Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SWATCH

by TheScragglyMan - Jam Entry

*NOTE* I am not happy with my submission this time round, And i realise how flawed this is as a game, I have turned on anonymous feed back to hopefully grow as a developer. So be honest, but please be helpful with your comments.

Telling me what's wrong is all good and well, but telling me why it is, or what i could do different is even better. I want to grow as a developer. and you guys have a chance to help me do so.
Many thanks

I tried to take the theme a little more seriously this time round, Feeling like i played it safe with STS in December. This time round I decided not only to take the theme as literally as possible, but push that a little further. Your unconventional weapon is Colour, You play as swatch and you possess the ability to manipulate the background colour of the game, If you stand upon a block the colour you have collected, Activating the colour (either Left Arrowkey or Right arrowKey [depending on the screen] That block will vanish, allowing you to progress. Beware there are traps.

swatch is a challenging game, And although there are only two levels to play at the moment, I have supplied two versions of these levels, easy mode, for a nicer ride, and hard, for the extreme.

all art work, coding and music is my own, I had to enter jam due to my poor time keeping skills.

How To play:
*There is a slight amendment to the Controls Screen which i was unable to fix in time. W-Key will scroll through the left most slot, Displaying colours you have attained, S key will scroll through the Right most slot, displaying the colours you have collected. You can mix both slots by pressing the down arrow, Or use each slot on its own by pushing the relevant arrow key (left slot left arrow key).

A few game play hints, Keep moving, The range of Swatches power, reaches far higher then he is, He must be standing on or close to the centre of a block if his weapon is to work.

There are traps, there will be frustration, but I really enjoyed putting this together, and i hope you guys enjoy playing it.
I hope i haven't missed anything.

Oh yeah, please assume that Space = okay or select and Escape = exit ^^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#356Innovation(Jam)3.33
#471Humor(Jam)2.96
#538Audio(Jam)2.67
#544Theme(Jam)3.32
#556Graphics(Jam)3.20
#737Mood(Jam)2.74
#891Fun(Jam)2.48
#982Overall(Jam)2.58

Comments

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35am

I like the art, but I think the controls are a bit awkward in some ways. Also the spikes falling through the first platform caught me off guard as I didn't expect it to happen.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:39am

Thank you for commenting and trying it out, Yeah the controls were a quick fix right before submission, I play fine with two hands, (one hand on A + D + Space) the other on the arrow keys so personally find that really easy.

The colour scrolling was a quick fix, and if i had more time i would totally rethink that. Perhaps have the colours automatically scrolling through the combinations you can get. alas it didn't occur to me till just then :/

track02 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Nice game, I liked your artwork and music, the idea is pretty interesting too.

Since you wanted some feedback:

The movement felt a bit clunky to me, having the player build up (and lose) speed rather than instantly translating may help smooth things out.

Hit detection seemed a little off, spikes falling through floors and the player getting stuck on platform edges.

I think some sort of graphical effect showing the range of the power might have also been helpful. Highlighting blocks or something like that.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Thank you very much for your feedback Track, I will definitely take that on board.

Many thanks for taking the time to feed back ^^

LadyEnigma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Great concept and pretty fun to play. Just had some trouble with the controls. Seemed backwards from the way my hands wanted to play. I like the graphics and the use of the theme.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:46am

@ladyEnigma - Thank you for the feedback, I had to make some last minute changes to the controls, and it seems to work against the games purpose really, so i completely agree with the backwards statement.

My main issue is with how you cycle the colours, i feel personally looking back, that it distracts from the game in some way and that perhaps having one button which automatically alters the colour combination would have worked better, do you think something like that would have helped for you personally?

broknecho says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:51am

I think you have a good idea here but I believe the implementation needs a little work. The color system I think is intriguing as a design direction. Take a look at a game called Color Zen. You might be able to get some inspiration there to apply to your platformer.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:12am

@brokenecho

I think you are spot on, I realised mid way through that most of the things i wanted to do were out of my understanding with coding currently, I do plan on attempting to polish it up a little as judging goes on.

Hopefully the Post version handles a little better. Thank you for feeding back and for your suggestion

Nilq says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:48am

Nice! Awesome game! Cool graphics! :3

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Nice concept!

On tips, I think you need to simplify the color activation mechanic and have more feedback when it activates. The collision detection for platforms is a bit off especially when the blocks are taller than the player, probably with how you stop the movement when colliding. Also I felt like the game is cruel hard (uhh im guilty of that a lot too haha) which made me rage quit right in the middle of the game.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:03pm

@ PushmePully, Thanks for the feed back, Yeah i had issues making the levels easier, since i was play testing it as i went on. But i tried to show my mate how to play it and died REPEATEDLY. There is defiantly something wrong when you cant beat your own game.

Im working on a graphic-less version of the game, to really push the concept in terms of being something interesting, And level design is the number one element i am going to work on with it ^^

Andrea says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Nice game, very tough though! The controls and the hitboxes are a little off, so it gets very frustrating very fast.
It's sad because the concept is awesome!
Great job anyway!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Nice concept, some bugs here and there but overall a nice game. The idea could be explored further and make a neat puzzle game. Good job!

frokes says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Nice concept! The whole concept of having the swatches as weapons is nice but the movement and color switching is still lacking a little bit.
Well done and it was nice talking to you during the event.

Catwheel says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:13pm

This was a pretty good submission and I'm glad you posted it. Here's my feedback. The puzzle platformer aspect of it was really fun. However, i found myself often frustrated with the spikes that fall. They don't always seem to have a distinct pattern, and it was irksome to plan out a solution to a situation, and then attempt to implement it and get killed and have to start over the entire game. I think that if every level was it's own checkpoint, it might help to alleviate a lot of this frustration.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:34pm

@All

Thank you all for playing and rating, I have been short of time this week, but plan to play through and rate those who have on my own submission along with playing some other.

Means a lot to get some useful feed back from you all, and I shall heed your suggestions. Currently working on a post version which will hopefully appease all of the frustrations of the entry.

There will be slight graphical changes (most people experienced clipping collision issues which impacted player movement), This occurred not only through my dodgy coding, but mainly because the graphic i used (from a photograph edited in photoshop) contained extra pixels, also the flat plane where the feet should be was actually curved, the only fix i could really come up with was to alter the look of the game a little bit.

Level design has been altered, Each level exists independently from the other. Although some levels will group together like in the submission. Dying will No longer restart from the beginning, Check points shall be used, and they may be placed around the harder sections of levels.

So yeah i have been pretty busy, but i plan to take a short break to play some more great submissions.

Take care everyone

Demy says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:47am

Nice graphics. Controls are slightly too hard.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]