Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Law Simulator

by bernardery - Jam Entry

Defense attorney Mona Goodwin faces the most difficult case of her career! A prominent family is found murdered; can she prove that the butler didn't do it? All she has to go on are a handful of unconventional weapons which the real killer might have used. Mona Goodwin must valiantly defend her client and demonstrate how these strange items could have been used to commit the most heinous of crimes!

Cutscenes: Click to progress
Level 1: Click and drag to fling
Level 2: Left click to lower, right click to raise
Level 3: Click to toss

If you get stuck, press R to reset the level!

Friggin' Games presents Law Simulator
Written by David Bernard Houck
Constructed by Michael Webbon and Brundon Smith
Original art by Erica Speegle
Music by Wahrk, Brother Android, and public domain jazz legends
http://friggingames.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#327Humor(Jam)3.25
#451Innovation(Jam)3.19
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#563Theme(Jam)3.29
#674Fun(Jam)2.81
#810Overall(Jam)2.86
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Better Call Saul! This is an interesting game, great job

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Hello, the Windows executable did not work for me. A dll failed to load using the windows executable. I assume it is a compile-time error, so recompiling should fix it.

error text: "Unable to load mono library from "C:/Users/liam/Desktop/LawSimWin/LawSim_Data/Mono/mono.dll" (error = 126)."

bernardery says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Thanks, Techblogogy!
Liam, I spoke with the guy who does computers and he says "make sure he fully unzips the folder, rather than just double-clicking the executable."

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Yeah, I subsequently realized the issue was on my end.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Such a huge file, but no game! Also a 'failed to load mono' error..

Smiley says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Unity Player crashed on OSX 10.10 in the first cutscene :(

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Doesn't work on my Windows either.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:19am

Quite like the inner monologue of Mona.
The mini games were a little confusing, I couldn't work out to do the fishing part.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:05am

Absolutely love the writing - great stuff! Thanks!
Great overall structure of being story-heavy punctuated with totally different one-off mini-games, works really well.
Couldn't for the life of me do the fishing pole game unfortunately. (web version)
Now I'm just off to re-read Infinite Jest... honest.

bernardery says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:51pm

I actually had a lot of trouble with the fishing pole game as well! My other team members seemed to find it easy enough so I thought it was just me. IIRC what worked for me was lowering it as far as possible between his legs then raising it while jiggling it around.

dunin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Doesn't work for me on windows. Unzipped the file and has the problem with loading the .dll

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:31pm

@bernardery oo-eer, between his legs, raising it and jiggling it around?!?!?!?!

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Really great take on the genre! I loved the way you interspersed action elements in, instead of just having dialogue trees. Great job! Good music and art too.

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Nice game, I doesn't like reading that much but the mini-games were fun.
Good job!

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Got to the garden, was good up until then, pushed what looked like a barbacue around for a while with frisbees, fell off the edge of the map and am now stuck in purgatory. Not bad.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:26am

Cool concept! Unfortunately I had a lot of issues with the controls on the first minigame. It was really hard to aim and I couldn't beat the level. Still, good work!

abuzreq says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:11pm

there were clear difference in the art styles of the story and the minigames.
I liked how the animation of the characters were depicting what they were feeling .
good work though

ftvs says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:41pm

I found the writing entertaining enough to go through the entire thing. I may not know who Dean Koontz is, but it was clear that it was a jab against the author, heh.

The minigame sections were presented with great humour and the jazz soundtrack accentuated the ridiculousness even more. The final minigame was confusing because I could not tell which the venus trap or the dog was. It could have been shorter and still got the joke across. Overall the minigames could have been a lot easier (especially since they seemed to be quick jokes anyway) and provided clearer instructions in-game, instead of being forced to refer to the description.

The fishing minigame was problematic on the web player because right clicking for the context menu was enabled.

gelisam says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Interesting story and dialog. Had problems with the fishing pole minigame that froze. Loved the idea of interlacing the story with minigames.

(rating and comment by my teammate François Mayrand)

jukimv1986 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:57am

Niceeeee! Great storytelling, absolutely! However there is a typo with "intergity"... Flimsy proofreader! The minigames are a treat too.
Unconventional take on the theme but yet refreshing. Guilty/5

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]