Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Eyes that Fry

by Evergreen Games - Jam Entry

You are a Cyborg 00101. You have been equipped with an optical laser module to defend the central Core that powers the cyborg nation. Prevent the army of evil Vent Crawlers from reaching the core at all costs!! Just be careful where you aim your laser...

Press R to restart. Escape to Quit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#370Innovation(Jam)3.31
#434Audio(Jam)2.95
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#591Fun(Jam)2.95
#615Overall(Jam)3.10
#719Graphics(Jam)2.88
#783Humor(Jam)2.30
#790Theme(Jam)2.93

Comments

Demy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:41am

Interesting idea with ray tracing. Controls glitch sometimes and don't let you move or jump. Enemy on the screen looks nice, I wish they'll be bigger in game.

j_peeba says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:43am

I had a second cyborg walking around on my game (windows standalone). Seemed like a bug since it was constantly blocking me from shooting. :/

The music and sfx were top notch and it's always a nice surprise to see LD games with animated characters!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52am

@Demy the standalone builds are much more stable
@j_peeba thx for the tip i uploaded a newer build with those issues fixed

Shimmergloom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:45am

I'm not sure what to do with the second android without a head. It was always blocking my shot of the ones from the right and those would just push us away.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:51am

I really like the concept, but I think it needs some polishing. Had a second unit on round one which seemed like a bug. Couldn't figure out what to do on round 2.

rogberth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:57am

I completed this game. Nice and simple. Last level was a nice challenge. The only bad thing is sometimes you don't kill enemies even if you hit them. Good job!

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:48pm

There's an idea there, but several flaws put together make the game quite tough to play:

1. Poor platforming controller - the character often stuck to walls, slid around, and couldn't go where I wanted him to go. A good platform control is *hard* and should never be underestimated. Especially with native physics - it's almost impossible.

2. The fun in the laser-eyes is the fact that it bounces around - but being just about completely unpredictable means I often blew myself and the base thing up, which means I'd much rather NOT bounce the ray, which negates the fun in the core mechanic. Some kind of predictor (like in old snooker games) may alleviate this.

3. Things weren't obvious - the level end thing looks like something you collect. But I couldn't get to it and was about to get frustrated. If you're supposed to shoot at it, make it communicate as such.

4. The fiction of the game doesn't make sense - soldiers walking on the wall could make sense, but then why can't you? Consistency is the keyword here.

5. The juice/feedback doesn't match the action quickly enough, when I blew my own base up I didn't know that my laser struck it as it was so delayed. The sound/shaking/visuals don't match and that gets confusing.

It's all a huge learning experience! Good luck man! :D

bace1000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53pm

The laser seems really buggy... :( It was quite fun to play, though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:14pm

For all of you with a second cyborg, i had that in for testing and forgot to remove it in the build. it's fixed now

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Great idea, not the strongest execution of itl. Keep working out the glitches and this might be something!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Music and SFX were good, yeah it seems like the online version doesn't work as well as the standalone, probably browsers not processing input properly. Nice mechanics with the reflections and such.

murilo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Wow! Put aside the lack of polish and wonky player/wall collision, this was very good! I beat it after some tries on the last level. Very satisfying. Great mechanic!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:44am

Cool character animations!

daltostronic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Nice idea, but it was hard to feel the timing - how long the rays last and the fire rate. It may be really great fun (but maybe too easy) if you could move when the ray is active :D

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Pretty great game! I like that you integrated the directions into the first level so that I could start playing right away. Cool atmosphere, cool idea.

I would make it so that W would let the player jump--feels more natural that way, so that one hand can control the character and the other can control the laser aiming. I would also probably make it so that the laser will kill the enemy whenever it's on screen, rather than when it just first appears, so that enemies who run into it after it's been fired will also die.

jprogman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:42pm

It's a little difficult to jump when I'm next to the wall, but I can get around that.
I couldn't play the game in full because it is presented in widescreen only.
It would have been very helpful to switch between widescreen and fullscreen as I don't have a widescreen monitor. (Yes, there are still such a thing as fullscreen monitors.)

Scornz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Fun, played it for a while

Buzzwerd says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:36am

Wasn't able to get past the second stage, it seems like I reached the fail state for no reason, maybe I missed something. I liked the concept, wish I had gotten to play with it a bit more.

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:31am

BWAAAAAA! Lasers! The platforming is kind of weak. Since the objective is to shoot baddies without hitting the core, perhaps free 2D movement would work better?

Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:14am

Fun idea, firing the laser was satisfying. Once the laser started bouncing around, I noticed some reflection and collision bugs. Like, the laser would pass through a wall and bounce off of nothing and blow me up. Fix the bugs and gameplay would be much more fun. Finally, that laser "bwaaaah" sound was solid!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:43am

this game was really cool

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:46am

Seemed a bit buggy (getting stuck in walls when jumping), but overall good. Nice sound as well!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:14am

That was a ton of fun! Making the lasers bounce around was very satisfying :) I liked how well you animated the walk cycle. Great job!

BIZM says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Cool idea, killing a bunch of those crawlers at once was very satisfying :) the controls were a little bit buggy but other than that good job!

TheMeorch says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:58pm

The music and laser sound effect set the mood very nicely. The core concept is really neat, and taking out a bunch of enemies in a single shot is really satisfying.

There are some parts of the game you could polish up if you choose to keep working on this:
- In at least one of the levels, it was very unclear which walls reflected lasers. Given that bouncing lasers can kill yourself or the core, it's important players don't feel like they're accidentally sabotaging themselves too much.
- The player tends to get stuck on corners/sides of ledges when jumping.
- The laser sometimes fires erratically.

Having to avoid hitting yourself or the core with the laser provides some strategic depth, but it can be frustrating to accidentally mess up the entire level with one errant shot. I'd consider ways of maintaining this strategic element while lowering the potential frustration resulting from it -- perhaps a real-time preview of the path the laser will take, or a slower-moving laser that the player can delete at any time after firing, or just more hit points for the player and/or core.

Interesting challenges to think about, nice work!!

Druid says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Little floaty controls and bad collisions but still amazing entry! I really enjoyed this game!

sputnik says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:33am

Not really touchpad friendly, but good idea

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:25am

Interesting idea with ray tracing, but it can be improved by another aesthetic. However it's a good entry. Thumbs up ++

IamAcoconut says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Cool game! I like the concept. Shooting the lazers could sometimes be a little buggy, and I got confused in level 2 when the game kept restarting for some reason. I later realized it was because I kept accidentally shooting that teleporter thing. You might want to make death collisions more obvious. Either that that, I thought the game was pretty fun! Nice music! :)

Xanjos says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:23pm

I liked the laser refraction mechanic although the laser itself is sort of hard to aim correctly (especially at the later levels). Also I think the core needs a better visual indicator for when it's about to blow up (maybe change it to a red colour?).

Omiya Games says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:25am

One of the best lasers I've seen or heard in a video game. Well done with that laser.

Dagatts says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:22am

I really like the idea, looking forward to see the completed version =D

Os_Reboot says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:32am

Awesome entry! I love the laser reflection physics. Collisions were a little buggy. Nice job with audio and graphics, both were very appropriate. It was almost scary how the robot noises got louder as they got closer, perfect touch. Overall well done!

Mossy Frog says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:40am

Nice, controls were a bit finicky at points, but I loved the idea. Great entry :)

RyanNielson says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:53am

Interesting mechanic, the laser bouncing could probably be expanded in so many different ways.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]