Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dusk

by nov1kk - Jam Entry

Change between day and night to see objects that can only be seen during day or night, solve tricky puzzles and be careful with the monsters!

- Move with arrow keys
- Change between day and night with X
- Jump with space

Every level can be solved, you just need to think!

Programming by Ivan de la Rubia (@ivan_dela) & Cristian Jara (@cristian_jara93)
Music & Graphics by David Tamayo (@david9339)
Level design by David Tortajada (@kuman_13) & Cristian Jara (@cristian_jara93)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#321Mood(Jam)3.33
#345Audio(Jam)3.15
#411Overall(Jam)3.35
#428Fun(Jam)3.18
#446Innovation(Jam)3.20
#482Graphics(Jam)3.36
#713Humor(Jam)2.46
#869Theme(Jam)2.73

Comments

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:11am

Very well polished, and pretty nice puzzles. Only tangentially relates to the theme though :/

Firefox says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:13am

Pretty fun game, with a neat concept of the day/night gun. The jumping and controls were a little bit frustratingly slow at times, but I think this was due to the Unity Web Player.

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:15am

Fun and challenging.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:16am

Very great game! I had a lot of fun playing, it really makes you think. It could benefit from some checkpoints; I almost made it to the end of the second level but died, and I didn't have the heart to go through it again. Great work though!

P.S. Where's the unconventional weapon?

PeerPlay says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:20am

Very nice game! I don't think I finished it, was stuck at some point, but will try again tomorrow! Sometimes when you switch the physics go really weird on blocks, but that's a feature i guess! :P I only think the music was abit depressing.

Chadivision says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:42am

Please make a commercial version and take my money. I love this!

Good balance of platforming and puzzles, nice art, and the perfect music. There's something very soothing about this game. The music is a big part of it, but it's also the way everything works together as a whole.

I agree that it doesn't really incorporate the theme, but it's good enough that I don't really care. :)

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:12am

I couldn't beat it but still like it. As soon as I started playing I was reminded of Braid. The graphics and audio are really good and it's actually got some good puzzles.

djfariel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:18am

It's incredibly fun and challenging. It really keeps you on your toes. I love the thought of a gun casting day and night. You won me over the second the platform just flings the lion in the second level. I was having some slight issues with jump delays, but other than that, I never saw a problem with it. Overall, well done!

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:47am

Interesting and original idea.

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Very cool idea!

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:57pm

too much fun,,, congratulations

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:04pm

Didn't really relate to the theme but a fun puzzle platformer. Occasionally a bit punishing though when you get something a tiny bit wrong and have to start the level again.

Liked the ambience.

strong99 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:06pm

I found it a difficult game, but very nice to play! Well done :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Quite challenging! I like the graphics. Controls felt a little off, but that added to the challenge. Cool!

omaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:52pm

The music was great! I liked the day/night mechanic but I wish the platforming was a bit tighter.

recursor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Maybe I didn't get far enough, but I wish there were checkpoints. That would make it less frustrating than having to start at the beginning when you die.

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Would be nice if you explained more, about how the game works, because a lot of it was trial and error for me. But overall I enjoyed it. Keep making games! :D

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Beautiful game with an interesting and great mechanical controls. Just wish there was a little more chance to be safe when switching between day and night. =)

LuisDC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Very good game. Polish and nice graphics. The gameplay is good but sometimes I felt like I was doing a leap of faith. Anyway well done!

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Really cute with really nice puzzles. For me the only problem is how floaty the physics are, which is kind of the cardinal sin for a platformer. It was hard to stop/jump accurately in many places, which is super frustrating if you lose a lot of progress. Good idea though!

xandy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:34pm

cool art style and take on the theme. the ambient music is nice as well. only bad thing i can think of is the camera being sometimes not helpful.

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:04pm

There is a lot of cool ideas here. Congratulations!

Dynad says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:36pm

This is Bloodborne in Ludum Dare format! =D

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Nice mechanic! The platform that hurls the lion into the distance is brilliant. I think that one moment will earn you an extra few rating points!

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Nice use of voxel. Lack of sound fx though.

renatopp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Very challenging puzzle, it is pretty hard until you get used to the mechanics (reminds first time I played portal). Congratulations for the game.

dieblume86 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:16pm

nice start.

eddynardo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Maybe the most perfect game i played at ludum dare 32.It is really awesome,the concept the graphics(lava material :O) ,sound ,everything is perfect.Brilliant day/night idea.If the theme was more of "An Unconventional Weapon" i would rate this all 5 star!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Nice voxel graphics and moody soundtrack. Decent concept, I always enjoy light/dark worlds in games. Could have done with more checkpoints though!

DKoding says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Reminds me of Giana Sisters Twisted Dreams. Good concept. Maybe some sound effects had been nice. Simple, good game.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:59pm

The connection to the theme is a little thin, but a very interesting mechanic that has a lot of potentional outside of the jam. Great music!

MicroMacro says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:18am

Amazing concept. This would be an awesome full release if more time was given to it. :)

rishal says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Great game! At first I thought there's a bug, then I realised it's part of the game. I really enjoyed it. I think it would be worthwhile continuing with. Potentially an addictive mobile game?!

reiknight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:49am

Nice puzzle game. I loved the idea of switching between day and night.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]