Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Goose Saga

by kipelovets - Jam Entry

"Once upon a time a king asks for a roasted goose for dinner.
But farmer saves the goose from death and runs away from the castle…"

Save the goose from king's knights and collect all eggs on the level!

## Controls:
Move: arrows
Jump: space
Goose attack: ctrl or mouse click

## Authors:
Oplesnin Alexander
Georgiy Korshunov
Xeniya Denissova

Ludum Dare #32

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#247Graphics(Jam)3.81
#275Humor(Jam)3.35
#386Overall(Jam)3.37
#470Mood(Jam)3.14
#470Theme(Jam)3.42
#674Fun(Jam)2.81

Comments

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:28am

A good platform game. Nice job.

Personally, I think some visual details like decorative bushes confuse the player about what is lethal or not. Only visual feedback details. =)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

The music is so repetitive, maybe would be good a way to emphasize the obstacles. In other hand its a pretty platform game. Good job!

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Very nice visual style but I agree some better feedback for what is scenery and what is an obstacle would be nice.

zwartraider says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Oh I love smacking people with a goose! Nice platformer, the shadowy style helps focus on the challenging jumps!

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Loved the silhouette style graphics and the bizarre attack animation! Gameplay can be a bit unforgiving at times, consider the number of challenges in a row.

snesgaard says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Very nice looking game, though enemies and lethal objects should be made more obvious in my opinion. I also found the controls to be rather slippery, which made some the platforming more difficult than it should have been. Music was pretty good and quite fitting.

sbarrio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Interesting platformer. Tight controls and fast action. Some color would have been nice :)

kivano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:22pm

This is harder than I expected! Great graphics! Great job overall :)

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Very fun game, and pretty challenging too.

Great work!

mentatzoe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:43am

Graphics are really pretty, but I definitely agree that it gets hard to know if you're going to die or not when you're going fast and can't see a bush haha.
It's definitely a great experience to kill people with a goose haha.
Style is great!

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Adore the black foreground colored background style, leaves something for the imagination.

However, enemies and cactus need some visual hinting. Maybe a glow like the one you have for the egg. This would go a long way.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Great, crisp graphics and totally solid platforming. I do wish the attack was more responsive, and had a shorter animation before occurring. Great work, I enjoyed pushing my way to the end!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:45pm

I love your parallax hills!

alangamebot says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Great graphics. The slideyness and cactus placement made some of the platforming pretty frustrating. I did play it for quite a bit though. Nice job.

Embalaje says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Nice Job!
Good camera feeling and beautiful aesthetics.

May 3, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Beautiful graphics but as others have mentioned the decorative bushes do confuse at times. Also had issues of sliding of platforms when close to the edges. Solid platformer though, so nice job.

Omiya Games says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:30am

I think this is good effort in making a platformer. Game functions just fine, and levels are certainly beatable.

Personally, I think the game could use some polish from other platformers. The controls feels slippery and loose, and the attack does not feel reactive. In a few locations, we had to rely on a blind jump. I think these small issues adds up to a somewhat frustrating experience where some deaths we feel like weren't within our control.

Still, nice job, and I certainly wouldn't call it a fowl.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]