Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Project Pigeon

by LimeniusTeam - Jam Entry

During World War II, the allies needed a guidance system that could target enemy warships. Professor B.F. Skinner devised a system that used trained pigeons to guide missiles.

But someone had to train them. And that's you.

This is a real story, check out this video if you want to know more: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vIbZB6rNLZ4


Audio credit:
https://www.freesound.org/people/dobroide/sounds/45922/ (Coo sound - dobroide - cc by)
https://www.freesound.org/people/tommccann/sounds/235968/ (Explosion sound - tommccann - cc by)
https://www.freesound.org/people/DJ%20Chronos/sounds/20449/ (Stamp sound - DJ Chronos - cc by)
https://www.freesound.org/people/Kayyy/sounds/61015/ (Splash sound - Kayyy - cc by)
http://freesound.org/people/Isaac200000/sounds/188013/ (Missed sound - Isaac00000 - cc by)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Theme(Jam)4.00
#155Innovation(Jam)3.68
#159Humor(Jam)3.58
#421Fun(Jam)3.19
#453Mood(Jam)3.16
#493Overall(Jam)3.25
#779Graphics(Jam)2.73

Comments

mokujin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Hah, cool idea, good job!

LorenaIpsum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:52pm

I liked it. I didn't know about that pidgeon history.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Hehe, I really like the idea! I find it confusing that you sometimes don't seem to have enough peckable balls of the right color to train the pidgeons properly and I'm not sure where to position my pidgeon to perfectly hit my peck. But I really like how the result is played out. Overall a really nice game. I'm definitely gonna tell my friends about it :)

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Excellent! would like to invert mouse but that's just nit picking

xbcw says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Unique idea. Pecking correctly was difficult. The bombing scenes were nicely done and (unintentionally?) funny.

Qui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:19am

Fun concept. Picking some balls could be difficult since you have to be right above them. The bombing scene is hilarious.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:27am

Surprisingly fun game, controls are a little weird (mostly the camera), but pretty cool.

benbateman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:36am

This concept was a barrel of laughs. I had a lot of problems pecking the balls, but then again, you wouldn't want it to be too easy, right? The bombing scene made me grin.

LimeniusTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Thanks a lot for the comments! We are really happy that you like it. :D

Yes, making the pecking a bit tricky was intentional, we didn't want it to be too easy -after all, is the only thing you have to do-. :D And even so, after two or three attemps, you get quite good at it.

The shortage of balls is intentional too; you get some extra balls when you ask for a new pigeon, and in that way you can decide in which objectives you should focus first, depending on which colors you have available at the moment.

Our favourite part is the bombing scene too. :D Perhaps it would have been good to introduced more elements in the balls scene, dedicating more time to it, but making the bombing was actually a lot of fun. :)

Luminar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:32pm

I really liked that one :)
Sounds are also nice

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Fun game. Really goes well with the theme!
My criticisms would be it was a little confusing on which colors to peck at, also some sort cross-hair or something to help tell if you're in pecking range would have been nice.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:24pm

not so bad concept, even if there is a bird in my head now :s

Junber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Cool game. Very good humor. But both the balls spwning and the pigeons hitting with there missiles were little bit to luck based but very fun.

panurge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Great use of the theme, nice presentation and well-judged difficulty. This was a lot of fun (although maybe not for the pigeons...).

Bananaft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37pm

http://i.imgur.com/M9bndlI.png

hurrr gurrr, you nazi bastards!

I read about pigeon missiles before, and all my votes going for idea and theme.

And humor... and mood.

Exellent game!

jordinuco says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Great idea but the really good part is how it has been adapted as a videogame. Particularly moodish the soundtrack of the real attacks... ufff it´s a strange mix of feelings

Kostyan1996 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Man, I LOVE this game! Great idea, fun and interesting gameplay, all 5/5!
I think, you should only make it a bit harder, because for now it's too easy to catch balls.

aiaf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:24pm

++

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Nice way to hook me in! I did not know that fact nor choose to question it because that is way too funny if true. The gameplay was a bit of a challenge at first and I think the player gets stuck if you run out of a certain colors ball... 4 blue ships and 2 balls = 0 accuracy :(

nopogo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Very cool take on the theme!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Well this was... interesting. Chasing the colored balls around was a bit frustrating and I'm sure you could have found a more easily reachable key than N for choosing the next pigeon.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Very cool and very funny! Who knew pigeons were so dangerous?

resty says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:27pm

interesting idea, though I feel a bit dizzy to be a pidgeon

elpaulo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Theme is respected, i will keep this game on my hard drive, i want ton master it ^^

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Fun & learning. Thanks for the game.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:01pm

I felt very proud of my pigeons... and then very sad for them :) Great concept and execution. Oh, I also liked how the camera pitched down like a pigeon would when walking, nice touch.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:18am

nice

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:29am

was a litlle difficult to figure out but nice job

UrbanHelsing says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Fun idea, good gameplay

peterfsat says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Funny game!

monika says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:44am

Fun, but I found it incredibly difficult with a touchpad. I wish the penalty for missing were not equal to the reward for hitting.

ermrk says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Great job, one of the funniest game of Ludum Dare!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]