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:21am

Far too overcomplicated, IMO. You even had to provide cheatsheets.

Happier says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:25pm

It's kind of annoying that you have to do all the stuff in the right order i.e you can't feed the baby and then change his diaper. Fun game and concept tho, I really liked the voice acting.

roving-stone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:17am

Voice acting was great! The visual aesthetic was really nice too. The solutions are very obscure though, and using the wrong tool being a failure condition is kind of frustrating when you are trying to experiment. The game did keep me interested though. Nice job!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:53am

Good job! I really enjoyed the puzzles, and found them fun to complete.

By the way, we fixed up dependency issues on our game if you want to try it again :)

rjhelms says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:09am

Well that certainly was insane. Maybe the solutions to the puzzles were a bit toooo off the wall, but I can't fault you for creativity.

Snarky voiceovers were a nice touch.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:30am

Very good job on making so many nice models in a weekend. I also liked the calm music.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]