Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sorry Humans

by ChaosCult - Jam Entry

A ship or a station, lost in the void of space. Vicious alien attackers hellbent on destroying its inhabitants. And a little self-aware AI, whose job is controlling the ship's doors and airlocks...

Can you save your ship from imminent destruction? Will you be able to save yourself? Will you save the crew, or just use them as a welcome distraction? Doors and computer consoles make for poor weapons. Time to get creative!

Use doors and other objects to kill attacking aliens before they destroy AI core. Try to save the crew!

Addendum
If you don't understand how to play the game, we've created a small tutorial here: http://chaoscultgames.com/sorry-humans-tutorial/

NOTE:
Mac and Linux versions were built and archived on a Windows machine and literally never ever tested. Use at your own risk. Sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#139Theme(Jam)3.89
#164Innovation(Jam)3.67
#398Overall(Jam)3.36
#497Mood(Jam)3.10
#578Fun(Jam)2.97
#603Humor(Jam)2.67

Comments

Wayward says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:58am

Really an unconvential weapon.

th4t says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:01am

Amazing game. Using depressurization for killing is really an unconventional weapon and reminds me of FTL :D
The graphics are perfect for this.
As much as I love the indirect gameplay, I found the AI at times a little frustrating and was confused shich doors were connected. One wrong click and everything was pressurized again, leading to a certain loss.
Those are just some nitpicks. The overall gamedesign is still amazing. Keep up the great work :)

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:06am

Great work!

Destruktorrr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:45pm

Definitely a strange one. Lots of fun, though.

handkor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Looks great, very FTL like. Good Job

vvolis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Great work, looks good and is actually fun and interesting. I love the combination of puzzle and action :) Great job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Lots of potential this one, but it's a bit broken. I can't seem to win any of the levels, and only doors (and the turret) seem to be intractable. The AI is also a bit... lacking, let's say!

I like the aesthetic, though, and as I said, there's a lot of potential.

kristof says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Very good looking levels and assets. I'm not sure if I understood the mechanics correctly though. Couldn't really figure out how to kill the invaders except with the turret. Depressurizing only seems to kill my own people... ;)
But I really like the idea of indirect gameplay!

wilsk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Nice idea!

The web player seemed to crash whenever I clicked on the ground which made things a bit tricky.

hawksley says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Really cool concept and liked the graphics! Definitely fit the theme of unconventional weapon as well. Having said this, I found the game really confusing and
tried 3 different levels, but couldn't really understand what I was supposed to actually do. Think there could have definitely been some improvement on the instructions
because they didn't really explain how you were supposed to go about killing the aliens. Overall great concept, could use some work!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:31pm

Nice game, it has some innovative idea, also lots of potential to be expanded. Congrats for the polishing it too.

Tanser says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Very nice idea. The atmosphere is amazign;.

diiq says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Looks great! Very stylish, and a good idea.

I had a lot of trouble with the camera -- couldn't see the whole level, and could only occasionally succeed at panning the camera.

As others said, boring, physical, push-these-buttons kind of instructions would have helped more than the flavor text.

Some red-alert light-and-sound would have made clear that there was time pressure.

Great work!

Xanjos says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:05am

Pretty hard but interesting concept. Definitely reminds me of FTL a lot.

May 5, 2015 @ 2:17am

Liked the floating in space look, the idea was really neat, and liked all the different levels, had fun playing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]