Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Space Force

by Zinhet - Jam Entry

Space Force is a sci-fi space exploration game where your goal is to mine chunks without being killed by space bandits, ooooooh~~~

Using your gravity orbs, some handy meteors nearby and their own allies decimate your opponents and seize your hard earned chunks!

Controls - There is an in game system to change these on the main menu.
Move Forward - W
Turn Left - A
Turn Right - S
Change map/Leave zone - Shift
Enter zone/Deploy gravity orb - Space
Mute - M

Graphics were provided by the wonderful Kenney over at http://www.kenney.nl/

Audio from the talented MartyMcSuperFly can be found here https://soundcloud.com/martymcsuperfly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#170Theme(Jam)3.83
#176Overall(Jam)3.64
#212Innovation(Jam)3.58
#227Audio(Jam)3.39
#227Fun(Jam)3.46
#403Mood(Jam)3.22
#707Humor(Jam)2.47
#1497Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:26am

nice

Hambone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:47am

Good ole space game!

tompudding says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:59pm

I had fun in the first sector, but for some reason shift didn't work for me to leave, and neither did the key rebinding (it just stopped when I clicked on the key)

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:23am

Very well done! Love the random generating map layouts, clearly a ton of thought and effort was put into this game!

Dorgam says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:15am

Really well done. I really enjoyed messing with the gravity.

Minor note. Text was hard to read. Perhaps change the font as it doesn't work well for long and small text. The font is great for the title and and big short headings (like Health).

Zinhet says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:11am

@tompudding No idea why the keybinding stuff happened but I implemented it last minute so there were bound to be bugs, sorry! (On the shift key you might not have held it down long enough?)
@dorgam Thanks, I will keep in mind that the font was hard to read!
@Everyone else Thanks for playing and I am glad you enjoyed it!

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:37am

"Shift" key doesn't work. Interesting idea! I liked that the ships can't only crash with the asteroids but with each other too.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:07am

Interesting mechanic and I was fond of the audio.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:07am

I loved this! Using gravity to your advantage to destroy the enemy was a really cool mechanic. It was really satisfying sending a fleet of ships crashing into each other and other asteroids. I was impressed by the speed an intensity of the battles. It made things really exciting. Very solid game!

reheated says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:25am

Fun! I like the combat mechanic. I scoured a few systems but never ended up profitable.

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Well done! I found the gravity effects really cool. But ya, couldn't seem to leave the zone after I finished with it.

Smiley says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:34pm

really nice game.. felt like a mix of Eve online (traveling between zones) and Asteroids from the late 70s.

nice take on the theme :) +1 for java also ;)

kunzbe says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Innovative game mechanics! Sometimes i could not leave a zone.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]