Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Grease Colosseum

by BoxedMeatRevolution - Jam Entry

The colosseum looms large in the dry desert. Many beasts champion it.

Gremlins. Ninjas. Skeletons. Robots.

Adversaries of SPIKES! Evils of FIRE! What can possibly can deliver the colosseum from this madness???

Something slippery? You come armed. Boots of haste for rapid movement on a slick surface, and a canister of limitless slippery substance.

Let your enemies slide to their dooms.

Let them explode into stars of blood.

Let them feel the wrath...

OF GREASE!


...
(Unfortunately the game runs very slowly on some computers. This is a known issue. We did our best to optimize in the given time, but Processing JS made it very difficult. Sorry guys D:)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#159Theme(Jam)3.85
#196Innovation(Jam)3.62
#229Fun(Jam)3.45
#330Overall(Jam)3.43
#347Humor(Jam)3.21
#365Audio(Jam)3.10
#637Mood(Jam)2.89
#719Graphics(Jam)2.88

Comments

jooshkins says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:40pm

I like the mechanics, you were able in a good amount of variety in a short time.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:09am

Seems like an interesting little game, though it lags like crazy while my character is alive. Still, liked what I saw :P

llamaguy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:09am

I like the mechanics, the fire is awesome. Maybe you have to make an cross or something to indicate the angle of the character, because of the tiny figure without rotation is hard to knows the angle.

uvwar says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:11am

Pretty awesome! I don't know if its just my computer, or my browser (Firefox) but the game kept hanging and every second or so making it pretty hard to play smoothly without flying into a wall etc. Really great that you used processing as well, keep going with it!

m3_on says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:33am

At first I had a little trouble getting the hang of controlling my character but once I got into the groove of it, it felt pretty good. And it's really satisfying to shove an enemy across the screen and watch them splat against the wall. I think this concept can totally be grown into a really awesome experience. Great job!

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:20am

I'm impressed how much you packed into this game. The spreading fire mechanic is by far my favorite but I enjoyed making the enemies slide along the screen as well. Great job!

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:37am

Quite funny to watch enemies careen into fire or spikes and explode into stars of redness, the music really complements the gameplay.

The fire is a bit unpredictable though...

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:41am

This is fun. I found myself trying not to take fights off grease. Its definitely an interesting tactical situation. Cool idea!

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:43am

Good concept and good execution! I'm impressed more by arena design (the spikes, the fire, and the randomly generated enemies). Great work!

rantt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Very clever mechanic, a lot of fun to mess around with. The graphics and music are really well done as well. I had some lag issues other than that I really enjoyed it, nicely done :)

mockthebear says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:48pm

i had to play twice to understand. byut then i spent almost 30 mins playing XD

nameoftheuser says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:11am

Nice one!

jplur says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:12am

Very complete! You took a clever idea and fleshed it out into a challenging game, nicely done!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:11am

I like the soundtrack, though the game didn't run very smoothly for me

rjhelms says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:14am

There's deeper tactics here than it seems at first glance, and I like the take on the theme.

LegacyCrono says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:21am

I have no idea why, but the controls are super broken for me. Shooting wouldn't work at all using my touchpad, but weirdly it worked with my Wacom Bamboo.

devilright says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:17pm

GREASE! Best unconventional weapon I've used so far.

Logicon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:44am

Fun game man. flame stuff a little to strong.

flatgub says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:14am

That was incredibly entertaining!
Very well done!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:46am

Very original core mechanic. The flame enemies were a good way to spice things up and keep the player on their toes. Good job!

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:09am

Great game!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:05am

Hah, brutal... I got excited after I got the first ninja to slide into a star, but then promptly got slaughtered by getting smashed into a spikey wall. Nice arena gameplay!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:10pm

That was really fun!

SamH says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:24pm

I wish I was better at this game because it looks like it can become great once you master it. But I already had great fun scoring… 7 points!!!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Its much fun!

slowfrog says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Interesting mechanics, but the difficulty 'curve' is a bit too steep for me.

Larzan says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Hmm, i didn't really get the scoring system. But nice idea and music.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:19pm

This game is very addicting.
Sometimes it feels unfair, when you kill your last enemies and you cant get away of respawn area before it kills you. I wish I could move faster in those situations.
Nice job overall.

sararyCow says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:51am

Is a fairly fun game. Damage and physics are well ballanced and the idea is pretty original. Not bad! :)

Knowledge says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:10pm

I'm unable to use any weapons.

JonathanG says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Seems like it could be really fun, but I had awful stuttering trying to play. It hitches every second and made it unplayable, sorry. Maybe there's a garbage collection issue?

May 5, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Nice game.

alhvi says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:36am

Great game!!! congratulations I enjoyed it a lot. Good job.

23 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:12pm

This feels like it's on the verge of being something great but didn't quite come together. Maybe if the player could set grease on fire to hurt enemies it'd be more fun?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]