Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Snow Cones

by Mechamew - Jam Entry

Team Lazerbeam return with their latest dessert-based romantic adventure; Snow Cones!

Get dressed for success! Stand around as you awkwardly make first contact with your charming date! Experience the horror of an over-crowded milkshake-bar! The majesty of a frozen lake! The thrill of an intimate ferris-wheel ride! It’s all here!* Destroy depression with the most powerful weapon known to frozen dairy treats; The Power of Love!

Controls: directional buttons and spacebar.

Credits:
Team Lazerbeam are:
Richard “Nekropants” Pieterse – code, concept & art
Jason “Jaysong” Sutherland – music, sound & art
Ben “Brainfreeze” Rausch – art & concept

Team Lazerbeam will return in 2015 with “Snow Puck Yourself!”.

* - Contrary to our promise, "it" is, in fact, not "all here". Due to time constraints certain scenes of Snow Cones are missing in it's current form. Watch out for our upcoming, post-compo edition!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#17Mood(Jam)4.26
#97Humor(Jam)3.76
#139Audio(Jam)3.64
#191Graphics(Jam)3.96
#199Fun(Jam)3.52
#440Overall(Jam)3.32
#554Innovation(Jam)3.04
#989Theme(Jam)2.29
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

nevet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:07am

brigadeiro. google it

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:48pm

That was a really charming game, really nice mood. Looking forward to the post-compo version.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:45am

Very nice little game. Although I must admit the bad side of me tried to go further away from my date just to see if I could :P Nice message at the end.

PSA: The game ends when you see the credits :) I somehow got stuck on the first (beach?) scene for a minute, probably because I needed to walk into it

Kitsubi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:46am

I liked the graphics and music a lot. The theme was very cute and fun. The downside I would have to say is I had a hard time figuring out what buttons to press or actions to take to continue.

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:03pm

I really liked this game! The graphics were really cute and the music fit nicely! I thought the controls were nice, and they worked well. Had trouble considering the theme, though. As none of this really reminded me of any kind of weapon...

Mike Mezhenin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:17pm

This is the most adorable thing I've seen in ages.

peecestudios says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Nice Game excellent character XD

Sundr0 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:08pm

Really cute and funny game ! =)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Super cute and charming. Well done!

Orange says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:55pm

I liked petting the fem snow cone face with my hand... *deep breath*

Mechamew says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:57am

Good to hear, but please remember the cones are gender-neutral. There is no "fem snow cone" :)

Thanks for all the encouraging comments everyone! Please check back for the post compo version!

jackrugile says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:32am

Wow, them feels. Such an endearing little game, amazing work. I wish the mood meter went to 11.

Squarlboy says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:23am

this is probably the cutest game i ever played. c:

Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:17pm

So cute! ^^ I enjoyed it. :)

sebasRez says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:45pm

It's not loading for me..... I will be back to try again

May 6, 2015 @ 8:21am

Really sweet game, one thing that totally ruined the mood was when moving closer while on the "ferriswheel"? Blue ice-cream's arm broke and spazzed all over the screen to which I bust out laughing. Although it ruined the mood, I am rating your humor higher XD Great game!

jushii says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:01am

Super cute! Loved it! :)

Curial says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:15pm

So cute and well implemented mechanichs with intuitive control. We'll like to seel more!

nassi says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Hngh. Came for the cuteness and cuteness was what I got. Really nice mood and even if there wasn't much interaction it was handled quite fittingly. The character customization at the beginning was neat, too bad it didn't carry over into the rest of the game.

You could've mentioned that the Web link was actually Unity stuff so I could've switched to Chrome straight away. A windows distribution would've been even better for me personally.

All in all a really nice experience, even if the gameplay part is a bit on the light side. You even have the same take on the theme as I did (well, not that much cuteness in my game), so of course that's a plus :).

yuigoto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:03am

This is lovely! The art style is adorable and the soundtrack is beautiful! :3

Nice work with this entry, really! I really want to see what you're going to put in the post-compo version, or in a full version of this game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]