Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

EXECUTION

by stray - Compo Entry

A game about Human.
It is a hidden object game.

======

** How to play:
Use your mouse to find the objects.
Think before actions.

-
An unconventional weapon could be just an order!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#6Mood4.47
#13Graphics4.53
#461Innovation3.24
#488Overall3.24
#994Theme2.59

Comments

Scornz says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Cool concept, found the ending unique. Good graphics!

longtomjr says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 12:18pm

I really like this. It is a work of art. Well done.

Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Awsome art and music, but I don't really get how this is related to the theme?

factorial says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Beautiful music, and I agree it's nicely artistic, though the message is a bit melodramatic. I'm not sure if the creator has a real message to players or just wanted to do make a twist ending.

OCTAPlatinum says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Nice Game :)

SadSmile says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Good graphics, awsome sound (i really like it). My only problem is that it isn't related to the theme :/
Gj tho :)

stray says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:46pm

@SadSmile
Actually I though an unconventional weapon could be an order to death

orukinawa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:43am

Awesome art! Nice hidden message :)

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:31am

Good job, this is quit a nice non-game. I like the ending, the music and art.
I'm not convince by the "how to win" button, it seems to me too obvious and awkward in the same time...

Anas Azmi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:37am

Awesome graphics! That's definitely the best part of the game. Also, the mood (and the background music accompanying it) fits nicely with the message you're trying to send. Although the ending can be interpreted as a weapon (in the sense of "how do you stop this", rather than "how do you fight this"), it takes the player out of the game, and the connection with the theme is quite tedious.

EdwardGreysky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Nice concept, I like the idea
Graphics are good (Not really convinced by the music though)

I find the "How to win" button too obvious (and slow)

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50pm

That's deep man. Litt uncertain about the theme unless you think about a 'weapon' in a philosophical sense. :-) But apart from that, 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

holgk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Nice artwork! Well done!

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Very well polished aesthetics. Didn't figure out how to "win" until reading the comments, though.

stig1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Wow.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:30am

this is soo eerie and uncomfortable.
this is what I wanna play, stuff that forces me into stuff.
I click at the same time as I know that this is happening right this second somewhere...

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:59am

Wow, that was different! Nice visuals, they're stark and got grit. I liked the cello music too. The message was a little on the nose but it fit. Good one.

Terrabalt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:41am

You call that a hidden object game, i call it a waiting game.
But it's easily the deepest LD game i've played yet.

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:07am

Beautiful art!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:10am

Great graphics and music!
Have some hidden messages for us.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:17am

Stellar title. The ending was really surprising. I loved it! I dunno if it fits the theme perfectly, but I still enjoyed it.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19am

Amazing art! Really cool non-game concept

Dreyan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:16am

One of the most unique takes on a game I've seen, not only in LD but ever. It's refreshing to see games experiment with different moods and messages such as this.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:47am

You heard me:)

broknecho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:52pm

Neat idea an an interactive art piece. Mood was 6 stars. Well done.

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:23pm

I love the art and music, works very well together. However I thought the message was completely surface level and cliche, no deep meaning for me. What is the message, "Don't execute people"? I have no alternatives in this game, other than just waiting and getting no feedback or, doing what every player will do, trying to interact with the game. Emotional string pulling is manipulation and I found no insight into life or relevancy in this game's concept.

Simon says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:04pm

This works well. Well done it's different and innovative I like it.

dreamlogician says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:26am

Great mood and graphics, but the central concept feels like really well worn territory and I found it to be too heavy-handed in how it presented the "message" of the game.

alvivar says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:35am

That was great! Loved the ending.

longshorts says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:58am

Absolutely gorgeous. Well done!

hexagore says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:52pm

It sort of feels wrong giving a game like this a score.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Interesting if a bit confusing, initially. Loved the art, mood and feel.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Nice concept. I can't use the word "game" :)
I like the idea and your will. This project is so good that it serves a honest cause. Sometimes, the greatest contribution you can make to a cause is the gift of your time. You did it good boy. Thumbs up ++

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:39am

I liked the music, not that much of a game

Horsed says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:54am

Excellent mood! The game made me concerned.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]